We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Much improved”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just had an excellent stay in the Grand Hotel. Customer service was excellent and we were lucky enough to be given one of the newly refurbished bedrooms. As usual, a wonderful breakfast with breath-taking views over the bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blueshelagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    556
    242
    99
    58
See reviews for
317
542
34
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights as part of a longer trip and I liked the fact that the hotel is so close to the beach (for walks etc.) but at the same time close to Dublin (by Dart). We had a very spacious room (453) with a wonderful view of the beach through large floor-to-ceiling windows. The beds were very comfy and the service excellent. We loved the Irish breakfast and the beautiful smell of toasted bread coming from the Coast Restaurant in the morning. The only minus was that the internet was limited to 30 mins daily and that the bathroom was quite chilly and we couldn't find out how to switch on the heating. And the blow dryer was fixed to the inside of the first drawer in the bedroom and had a very short strap which makes it very tricky for tall people to use.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea-view very recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omagh
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

down at the Grand last weekend for a break. This was our first visit here and what a surprise. staff and facilities were great. One small downer was when we checked in we were offered a choice of a room with a bath or a shower, we choose the one with the shower and were told good choice as it had a sea view. On arriving at our room we were hugely disappointed by how small it was and rang reception to see if we could get a change. We were moved to a room at the other end of the range, a suite :). That night we ate in the lounge and the meal was excellent, especially as there were lots eating there as the restaurant was booked out. Full marks to all. Breakfast was plentiful and a good standard especially as the staff were flat out on Mothering Sunday when they had to open a second dining area to cope with the numbers. The leisure facilities were also excellent, probably one of the best we have used. Will definitely be making a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dem190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I've stayed there a few times over the past 10 years, both for business and leaisure. It is well located with good views and a short stroll to the small town of Malahide. Rooms are well-appointed, clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and efficient. Food is good and generous portions (this is Ireland!) whether bar snacks or formal. I will be staying there regularly from now on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeh9385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here our last night in Ireland and we were not let down. The staff was welcoming and helpful and our room was gorgeous. We had an amazing view with full windows of the Irish Sea on the fourth floor in the Executive Wing. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was lovely but the jets in the tub didn't work. They were very busy the night we stayed as the next day was Mother's Day, but there was no issues. We enjoyed lunch in the pub and they got us into the restuarant where we enjoyed a very good dinner with a great view. It was a lovely stay, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 29th March, was informed by reception pool closes at 9pm, on arriving at pool area at approx 815pm we were told closing time is 830pm, they dimmed lights at 830pm for everyone to leave the pool, it states on the door as you enter the leisure area that closing is 9pm, returned to reception to again be told it's 9pm closing time, there seems to be conflicting closing times between reception , pool staff and website, was also advised for safety reasons pool lights should not be dimmed when people are in the pool, my daugher got out of pool at 830pm as lights were dimmed, so much for a relaxing dip, will not be returning here

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.
We would like to apologise for any shortfall in service received in relation to our Arena Health Centre. Our pool is vacated at 8.30pm at the weekend allowing a half hour for our guests to change and shower before the facility closes fully at 9pm.
We dim the underwater lights once everybody is out of the water and leave the overhead lights on until cleaning has been completed later in the evening.
We are investigating the incident as to why communication was not delivered to you correctly and apologise for any inconvenience caused to your stay and overall experience of the hotel.

We do hope you return to stay with us again in the near future,

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night on a business trip. Huge bedroom, clean and pleasant enough. Ate at the restaurant which was excellent and breakfast similarly so - a good buffet. Nice view from the restaurant over the water.

Only gripes were being woken by noise from the heating/water pipes and only 30 mins free wifi - a little tight I feel in this day and age.

Would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drinksmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
354 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
81 reviews
3.0 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
246 reviews
4.5 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing