We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Apartment Convenient Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful coastal walk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful coastal walk
View to Howth and Ireland's Eye island Further along coastal walk to Malahide
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Beautiful coastal walk
View to Howth and Ireland's Eye island
Further along coastal walk to Malahide
Front garden
dining area
2nd bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine etc
Kitchen, electric hob and oven
Living area, spacious and sunny
Living area
New toilet and bidet
Wash hand basin
Walk in shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portmarnock, County Dublin

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jtroddy
jtroddy@aol.com
1 review
“Lovely Apartment Convenient Location”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This apartment is very convenient to buses to Malahide and Dublin. And its owner Sheelagh couldn't do enough to make us comfortable. She even volunteered to drive us about when there was a one-day bus strike. Its also within walking distance of sea walks and a large supermarket and the airport is about a twenty minute taxi ride away. There is also a bus that will go there that stops around the corner.

JTR and EAR

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thanks for being such nice guests and hoping to meet again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marepopns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

From the moment I arrived, a bit of a weary traveler, my hostess/owner Shellagh was most welcoming and helpful...from assisting me "shoosh" my luggage up the staircase to the apartment, to providing me a lift to the airport bus terminal. The apartment was as advertised, spacious, airy and very inviting. It is loaded with anything and everything you could need, even a food processor I used to make smoothies. I particularly enjoyed the close proximity to the beach, which was about a five min walk. Here you encounter the most magnificent views as you stroll, walk or run along the beach bath from Portmanock to Malahide (about 4 miles). The convenience to buses made exploring other areas and attractions very easy to do. I also liked the convenience of the large grocery store, which had a varied selection of vegetables, meat and fresh fish, as I preferred to cook in most of the time. I had a general sense of the location prior to booking, but did not know the area first hand and was pleasantly surprised. Not only was the apartment very accommodating........so was Shellagh. The WiFi connection was outstanding, I connected on my personal PC without any issues. It was a very pleasant experience, which I hope to have the opportunity to do again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Shower water pressure not the greatest
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to meet again some day. I really enjoyed our chats and getting to know a little about your own home area. Hope all goes well for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davylap
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean comfortable apartment.”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A fantastic apartment, very quiet location, five minutes away from a fantastic beach,. three minutes away from shops, Malahide Park about 10 minutes away which was great, plenty to do and Dublin half an hour drive away. Would definitely go back to this apartment.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Hi, hope your trip home was good and thank you again for the lovely flowers and card. Best wishes, Sheelagh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaraASim...
1 review
“Nightmare neighbors”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

When we booked this property there was no mention of the terraced house next door having an extension added to their house. There was constant loud noise from the building site from extremely early morning until 8/9 o'clock at night. It was a nightmare - our toddler could not nap or sleep at bedtime. Twice the water was cut off to the property over meal times without warning so we could not prepare meals or bathe our children. Completely unacceptable! The owner would have known about this work when we booked - she should have warned us! We would never have paid £600 to live on a building site! Further to this we asked to a cot to be provided we - the cot was unclean. The cot should have been cream but was grey and had old biscuits from the last child in the bed when we put it up.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
We are very sorry that your visit coincided with work being done by the neighbours. Just to put this into context, these neighbours have been doing an extension piecemeal so I am not made aware of when there will be noisy work going on, therefore could not have predicted it.
The water was cut off once due to a mains water pipe problem in the area which the local county council repaired by 6pm, when mains feed water was restored. Again, totally unpredictable, I only found out when I returned home from work. I immediately got the information about it and informed the guests that it would be turned back on at 6pm. This had nothing to do with the neighbours building work. There was however enough water in the tanks in the house to continue water supply for at least several hours. I am sure this has happened to anyone living in a residential area and they would understand that it not under the control of any resident living in that area.
The cot supplied was not cream and never has been. It is a GRACO travel cot, navy blue and dark and light grey patterned. I apologise if there were some crumbs left in the folds by a previous baby. It is vacuumed after each use but we must have missed these few crumbs.
I notice there is no mention of the courtesy offer of a lift to the airport to pick up a rental car, nor of tools offered to fix a personal item of the guests. None of these complaints were voiced while the guests were present despite being asked if everything was OK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
etimm0ns
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Beautiful and quiet retreat with easy access to Dublin center”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My family and I had a fantastic time in this apartment. The apartment has everything a guest in Ireland would want to have. The view from the South window in the apartment is fantastic. Sheelagh even had some toys for our kids--they were very happy.

If you want to enjoy the heart of Dublin, but also like being a short walk to the beach, this is the place for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely note. You have been delightful guests and I enjoyed our little chats. I'm glad the boys enjoyed the toys and books. Hopefully we may meet again some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A F
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely flat in Portmarnock!”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Owner was hospitable and very friendly. Flat was well equipped and comfortable. Close to Malahide and Howth and easy access to Dublin city centre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Hi AF,
Thanks very much and we hope you may return some day! it was lovely meeting you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marta63
cataluña
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2016
Gracias. It was lovely to have you stay here and hope you will return to Ireland someday.
Sheelagh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing