We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel for my sisters birthday.We had a family room with double bed and single,very comfortable.Breakfast was very tasty,plenty of everything.Loved the freshly squeezed orange juice.hotel is beautiful inside and outside.We got the dart into Dublin on Saturday and then we enjoyed a lovely walk on the beach and over to the marine on sunday morning,had a really relaxing time.The dining room looks out over the sea,breathtaking.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewryHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read you had such a great time during your recent stay in Malahide.
The location does indeed offer guests a diverse range if things to do whether is quick access to the city, a lazy lunch overlooking the bay in coast or a leisurely walk along the promenade. Great to see you and your guests got to do so much. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Many Thanks for taking the time to review your stay.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

851 - 857 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel on number of occasions in the past and always enjoyed the experience. not so on this visit. We stayed over one night on our way home from a trip to Europe. We were looking forward to a comfortable room and an enjoyable evening meal and were disappointed on both counts. We were checked into Room 117 which was drab( Peeling olive wallpaper), shabby (1960s ,worn furniture) and cramped. There was no drawer space or space to put toiletries in the bathroom. The room did not meet the standard of three star accommodation never name 4 star and we had booked in January 2004Tip 1 Complain immediately. Whilst disappointed we decided to say nothing as we were leaving the next day. We booked a meal in the restaurant for 8.30pm. The dining room was packed as it was the Mother's Day weekend. The staff were pleasant and helpful but rushed off their feet. Neither the kitchen or restaurant seemed sufficiently staffed to meet the demands of diners.We arrived at 8.30pm and were not served our main course until 9.50pm. When it came it was dried out and cold. At this stage we complained as we had had enough. Tip 2 On special holiday weekends book the early sitting in the restaurant. The restaurant Manager tried to rectify the situation by not charging for the main course. By this stage I couldn't face anymore. We were told that all rooms were fully booked but that we would get "special treatment "on our next trip.The hotel should not be offering sub standard rooms at 4 star prices. they also need to ensure that they have adequate staff to meet customer demand which they did not. Tip 3 If you are unhappy with the facilities and service complain and demand a reduction to the bill .Why would anyone want to come back to a facility where they have received poor service and been treated dismissively be a senior manager? Be prepared to deal with senior staff who do not like or accept criticism and remember that you have the ultimate sanction of taking your custom elsewhere.On the positive side the hotel is in a lovely location, breakfast and lunch were good and the general staff were helpful and considerate. Their managers could take a leaf out of their book. My recent stay at the Grand was disappointing and thankfully in the past. It will not however feature in any of my future plans.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 117 unless it has undergone major renovations the floor it is on needs refurbishing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucymae9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is disappointing to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are sorry you feel you did not receive adequate care and attention from our management in response to your concerns during your time at the hotel.
The hotel has over 200 bedrooms, all of which are continually refurbished on rotation. The room that you were allocated is located in the original house and has many period features that add to the charm of the hotel - this décor is enjoyed by many of our guests and we are sorry you did not enjoy this aspect of the hotel. Typically we would endeavour to offer you an alternative room in another wing of the hotel as soon as we were made aware of your disappointment but as we were fully booked last weekend, this was not possible on this occasion.

Our restaurant is extremely popular with both residents and locals particularly at the weekends and over holidays. We apologise if you felt that your service time was longer than anticipated, we have a very consistent reputation for excellence in customer service so this is disappointing and something we will address going forward.

We would hope that you will reconsider visiting the hotel again in the future and permit us the opportunity to look after you and exceed your expectations.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

beautiful really beautiful
this is a Grand Hotel, but the price is not so big
I stayed for one night. Big room with a comfy double and a single bed, nice bathroom with bath and shower over and nice toiletries. Tea and coffee making in the room , but no mini bar. There is a selection of restaurants and a nice bar, as well as a health club with gym, pool etc for the guests to use. There is plenty of parking as well. and overall just really nice. The view as well is great, just north of dublin city, 20 minutes by Dart train. quite if not tranquil and if not small and either. The staff are very friendly as well. I would certainly stay here again for business and especially for pleasure or a romantic weekend

The local small town is also really nice and easy to walk to with a really good selection of restaurants

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view please
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just had an excellent stay in the Grand Hotel. Customer service was excellent and we were lucky enough to be given one of the newly refurbished bedrooms. As usual, a wonderful breakfast with breath-taking views over the bay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blueshelagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights as part of a longer trip and I liked the fact that the hotel is so close to the beach (for walks etc.) but at the same time close to Dublin (by Dart). We had a very spacious room (453) with a wonderful view of the beach through large floor-to-ceiling windows. The beds were very comfy and the service excellent. We loved the Irish breakfast and the beautiful smell of toasted bread coming from the Coast Restaurant in the morning. The only minus was that the internet was limited to 30 mins daily and that the bathroom was quite chilly and we couldn't find out how to switch on the heating. And the blow dryer was fixed to the inside of the first drawer in the bedroom and had a very short strap which makes it very tricky for tall people to use.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea-view very recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

down at the Grand last weekend for a break. This was our first visit here and what a surprise. staff and facilities were great. One small downer was when we checked in we were offered a choice of a room with a bath or a shower, we choose the one with the shower and were told good choice as it had a sea view. On arriving at our room we were hugely disappointed by how small it was and rang reception to see if we could get a change. We were moved to a room at the other end of the range, a suite :). That night we ate in the lounge and the meal was excellent, especially as there were lots eating there as the restaurant was booked out. Full marks to all. Breakfast was plentiful and a good standard especially as the staff were flat out on Mothering Sunday when they had to open a second dining area to cope with the numbers. The leisure facilities were also excellent, probably one of the best we have used. Will definitely be making a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dem190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I've stayed there a few times over the past 10 years, both for business and leaisure. It is well located with good views and a short stroll to the small town of Malahide. Rooms are well-appointed, clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and efficient. Food is good and generous portions (this is Ireland!) whether bar snacks or formal. I will be staying there regularly from now on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeh9385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
367 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
94 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range: £85 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing