We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Keppel B&B and Alvis are Wonderful”
Review of Great Keppel B&B

Great Keppel B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmarnock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Keppel B&B
Ranked #2 of 9 Portmarnock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was a our second time of staying at the Great Keppel B&B when visiting the Dublin area on our fourth trip to Ireland and the primary reason was that Alvis, the hostess and owner, is just wonderful. I have never met a B&B hostess which is as personable and fun as Alvis. In additon, the B&B is located in a great location for exploring Dublin and getting their via either bus or rail. The rooms are comfortable and the meals are great. Alvis helped us make arrangments on her personal computer to book train passage into Belfast to see the Titanic Exhibit and recommended the Kilkenny Centre in Dublin for a great place to pick up gifts for home. We would stay at Great Keppel again without a second thought and hope to do so again for a third visit in our future. Recommend the red room!

Room Tip: Recommend the red room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DestinDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Alvis and Ray were gracious and welcoming hosts for our brief stay in the Dublin area. Alvis' breakfast was delicious and the room was fantastic. The entire place was sparkling clean and we loved the views onto the 2nd hole of Portmarnock Golf Course as well as the horticulture. We appreciated the copies of bus schedules, directions to the airport, and driving, dining and sunset watching guidance to a beautiful evening in Houth - all perfectly accurate so helpful. Thanks again to Ray on his loaning of a wind breaker! We would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Me and my Girlfriend had a trip to Ireland and stayed two nights at the lovely Great Keppel B&B. The service was incredible the couple at the house were the sweetest and helped us far beyond anything we ever expexted. The breakfast in the morning was large and delicous as well as the rooms were beautiful from our view to the layout! Would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking to enjoy Ireland and one of the most romantic towns around!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We recently spent two nights with Alvis and Ray. They were extremely accomodating and helpful. Directions were provided and any questions we had were cheerfully answered. Alvis even provided change so we could board the local bus to Dublin.

The breakfast was great and we certainly did not leave hungry. We would return to this B and B any time and would hightly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceLaRue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Wonderful B and B in good location and Alvis is very helpful. we were over arranging a wedding and she even helped find a florist! Nothing is too much trouble . we had a wonderful vegetarian breakfast . Its a great base not too far from Howth or Malahide. Good all round
Thanks Alvis

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kerri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The owner, Alvis, was wonderful! :) She was very accomodating to our schedule and gave us fantastic suggestions for viewing in the city and around the area. The bus took us directly into the city. The view from the beach was wonderful. Wish we had more time there so we could have explored Malahide and Portmarnock more. It was a great break from the chaos of inner Dublin. The breakfast was wonderful as well. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nielmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This is a wonderful B&B and location for visting Dublin and surrounding sites, The proprietoress, Alvis, is warm and gracious - eager to assist and provices helpful info on the bus and rail and surrounding areas. Portmarnock is charming as is this B&B - room was lovely and the breakfast was delicious. A high recommend from these US travelers. Thank you, Alvis!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DestinDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
0.3 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
0.7 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
364 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
88 reviews
3.8 mi away
King Sitric
King Sitric
#1 of 2 in Howth
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
San Marino Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Portmarnock
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Keppel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Keppel B&B

Address: Great Keppel Strand Road, Portmarnock NL9-93-M93, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Portmarnock
Price Range: £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B in a modern home near Portmarnock Village centre, close to public transport, airport (15 min) and ferry terminal (25 min). Plenty of safe, off-street parking. Three great golf courses within 5 min. Over looks Portmarnock Links. Restaurants, pubs and shops nearby. Only 4km to the gourmet and yachting centre of Malahide. All rooms en-suite, with cable TV and Tea/Coffee service. Choice of breakfast and all taxes included in the price. We can cater for veggies, vegans, coeliacs and religious observance. If possible, please advise us of any dietary requirements in advance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing