We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view! Food was AMAZING!”
Review of Nautilus

Nautilus
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Malahide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a view! Food was AMAZING!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Great view of Malahide Marina, elegant and relaxed dining atmosphere. We tried the lunch menu on Sunday. The food is outstanding. Great combination of fine dining, great tasting seasonal food matched with very impressive presentation. If you've seen tv programmes like Great British Menu or Masterchef you will love the presentation of the food here plus it tastes AMAZING! Try the beef dish, YUMMY! Well worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dublinborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    60
    16
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great meal marred by over cooked steaks”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Had a lovely meal at Ciao during a recent trip home showing some friends around Malahide and Dublin. The staff in here were friendly and professional! We had a window table with a view of the marina. The menu was creative and the starters excellent! The chicken and scallops were beautiful and for the main the lamb was delicious. A couple of our party had steaks and they both asked for rare and medium rare, they both arrived well done. Now I personally have an issue with this. How can any chef get this so wrong? It sadly ruined two perfectly lovely cuts of beef. The staff however were brilliant and apologised and compensated for this on the bill.
Overall a lovely evening just marred slightly by this "school boy" error. Yes it has annoyed me because it should have been picked up in the kitchen before the food was served. However overall I give Ciao a 4 out of 5 and would definitely go back there as the overall experience was lovely, great staff, warm friendly atmosphere and super view of the water, I just hope that the attention to detail improves.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would not reccommend this restaurant.”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We were expecting an authentic Italian menu and good food. Very dissapointed on both counts. Starters cold, steaks not cooked as ordered, rack of lamb was the toughest lamb I have ever had and the vegetables were awful. I ordered the dessert 'taster' that had miniatures of four desserts- none worth talking about. The waiter's aftershave was overpowering.
We will never return & would not reccommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely food, beautiful setting”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

bit pricey but nice food. lovely view.i would recomend booking a table in advance and getting a window table.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank qbera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
180 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Dined here recently, we were alarge party and although the service was just a bit slow the food was very tasty. The atsmosphere in the place was jumping, the restaurant was fully booked so it had alively vibe about it. The restaurnat looks out over the bay with lovely views. Unfortunately we had typical irish weather so the irish drizzle and mist did spoil this a little.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank providence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nautilus also viewed

Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing