We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE VERY CAREFUL WE GIVING YOUR CARD FOR PRE-AUTHORISATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BE VERY CAREFUL WE GIVING YOUR CARD FOR PRE-AUTHORISATION”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay the staff, the room, the facilities but have been so put off by what has happened all that has been forgotten.....

We checked in on 10th April and gave a debit card for pre-authorisation. Before we had left the Reception the member of staff advised that they needed a credit card for pre-authorisation which we gave. On Sunday 13th April we discovered that the debit card had not been cancelled, we asked at Reception for this to be done and they stated that their merchant services had requested it. We checked out on 14th April and settled our account with the credit card and cash..... 18 days later and we have still not been refunded our pre authorisation money of £450 despite a number of emails, phone calls, promises from staff and trips to our bank. BE VERY CAREFUL

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaBinScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments in regards your recent stay with us .

In regards pre authorisation , this is a normal baking procedure . The Hotel held the amount as a guarantee on check in at reception , this you will be aware of as you have to enter your personal pin number . In order to release the amount of money business's have to contact merchant services and they do this , we have no control over how long it takes the credit card company to do this .

I fully understand that this can be an inconvenience to guests . However it is the credit card company that reverses the procedure not the business . There will always be a delay in regards the number of days that it takes to do this , in regards 18 days this appears to be excessive .

I do fully understand your frustration but I would like to assure you that it is not our procedure , we must adhere to the credit card companies as this is a safety measure for credit card transactions.

We hope the rest of your stay was a good experience and you may return again in the future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    533
    233
    97
    55
See reviews for
305
523
32
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limavady, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for about the fifteenth time and don't think it can be beaten for all round excellence.
Food superb, best beef and Guinness pie and salmon we ever tasted in Matt Ryan bar.
Child friendly hotel but suitable for all ages

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny. all rooms excellent in older or newer parts of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Wow what a lovely review - thank you so much for taking the time to write about your great experience with us. We are proud of the fact the hotel seems to have such a fantastic broad appeal. it is one of our greatest strengths. Looking forward to welcoming you back for many more equally enjoyable stays in the near future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Malahide. The location is perfect and the rooms are huge with great big beds and friendly helpful staff in the hotel and pool. So overall a good experience.
Until I went down for breakfast. I was charged full price for breakfast for a 3 year old and a 5 year old who had cereal. The hot breakfast was good and they had a wide selection of bread and pastries but the fresh meat, cheese and fruit available was of poor quality.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to see you had an overall enjoyable stay a the hotel and our staff and facilities met your expectations. It is disappointing to read that you were less than impressed with your experience in the restaurant. This is most unusual and certainly something we will investigate. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope you find the opportunity to return to visit with us again in the future.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had a lovley stay over easter - staff were excellent, facilities great and food & wine as good as you will get anywhere - our first time staying here and will definately be back! Location is brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience in Malahide. We are delighted to see you have had a wonderful time throughout your stay with us. It is reviews like yours that make us very proud to have had the opportunity to look after you.

Warmest Regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights at The Grand with our seven year old daughter on the Tuesday and Wednesday of Easter week. The location of the hotel is perfect - for enjoying the stunning views, strolling into Malahide to dine at the many great little restaurants, walking along the beautiful coast, playing on the beach or travelling into Dublin on the Dart (the station is nearby). As soon as we saw the exterior of the hotel we knew that it was going to be special and when we walked into the lobby/reception area our expectations were met. Our room was ready on arrival - we arrived just before midday. The room was spacious, clean and well furnished. The room was equipped with everything we needed - comfortable double and single bed, good bathroom, plenty of towels (we requested one more and it was sent to us promptly), full length mirror (always important!), hair dryer that can be used easily in front of a dressing table and mirror (very important!!), ironing board and iron, plenty of plug sockets, tea/coffee facilities and TV. The leisure complex is located in a separate building just beside the hotel and easy to access through the hotel. We enjoyed 2 family swim times there - swim hats must be worn ( also on sale at 3 euro), towels are provided at the pool, children exit the pool at 7pm. There is also a bubble pool for the children to enjoy as well as a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room for the adults. We didn't make use of the gym facilities. Breakfast was made even more enjoyable because of the stunning views - we were lucky to get a window seat both mornings but the views are enjoyed wherever you sit! Breakfast is self service - cereals, juice, fruit, range of breads and pastries, yogurts. A delicious cooked breakfast is also available to choose from. We enjoyed an evening drink one night in Ryan's Bar within the hotel - good atmosphere, plenty of seats and TVs. We also had a snack in Ryan's after playing on the beach (just wanted tea and sandwiches - which were delicious) and relaxed on the many little cosy and comfortable seating areas within the hotel. Free WiFi or extended amount of free WiFi access than the current 30 mins would have been good. Would we come back? Definitely. Would we recommend? Definitely. Thank you so much for a very enjoyable family Easter break. We loved it!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank thelittleredrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure to read such a wonderful review form a very happy guest.
It seems the hotel has indeed fulfilled your expectation of a fun and relaxing family break.
Thank you for detailing your experience with such great enthusiasm.
We hope you get your wish and we will see you back in the hotel very soon.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very nice big hotel which provided nice food and staff.
It has close proximity to the DART which allows easy access to the center of Dublin.

This is a first class hotel which is well staffed.

Our room was excellent and I had no complaints whatever.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest
A huge thank you to you for such a lovely honest review.
It pleases us very much when guests leave having had a wonderful experience throughout their stay. We hope to see you back again very soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallusk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

First stay in Grand and loved it. There were two of us but we were given room with double and single bed. Bathroom was one of the cleanest I've come across, shower was powerful and water really hot. Breakfast was great plenty of everything we wanted. Hotel was very busy so an overflow restaurant was opened on both mornings we were there which helped with quick service. We didn't use the leisure facilities but did go and see the swimming pool which looked great. Lovely atmosphere in the hotel, and friendly staff. Free wifi all day would have been good, you only get 30 mins free each day. All in all lovely stay and would go back. Malahide lovely location.

Room Tip: Rooms 262 and 263 are fine. Room 150 is larger but not a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalluskAnnabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our accommodation team pride them selves in their award winning service having recently won gold for the 7th year running in the Irish accommodation service industry awards. Your comments regarding the wifi are noted and we will consider your suggestion in the future. Please do take the time to visit with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing