We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
K-W, Ontario
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Grand was a great hotel for our first night of touring. Room was clean, comfortable beds and great meal service.
The hotel is also well placed for a stroll downtown to visit shops and sites including the Malahide castle.
The breakfast buffet was well stocked with full Irish breakfast fare as well as other basic choices for fruit, toast, cheese etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel.
We are delighted you had such a wonderful time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Malahide soon.

Kind Regards
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    528
    231
    96
    52
See reviews for
303
518
32
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed in the Grand Hotel for two nights in August. It is a great old style hotel that is soaked in the past as well as offering great modern facilities. I personally found our bedroom to be a little bland, however the grand communal areas make up for the lack of wow factor in the room that we were allocated, but I must add that other family members who visited at other times were upgraded without extra cost and these rooms were fabulously appointed.

We had an evening meal included in out package and the food was out of this world!

Malahide itself in a beautiful town with a lovely continental feel, we most certainly will go back.

Room Tip: upgrade if you can - the standard rooms are indeed 'standard'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very proud of our hotel and indeed Malahide. It is a beautiful setting and perfect for a relaxing break. Our Head Chef is wonderfully creative and continues to delight is her menu design and delivery. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed the restaurant so much.

Please do come back and stay again soon.

Kind Regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed in Malahide for a quiet and relaxing weekend. On arrival checked in early with no hassle and room, with sea view at the front of the hotel, very pleasant. A bit of a rambling hotel , it takes a while to get your bearings. Plenty of quiet corners with comfortable chairs to chill out in. SWtaff very attentive.
Hotel well placed for beach walking and there is a huge promenade on the other side of a busy main road. Short walk into Malahide where there are shops, cafés , bars and some fine restaurants. You can also get the “Dart”(Train) into Dublin if you do not wish to take your car into Dublin – about 30 minutes drive, depending on the traffic. Let the TRAIN take the strain!
Breakfast was fine with a lovely view of the sea. Leisure centre a bit of a walk from where we were but staff very pleasant and facilities well maintained. Strangely they insisted I wear a cap while swimming – when 1. I am severely “folicly” challenged and 2. a number of other swimmers were not wearing caps! However I enjoyed the swim. Also I was disappointed that the Leisure Centre did not open until 9.00 o'clock.
Some nice drives around – up to Portmarnock and Howth and there is Malahide Castle near by with a very expensive market (Avoca)in its grounds.
The high light of the stay was the meal in the hotel. Excellent service and a beautiful meal – would go back for the food alone. All in all a lovely weekend and a “grand” hotel !!

Room Tip: If you are going to use the Leisure Centre ask for room on the side the Leisure Centre is on. Also b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Malahide is indeed ideally located to enjoy the slow easy pace of the coastal setting while being just minutes from the city on the DART. The Arena health club is open at 7am Monday to Friday and at 9am at the weekends, apologies if there was any confusion with this aspect of your stay.
The Coast restaurant enjoys fabulous views of the estuary and Marina and we are delighted to hear you had such a great dining experience.
Malahide Castle and gardens is a wonderful tourist attraction in the village and has recently had a multi million euro upgrade to include the addition of Avoca, a beautiful store which includes a gourmet café with local produce and Irelands finest hand knit woollen garments and crafts.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall and hope you come back again soon.

Kind Regards
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on arrival the hotel was fantastic, really nice building. Staff were very nice trough out. However the room wasn't really up to a four star standard, they are just really dated with a big damp stain on the wall, our window looked out on to the car park that was loud from passing cars.

Overall an ok hotel but i would give it more of a 3star rating based on the standard of the room that we stayed in.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kina6989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The hotel dates from 1835 and there is a wonderful fusion of the old and new aspect to the hotel. Our bedrooms do vary in size and appointment and this gives the hotel great character. We are committed to continually maintaining and upgrading our rooms and public areas within the hotel and have some more plans to do so in early 2014.

We do hope you get the opportunity to visit again in the future,

Kind Regards
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We chose Malahide for our last night in Ireland because it was on the beach and close to the airport so we did not have the hassle of driving out of Dublin. Arrived in the morning and the staff were very accommodating and gave us access to our room well before check in time. A little disappointed we did not get a room with a view but the room was spacious clean and quiet. The hotel has a grand old atmosphere and the restaurant for breakfast had a wonderful view of the sea.The only down side was wifi access. You are given 15 minutes of free wi fi and after that are charged. Given the price of the hotel I think this is a little poor.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
It is indeed a perfect location to end or start your tour of Ireland being just minutes from the airport. We will take your comments on board and thank you for your constructive feedback.

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Malahide and you get the chance to return again some day.
Kind Regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Spent 2 nights in the Grand Hotel with my family. (2 adults and 2 children aged 8 and 11). The family room was spacious, warm and spotless. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is located in the Centre of Malahide within a very short walk to shops, cafes and restaurants. Tennis courts located directly across the road and leisure centre onsite.

The bar menu offers good quality, value for money food, in a casual setting, which is ideal when travelling with kids.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return.

If booking it is well worthwhile paying for a sea view room.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barravore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you had such an enjoyable time with your family. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had a excellent stay at this hotel recently. The staff were very helpful and polite. Had a chance to have the carvery lunch - the food was absolutely lovely. My room had a beautiful view of the beach. The breakfast is a buffet and was of very high standard. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peppermintpaddy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing