We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Booked a twin room for a work night out in August.
Parking was good & check in was easy.
Room was small but ok for what we needed & we had a lovely view.
There seems to be a lack of care re who goes into the Residence Bar thou!!
Breakfast was really good quality & plentyful, one of the better buffet style hotel breakfasts I've had recently.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank portiabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Malahide
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,162 - 1,168 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary by booking a 2-night stay in 'The Grand!' We had heard colleagues and friends talk about it, and as a different place to stay we decided to spoil ourselves.

There can be little debate about it's location overlooking the Malahide marina and estuary, which was the view (albeit limited to the single window in our room) we enjoyed during our stay. The car parking can be a wee bit chaotic, as on the day we arrived there was a wedding and the normal patrons' car park was full, but after some driving around we found a spot in the underground park, and the car stayed there the whole time!

The reception area is spacious, bright and 'grand', with gorgeous seating and decorous chandeliers. Our check-in was problem free and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful! Prior to coming I had upgraded our room, which cost us extra but it wasn't overly expensive. However, on arrival at our room (310) there did not appear to any extra amenities (which one usually associated with an upgrade), so I was little disappointed. Similarly, as it is a 'older' hotel there is no extractor fan in the bathroom or air conditioning in the rooms. However, once I understood after an enquiry at the front desk, the upgrade refers to the view, not the amenities, I was content. Then décor suits the 'grand' style of the hotel and we were generally pleased, apart from there only being 1 armchair in the room.

We particularly loved the various wee nooks and crannies scattered throughout the lobby area, which are so suitable for sitting, reading and conversing. There is a full lobby service available, which is very good.

We enjoyed the breakfasts, which were part of our deal, and the quality and variety available was very good. Again, one has to ask ... no porridge? But, porridge apart, we really enjoyed the breakfasts which certainly set us up for the day.

On the second night we had book a meal in the restaurant, which was also included in our deal, so we were not given the full a la carte menu but tablet dot one. However, this was adequate and we enjoyed our meal, which was cooked to perfection and served efficiently. As with all establishments in Ireland, you tend to pay considerably more for the wine than you would in the UK, but it is a treat! I must here mention Darren and his staff, who were on duty that evening. They were friendly, professional and just down-right brilliant! One of the staff ( a male member, whose name I now forget!) serenaded us over dessert because it was our wedding anniversary ... a nice touch!

All in all we enjoyed our 'grand' time at The Grand, and we will be back. Notwithstanding the minor irritations mentioned above, I would have no reservation in recommending wholeheartedly The Grand, with the hope that you will enjoy yourselves as much as Pamela and I did!

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the rooms in the Executive wings!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wallace45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights bed & breakfast with one evening meal, in one of the executive rooms with a seaview. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. All the staff are so friendly and courteous. Excellent breakfast and evening meal...food of a very high standard. We will definitely visit again...soon.
Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We (my husband, myself and our 6 month old) went to a cousin's wedding in July and booked an executive room. On arrival, we found no refrigerator or air conditioning/fan, however, reception did provide both within a few hours. The room, however, was fine -- plenty of room for a travel cot, a comfortable bed, view of the harbour and a good-sized bathroom as well. As this was the first-time we had stayed overnight with an infant, we were greatly assisted by the hotel's staff in arranging a baby-sitter through an excellent agency (Careway) and our little one seemed very happy with the sitter (so, strongly recommend their service if you want a bit of a break for mum and dad, as well!).

Everything overall was pretty good, including room service breakfast and assistance with our luggage/baby things, but not 5-star, however, the wedding reception/dinner, etc., was great and had a really enjoyable time as well.

Room Tip: ask for an executive room with a harbour/sea front -- very nice and relaxing, but some of the rooms...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianoika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

2 night break proved very enjoyable in the grand malahide wonderfully spacious reception and very comfortable lounging areas off the main room all staff we encountered were helpful pleasant and very efficient particularly bar and dining rooms and the view from the coast restaurant was sublime minor disappointments were insipid pictures on bedroom walls and why these were screwed to the wall who knows also no remote wifi outside of reception area and as we usually travel on business this was unexpected the leisure facilities entail an outside walk but well worth the effort helpful staff here too would recommend this hotel great central situation lots of car parking above and underground and feel destined for a return visit asap

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonoftc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at the Grand for two nights in August 2012. The foyer as you enter is impressive but that is where it ends. We had two executive rooms which were very stuffy and in poor condition. We had difficulty sleeping at night. Not good in a hotel. I wouldn't like to see the standard rooms. They seem to do the small things badly. White wine not chilled,broken taps in bathroom and being given the worst table in the restaurant . We moved to one by the window with a nice view . Malahide is a nice town with plenty of pubs and restaurants. We took the train to Dublin for a great day of retail therapy . Even though the hotel was not up to our expectations we still had a great weekend . Malahide is in a beautiful setting and Dublin is a great city .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanchoBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Our family stayed at the grand hotel for 2 nights recently. All in all an excellent experience, perfect location for a Dublin family trip to the zoo and tayto park. An excellent breakfast in a lovely surroundings. Staff very efficient and friendly. Very good leisure centre. We will definitely be back. Thanks for everything

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mufclk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
362 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
86 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range: £88 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing