We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here our last night in Ireland and we were not let down. The staff was welcoming and helpful and our room was gorgeous. We had an amazing view with full windows of the Irish Sea on the fourth floor in the Executive Wing. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was lovely but the jets in the tub didn't work. They were very busy the night we stayed as the next day was Mother's Day, but there was no issues. We enjoyed lunch in the pub and they got us into the restuarant where we enjoyed a very good dinner with a great view. It was a lovely stay, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    543
    237
    99
    57
See reviews for
308
531
34
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 29th March, was informed by reception pool closes at 9pm, on arriving at pool area at approx 815pm we were told closing time is 830pm, they dimmed lights at 830pm for everyone to leave the pool, it states on the door as you enter the leisure area that closing is 9pm, returned to reception to again be told it's 9pm closing time, there seems to be conflicting closing times between reception , pool staff and website, was also advised for safety reasons pool lights should not be dimmed when people are in the pool, my daugher got out of pool at 830pm as lights were dimmed, so much for a relaxing dip, will not be returning here

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.
We would like to apologise for any shortfall in service received in relation to our Arena Health Centre. Our pool is vacated at 8.30pm at the weekend allowing a half hour for our guests to change and shower before the facility closes fully at 9pm.
We dim the underwater lights once everybody is out of the water and leave the overhead lights on until cleaning has been completed later in the evening.
We are investigating the incident as to why communication was not delivered to you correctly and apologise for any inconvenience caused to your stay and overall experience of the hotel.

We do hope you return to stay with us again in the near future,

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night on a business trip. Huge bedroom, clean and pleasant enough. Ate at the restaurant which was excellent and breakfast similarly so - a good buffet. Nice view from the restaurant over the water.

Only gripes were being woken by noise from the heating/water pipes and only 30 mins free wifi - a little tight I feel in this day and age.

Would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drinksmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have just returned from a lovely overnight stay at the Grand Hotel, Malahide. It was our first time there and Malahide is a lovely seaside town with plenty of quaint shops, pubs and restaurants. The Grand is a very imposing building set on the seafront and is in very good order both inside and out.
The reception area is huge and our room 812 was lovely, with a sea view overlooking the front of the hotel. We had the early bird dinner in the Coast restaurant, which I would readily recommend. My wife enjoyed the spa and pool, as I read my paper and just chilled! The only small point I would mention is that breakfast could be improved by having better sausages and bacon that hadn't been sitting for a while. All of the staff made a big effort to make sure we had everything we required and I would have no hesitation in going back for another stay at this hotel in the future. Well done to everyone at the Grand, see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coantrimtripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed for two nights. Hotel has an older worn feel rather than a comfortable feel, hard to describe. Room was OK, bed a little hard for me, but I have a slipped disc. Good location. Didn't try the restaurant. A lot of older people and families around. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the large bay type windows at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadgeteer1O66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
350 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

good hotel at Malahide, very nice view on the sea, if you are lucky to have a room on the right side of the hotel.
The hotel is not that modern and has an old flair of the beginning of the 20eme century. This makes the charm of this hotel.
THe way to the room is very complicated. To go to 2nd floor, you need to take the lift to the 1st floor, than walk, and take another lift to the 2nd. Risk to get lost. They should give a map together with the room key.
Rooms are large. Rooms giving on the road and sea side are a little bit noisy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPJD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived mid morning after a flight from England and although normal check-in was mid afternoon, they found us a room - and what a room! The entire exterior wall was missing - in its place were floor to ceiling windows that gave fantastic views across the bay and towards Malahide harbour and also out to sea. Stand back a bit from the windows and you could mistake the view as being from a cruise liner.

Very good size bathroom in excellent condition and with a really good and consistent power shower. My only constructive criticism would be to suggest replacing the straight shower rail with one that bows out in the middle; I seemed to find myself in contact with the shower curtain a bit too often.

The hotel has plenty of sitting areas with nice cosy open fires. The main entrance lobby is extremely grand and befitting of the hotel's name. Lots of car parking available. Staff in reception were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble.

We had arranged to meet up with family for lunch in Coasts restaurant. The four of us sat down at 1pm and didn't leave until 5pm. From the moment we walked in the service was exceptional. The waiting staff had plenty of time for us and really made us feel welcome. two of us had the smoked salmon risotto with garden peas and parmesan shavings as a starter and it was up amongst the best I have eaten. Three of us then went on to have a fabulously succulent and flavoursome chicken breast resting on asparagus and mashed potato. Again, bursting with flavour and one of the nicest meals during our entire stay. Three of us finished off with a chocolate pudding with pistachio ice cream and coffee, which again went down well. I think the three courses were about 28 euros per person. With some drinks and a couple of bottles of house wine, that added around 58 euros. We had no complaints and I look forward to eating there again.... as soon as possible.

There was a decent wi-fi signal in the room with 15 minutes free time per day; enough to catch up with emails and a quick bit of surfing. You could have longer if you paid. I think it was 3 euros for 1 hour, or 5 euros for 3 hours. I hate being off-line and if I was there for a protracted time, I could see me racking up some charges. That said, it probably equates well with out of country data roaming on 3g!

All in all, Malahide is a great, well kept, upmarket coastal town with a lot going for it. plenty of places to eat and with things to do, including a castle. You could also jump on the dart train into Dublin.

Based upon the room we stayed in, which cost 170 euros for b&b we had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 409 - an executive room with floor to ceiling windows the full width of the room overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gadgeteer1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
352 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
81 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
4.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing