We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A nice Rest”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We found the hotel an ideal place to relax. It was quiet and beautifully situated. The food was excellent as was the service. We were able to stroll into the village and take lovely walks along the seafront. We hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    533
    233
    97
    55
See reviews for
305
523
32
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bettystown, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

stayed here recently for one night, a very large hotel, which is very impressive in the lobby and bar, however the rooms are a bit dated and could do with revamping, they are however comfortable and very clean, breakfast the next day was a bit chaotic as a wedding party stayed the night, there was queues for the hot food but it moved quick enough, overall an ok place to stay

Room Tip: corner rooms you will get a view of the main street and the sea/estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novelty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed for a conference in this large hotel on the coast. There are plenty of places to walk out to for dinner and also the coast road for a breath of fresh air at lunch. The Palm restaurant lunches are a typical buffet style carvery attended by many retired folks having a treat. Breakfast was also a standard affair. There is no air-conditioning even in the executive wing and I had to turn down the radiator in my room. Friendly helpful staff, though the WiFi connection in our room proved difficult to connect to - requiring settings changing on our laptops.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_B_London61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on the 3rd & 4th Jan following a bad experience at the CityWest before new Year. From the booking process with Gemma through the whole stay we found the staff excellent. Driving up to the hotel is impressive in an olde world way and the new reception to the rear is also spacious and well furnished. The room was enormous (corner room albeit overlooking car park/gym) with 2 double beds a 20 year old TV but that's seems par for the course. Room spotless great beds.

We had an evening meal in the Ryans bar which was relaxed with young families in early on. Breakfast however is the highlight in the Coast restaurant looking out over the inlet. Breakfast is excellent with well laid out tables and very good coffee serving all the usual hot stuff with a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit and pastries/muffins (kids paradise). The leisure centre is used by the local dubs so is kept well the pool was another plus point (don't forget swim caps). I managed to use the gym which was very well equipped with excellent free weights section there are even classes if you get your act together. There are some quite areas in the older part of the hotel at the front with open fires which blends the old and new really well.

We had a walk round Malahide which is a delightful village with more cafes, bars and restaurants than you could get round (no recession here). Great kids park in the castle grounds. We caught the DART into the centre (station 10 mins walk) to watch a show and is an excellent service and as a result I would probably be unlikely to stay in the centre of Dublin again.

Thoroughly recommend we will be back again. It is only 25 mins from Dublin Port and the airport is a lot closer still.

Room Tip: Corner room overlooking car park for size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Malahide does indeed have it all to offer our guests. The village offers so much for our guests to enjoy whether traveling with young families, friends or for business. The boutiques are unique and contemporary, the bars lively and traditional and recreation facilities a plenty. Our location offers guests a wonderful alternative to the city experience as you so rightly point out, yet with the train station on the door step, we are only twenty minutes from the city should you want to pay a visit to some of the tourist attractions. We are delighted to see you enjoyed our restaurant so much, our chef takes great pride in offering fresh, good quality selection for all our guests. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel for another great stay very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed for new year great place to stay booked for dinner on New Year's Eve excellent food very friendly staff who make you welcome . Bedrooms spacious and clean our bedroom looked out to the sea very pretty

Room Tip: Ask for sea view won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilbermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. Delighted to see you had such a great time ringing in the new year with us and there is no better way to start the year than waking up to the breathtaking views we are so fortunate to enjoy everyday. Please come back again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed for 3 days over New Year. Had a wonderful time. Spacious spotlessly clean rooms, fresh towels everyday stayed in 265. Would have liked a separate shower. Food excellent. Daily carvery great value for money in main restaurant also had a meal in Matt Ryan's Bar. Staff very helpful couldn't do enough for us. Hotel very relaxed atmosphere, would like to see Spa facilities to add to this. Will return again. Just a thought what about a Murder Mystery Night great setting for one!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poshletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see you had such a wonderful stay with us. The hotel does indeed offer character in abundance and is steeped in history so yes a murder mystery tour would indeed work very well in the hotel, something to bear in mind. Our chef is continually keeping our menus fresh and exciting and we are proud of our consistent great feedback from both Coast and Matt Ryan bar. We do hope you find the occasion to return to Malahide soon, there's no better place for great weekend get away.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel booked almost 3 months ago for New Year. Family of 4 travelled who are used to staying in 4* plus hotels across the UK and Europe.
Confirmed via email from staff member we would receive interconnecting rooms in the new refurbished section of the hotel. To our disappointment we were given rooms 800 and 801 which not only smelt of smoke but also showed extensive evidence of wear and tear. Drawers were broken, wardrobes broken and skirting/architraves showed signs of chipping and damage. This WAS NOT what we had booked or expected. On complaining we were told, by a junior member of staff (yet to be approached by the manager) , that the type of interconnecting room we had booked for New Year was unavailable. We decided to give the hotel benefit of the doubt and accepted a room with 2 double beds. In retrospect this room was totally inappropriate for our needs. To add insult to injury the heating system will keep you awake (459) from 05.45 with extensive and unbearable noises. Whilst I appreciate the hotel dates to mid 1800's this is meant to be the new 'refurbished' section of the hotel. I have stayed in other 'character' hotels ie Castle Leslie/Coombe Abbey with no such problems.
At no point in our stay were we approached by management to discuss our issues. Front facing staff were very nice but lacked any authority to rectify the situation.
In essence and in our honest opinion this hotel lacks the relevant extra touches to merit its 4 stars. ( not even free wifi in communal areas - Gibneys Pub even had free wifi )The hotel itself including the bar area felt very 'soulless'.
Due to lack of meeting our needs combined with the early morning heating 'call' we checked out circa 07.30 and made alternative arrangements for New Year so as not to let our boys down.
Would not return and would not recommend if looking for a 'true' 4 star plus experience.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is disappointing to see that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you felt you did not receive a satisfactory level of response from our management team in response to your concerns.
The hotel has over 200 bedrooms, all of which are continually refurbished on rotation. The rooms you were allocated were unfortunately the last of our older style rooms which are this actually this week being fully refurbished to bring the whole hotel up to the same standards. We are now a completely non smoking property and all of the fixtures and fitting on the former smoking floor have been fully replaced. The hotel dates back to 1835 and in the original building, piping can sometimes make some noise in colder weather. New Years eve is such a very busy night at the hotel and it isn't always possible to offer our guests alternative rooms when we are fully occupied. The Matt Ryan bar is a much loved local bar and usually a hive of activity at the weekends with guests and regulars enjoying the scene. Wifi is offered to all our guests complimentary and only charged nominally after a certain time period has expired. Your experience concerns us as we are very proud of our commitment to customer service and our recent reviews and awards are testimony to this. If you wish to discuss your stay with us in further detail, we would be very happy to call or meet with you. Please contact our management office directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing