We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Malahide
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Hotel(Portmarnock)
US$134
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$167
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport(Cloghran)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$180
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,675)
Filter reviews
1,675 results
Traveller rating
634
598
271
110
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
598
271
110
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast restaurantsea viewryan's barmatt ryan barexecutive roomleisure centrelovely hotelpublic areasshort breakbar foodfamily roomstayed for one nighthotel bardublin cityirelanddartportmarnock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
936 - 941 of 1,675 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed for new year great place to stay booked for dinner on New Year's Eve excellent food very friendly staff who make you welcome . Bedrooms spacious and clean our bedroom looked out to the sea very pretty

Room Tip: Ask for sea view won't be disappointed
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilbermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. Delighted to see you had such a great time ringing in the new year with us and there is no better way to start the year than waking up to the breathtaking views we are so fortunate to enjoy everyday. Please come back again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed for 3 days over New Year. Had a wonderful time. Spacious spotlessly clean rooms, fresh towels everyday stayed in 265. Would have liked a separate shower. Food excellent. Daily carvery great value for money in main restaurant also had a meal in Matt Ryan's Bar. Staff very helpful couldn't do enough for us. Hotel very relaxed atmosphere, would like to see Spa facilities to add to this. Will return again. Just a thought what about a Murder Mystery Night great setting for one!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poshletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see you had such a wonderful stay with us. The hotel does indeed offer character in abundance and is steeped in history so yes a murder mystery tour would indeed work very well in the hotel, something to bear in mind. Our chef is continually keeping our menus fresh and exciting and we are proud of our consistent great feedback from both Coast and Matt Ryan bar. We do hope you find the occasion to return to Malahide soon, there's no better place for great weekend get away.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel booked almost 3 months ago for New Year. Family of 4 travelled who are used to staying in 4* plus hotels across the UK and Europe.
Confirmed via email from staff member we would receive interconnecting rooms in the new refurbished section of the hotel. To our disappointment we were given rooms 800 and 801 which not only smelt of smoke but also showed extensive evidence of wear and tear. Drawers were broken, wardrobes broken and skirting/architraves showed signs of chipping and damage. This WAS NOT what we had booked or expected. On complaining we were told, by a junior member of staff (yet to be approached by the manager) , that the type of interconnecting room we had booked for New Year was unavailable. We decided to give the hotel benefit of the doubt and accepted a room with 2 double beds. In retrospect this room was totally inappropriate for our needs. To add insult to injury the heating system will keep you awake (459) from 05.45 with extensive and unbearable noises. Whilst I appreciate the hotel dates to mid 1800's this is meant to be the new 'refurbished' section of the hotel. I have stayed in other 'character' hotels ie Castle Leslie/Coombe Abbey with no such problems.
At no point in our stay were we approached by management to discuss our issues. Front facing staff were very nice but lacked any authority to rectify the situation.
In essence and in our honest opinion this hotel lacks the relevant extra touches to merit its 4 stars. ( not even free wifi in communal areas - Gibneys Pub even had free wifi )The hotel itself including the bar area felt very 'soulless'.
Due to lack of meeting our needs combined with the early morning heating 'call' we checked out circa 07.30 and made alternative arrangements for New Year so as not to let our boys down.
Would not return and would not recommend if looking for a 'true' 4 star plus experience.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Neill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is disappointing to see that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you felt you did not receive a satisfactory level of response from our management team in response to your concerns.
The hotel has over 200 bedrooms, all of which are continually refurbished on rotation. The rooms you were allocated were unfortunately the last of our older style rooms which are this actually this week being fully refurbished to bring the whole hotel up to the same standards. We are now a completely non smoking property and all of the fixtures and fitting on the former smoking floor have been fully replaced. The hotel dates back to 1835 and in the original building, piping can sometimes make some noise in colder weather. New Years eve is such a very busy night at the hotel and it isn't always possible to offer our guests alternative rooms when we are fully occupied. The Matt Ryan bar is a much loved local bar and usually a hive of activity at the weekends with guests and regulars enjoying the scene. Wifi is offered to all our guests complimentary and only charged nominally after a certain time period has expired. Your experience concerns us as we are very proud of our commitment to customer service and our recent reviews and awards are testimony to this. If you wish to discuss your stay with us in further detail, we would be very happy to call or meet with you. Please contact our management office directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Grand hotel is the best hotel we have stayed at in Ireland. Great location,within walking distance of lots of shops, restaurants etc. there's also a great coastal route walk.
We stayed for 2 nights with an eleven week old baby and I must say the hotel is very child friendly. Loved the baby changing room, lovely touch.
Our room (352) had great views and was very comfortable and spacious.
Breakfast was great, Ryan's bar food lovely and coast restaurant food was amazing.
Every member of staff we came across were friendly and attentive.
Great leisure facilities, great pool, great for our baby.
Overall very pleased with our stay. We are going to be booking do Easter this year as we loved it so much.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gems1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

What a fabulous review, thank you. We are delighted you have had such a great experience at the hotel. The hotel is family run for over forty years and we understand families and take pride in offering our guests every convenience to make traveling with children as stress free as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back in April trust you will have another wonderful break in Malahide.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Lovely hotel with several places to eat in. We had lunch in Matt Ryan's bar. Next door to this there is a carvery option. We were waiting a while before anyone came to take our order. However once we ordered the service was very good. We both had chicken and ham toasted sandwiches, these were served with a very nice side salad and savoury cous cous. The very friendly waitress came back to us twice to see if things were okay. Despite the Hotel being very big there is a lovely warm feel to it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your nice review.
The hotel does indeed have many options for ladies to lunch. Glad you enjoyed it.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews