We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing stay, well worth the money.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Malahide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay, well worth the money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have just returned from a lovely overnight stay at the Grand Hotel, Malahide. It was our first time there and Malahide is a lovely seaside town with plenty of quaint shops, pubs and restaurants. The Grand is a very imposing building set on the seafront and is in very good order both inside and out.
The reception area is huge and our room 812 was lovely, with a sea view overlooking the front of the hotel. We had the early bird dinner in the Coast restaurant, which I would readily recommend. My wife enjoyed the spa and pool, as I read my paper and just chilled! The only small point I would mention is that breakfast could be improved by having better sausages and bacon that hadn't been sitting for a while. All of the staff made a big effort to make sure we had everything we required and I would have no hesitation in going back for another stay at this hotel in the future. Well done to everyone at the Grand, see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coantrimtripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    522
    230
    95
    50
See reviews for
299
511
32
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed for two nights. Hotel has an older worn feel rather than a comfortable feel, hard to describe. Room was OK, bed a little hard for me, but I have a slipped disc. Good location. Didn't try the restaurant. A lot of older people and families around. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the large bay type windows at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadgeteer1O66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
259 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

good hotel at Malahide, very nice view on the sea, if you are lucky to have a room on the right side of the hotel.
The hotel is not that modern and has an old flair of the beginning of the 20eme century. This makes the charm of this hotel.
THe way to the room is very complicated. To go to 2nd floor, you need to take the lift to the 1st floor, than walk, and take another lift to the 2nd. Risk to get lost. They should give a map together with the room key.
Rooms are large. Rooms giving on the road and sea side are a little bit noisy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPJD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived mid morning after a flight from England and although normal check-in was mid afternoon, they found us a room - and what a room! The entire exterior wall was missing - in its place were floor to ceiling windows that gave fantastic views across the bay and towards Malahide harbour and also out to sea. Stand back a bit from the windows and you could mistake the view as being from a cruise liner.

Very good size bathroom in excellent condition and with a really good and consistent power shower. My only constructive criticism would be to suggest replacing the straight shower rail with one that bows out in the middle; I seemed to find myself in contact with the shower curtain a bit too often.

The hotel has plenty of sitting areas with nice cosy open fires. The main entrance lobby is extremely grand and befitting of the hotel's name. Lots of car parking available. Staff in reception were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble.

We had arranged to meet up with family for lunch in Coasts restaurant. The four of us sat down at 1pm and didn't leave until 5pm. From the moment we walked in the service was exceptional. The waiting staff had plenty of time for us and really made us feel welcome. two of us had the smoked salmon risotto with garden peas and parmesan shavings as a starter and it was up amongst the best I have eaten. Three of us then went on to have a fabulously succulent and flavoursome chicken breast resting on asparagus and mashed potato. Again, bursting with flavour and one of the nicest meals during our entire stay. Three of us finished off with a chocolate pudding with pistachio ice cream and coffee, which again went down well. I think the three courses were about 28 euros per person. With some drinks and a couple of bottles of house wine, that added around 58 euros. We had no complaints and I look forward to eating there again.... as soon as possible.

There was a decent wi-fi signal in the room with 15 minutes free time per day; enough to catch up with emails and a quick bit of surfing. You could have longer if you paid. I think it was 3 euros for 1 hour, or 5 euros for 3 hours. I hate being off-line and if I was there for a protracted time, I could see me racking up some charges. That said, it probably equates well with out of country data roaming on 3g!

All in all, Malahide is a great, well kept, upmarket coastal town with a lot going for it. plenty of places to eat and with things to do, including a castle. You could also jump on the dart train into Dublin.

Based upon the room we stayed in, which cost 170 euros for b&b we had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 409 - an executive room with floor to ceiling windows the full width of the room overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gadgeteer1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed for one night in a very large family room on the upper floor with great sea view. The room was big enough for the kids to really play and relax. All areas of the hotel seemed spacious, with lots of different seating areas. The breakfast was exactly what we expected, excellent, the pool was lovely and the bonus was the kids fun hour where lots of rubber toys were available for the kids to play with. Excellent location close to the village, beach, park and dart. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mybace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have just spent 2 nights at the grand. Overall it was a good stay.
Positives: located next to the bays, lovely walk along beach
great breakfast selection
clean and tidy room
Helpful staff, victor and jess, both male waiters were fantastic and deserve a special mention.

negatives:
30 minute free wifi limit each 24 hours for residents silly, especially as it is not a cheap hotel to stay in.
3 people in room, had to ask for 3rd set of towel's and tea making facilities, slightly slow in delivery
Desserts in coast restaurant disappointing, meringue dry and not hone made. Rest of evening meal good
overall would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olls294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is facing the sea in a nice little town close to Dublin. It is well decorated and the area is peaceful. The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable. The food is good and the service is also very good. The employees are attentive to your needs. There is a large selection of restaurants around the area. There is also a long trail close to the sea. It is phenomenal to see the sunset.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room facing directly the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 205GlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.8 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing