We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gerry and Eithne are gracious and entertaining hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Malahide B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I spent several nights at the Castle Lodge with a large tour group. Gerry and Eithne were welcoming hosts that went out of their ways to meet our needs and make us comfortable. The beds were comfortable and the rooms extremely clean. As with many B&Bs, rooms and bathrooms were shared, but this was not problem. It is conveniently located within walking distance of shops and restaurants. There was much spontaneous song and laughter! I would recommend this Irish B&B!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent four nights, comfortable bed, clean spacious room, generous delicious breakfast served with a song and a smile. Good value and a very warm welcome. Highly recommended, we will certainly use again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

So...we were bumped by the original air bnb place we had booked for the night and that hostess booked us here at Gerry and Eithnes . From the moment we entered into the drive we knew we had the better of the two places. We had been travelling from Amsterdam and just gotten off the plane and were tired. The first thing Eithne did was offer us hot tea and a light snack. From there both she and Gerry did everything to make us comfortable, to make us laugh and to make us feel welcomed! Our room was spotless..we had our own bath and two big windows which opened which made for great sleeping weather. This B&B is walking distance from everything, we took a beautiful 10-15 min stroll to Malahide Castle, had lunch at the lovely restaurant there and did a bit of shopping. From there...another 10 min walk is the town of Malahide and the beach and marina. There are tons of cozy pubs and tiny shops hidden and everyone is SO SO nice. For dinner, we were exhausted...no problem...we ordered Chinese and it was delivered in 30...hot and delish! And after dinner...we had drinks, listened to Gerry sing and had the BEST time! The lounge has a wood burning fireplace, its warm inviting and so snuggly....As I was a bit sick...Gerry fixed me up a whisky and some cold herbs...PERFECT ! This is definitely our go to place anytime were in Dublin...which should be in about.....10 months! Don't let this little gem pass you by! Thanks so much Gerry and Eithne...you guys are AMAZING!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racheltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

From the moment I entered their home, Eithne and Gerry graciously welcomed me and made me feel at ease. Their warm and generous ways and thoughtful personal attention was exactly what I needed to create my home away from home travelling experience complete. This personal touch is complemented by a professionally run Bed & Breakfast which offers a spotlessly clean and comfortable bedroom with ensuite and the use of the lounge and back garden area. Guests are also invited to enjoy a traditionally cooked full Irish breakfast or a range of additional wholesome breakfast options. I would highly recommend this establishment for travellers seeking a first rate experience. Conveniently situated just a ten minute walk from the scenic coastal village of Malahide, Castle Lodge Bed and Breakfast is certainly a hidden gem.

Room Tip: I slept soundly in my second floor suite as there is very little street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Two girlfriends and I recently stayed here to have a few days outside the center of dublin while on a mini dublin vacation. The owners are very helpful with anything you may need, the room was really spacious but with a cozy atmosphere, very comfortable beds. The breakfast was great (I loved the porridge), but they had a wide selection of food to choose from. Malahide was a great little town, and the B&B is just 10 minutes walking into the heart of the city. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlottinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I recently stayed for the weekend and couldn't of asked for better hosts. Nothing was too much trouble . Beds very comfy, breakfast delicious and the fun in the bar out back was amazing. Thank you so much can't wait to come again. Helen from Sale Manchester x

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy4086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped for a night whilst house hunting in the area. The B&B is professionally run and very welcoming. The room was nice, spacious and well equipped. The breakfast is a good size, well cooked with good ingredients. Also a good location for a stroll down to the village and marina. Would stay again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank smythe100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,629 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
366 reviews
1.6 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
92 reviews
6.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,153 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Back Road, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Malahide
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Lodge B & B, located fifteen minutes from Dublin Airport, renowned for high standard in accommodation and delicious wholesome food, Castle Lodge B & B offers great value for money, for an overnight stay, a weekend break or longer vacation. Owned and run by the Rafferty family, who have vast knowledge of Malahide and surrounding areas. Rooms and suites cater for all guests with single, double and family suites & wheelchair accessible toilet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing