We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but hotel dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent location but hotel dated”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is the only hotel in Malahide village so location wise it's excellent. However, the rooms were very dated and drab. The staff were a bit stiff not as friendly as other hotels I have stayed in, although that seems unfair, they did help when asked but didn't get the feeling that they were happy in their jobs. The breakfast wasn't very good, hot food was served from the hot plate with only one chef plating up which lead to a long wait. I would stay here again for the location but have now found a hotel a mile or two up the road which is half the price and of higher quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeves2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    555
    240
    99
    58
See reviews for
317
538
34
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this hotel a couple of months before our trip. It was to be our last evening in Ireland - we wished we had known how lovely the hotel would be as we would have stayed there longer. The rooms were quite large which was a big plus since we had to repack for our flight the next morning. We had dinner in the bar-area and the food was delicious. Breakfast the next morning was also quite good. Our last night in Ireland did not disappoint us - everything was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted you had such a nice finale to your trip in Ireland. Thank you for your very kind review. It is always good to hear our guests experience in the hotel and indeed Malahide.

We hope you have the good fortune to return to Malahide at some stage in the future for a longer visit.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waringstown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was probably our 4/5th break at the Grand and once again we had no real complaints except for the view from our room. We had booked an Executive Room but on arrival we had the most marvellous view of the hotel's air conditioning system - not a sea wave in sight.

However the level of service in the reception, dining room and bar areas was first class and in fact we had two evening meals during our weekend break.

There is plenty of car parking and the location is very central to the beautiful village of Malahide.
Despite the room problem we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Make you arrive early to avoid our problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coarmaghayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear your stay overall was enjoyable but sorry your view was not what you anticipated. Over 60% of our rooms enjoy sea views but unfortunately we were unable to offer you a room with a view on this occasion.
Please do request again on your return and we will do our very best to accommodate you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Malahide very soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Grand is very dated now. We stay often due to personal circumstances and have only once had a good room.
We paid for an executive room and was told on checking in the room "overlooks the car park" - this is not normally a selling point and certainly I was put off before we had even entered the room!
Room large but bed very hard.
Breakfast - the hot server "threw" the food on plate - no care taken at all - very apathetic.

On my final breakfast I was alone and was sat at a table looking at the wall - I moved but was made to feel very uncomfortable at dining alone! There were only 6 other diners so not exactly busy! Plenty of empty tables, and the 6 other diners were still the only people in the restaurant on my departure.

The grand really needs to up its game.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Grand hotel was just ok. The rooms are exceptionally dated. It was an old style tube TV in the room, the furniture looked very late 80s. Not only was the TV an old tube style TV it was only a portable 16 inch screen. In this modern age to not have free wifi is unacceptable. This hotel only gives 30 minutes free, then charges.

The room was quite small and the layout of the corridors, while a little quaint, was very odd. An update of the hotel is really beyond due.

That said the bed was very comfortable and given how small the room seemed, the bathroom was quite spacious.

Apart from the room, breakfast was acceptable and the hotel was quiet and I was able to get a decent sleep.

The only really bad mark was check in. We were part of a large party and we had arrived first. We checked in, being 11am we didn't expect our room to be ready and it wasn't. The man on reception stated that the people had checked out and the room would be ready soon, but not yet. I asked were any rooms available and we were told they weren't. Fair enough it was 11 am on a Saturday morning. However, the rest of our group started arriving and every single one of them were given a room within ten minutes of us being told no rooms were available! As we waited beside reception not only did the whole of our party get their rooms but every single party that checked in were given a key! When I asked the man on reception why did we not get one of the rooms clearly available, he was very abrupt and very rude stating "people in your party were lucky to get a room as check in is 3 pm" I protested and he simply stuck up his hand and said "I'm serving other customers"

It's fair enough that the room wasn't ready, but don't lie that no rooms are available! Then when confronted don't be rude about it, just simply say sorry and that you got it wrong!

The check in aside, the staff seemed friendly enough. I would have given four stars but for the rudeness on check in and the dated nature of the rooms. It's a great location and a very lovely suburb of Dublin

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay with us.

In regards our refurbishment, we are in the process of upgrading our bedrooms and will continue to do so.

Our reception team try as best as possible to facilitate all our guests , on this occasion it would appear that you were not looked after in the order that your should have been and this we will address with our managers to ensure this experience is not repeated with other guests.

I hope that you will return in the future and I assure you that if you contact us directly we will ensure you have a more enjoyable stay

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbridge
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The location of the grand right on the seafront at malahide is superb and everything about the hotel is pure class
The food is really special and the staff friendly and helpful
There is plenty of parking in the hotel carparks and if you don't want to drive in to the city, the dart station is just a leisurely 5 minute stroll away

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bannmangolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted see you had such a great experience with us on your recent visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have stayed at the Grand on a few occasions and always had an enjoyable stay
Stayed for two nights and again the hotel didn't disappoint. I had a superior room which was large, well maintained and very clean, the room had a lovely view over the sea. The bed was super comfortable. The staff were always friendly and professional. The hotel's leisure centre was again well maintained and a joy to use.

Breakfast at the hotel was a buffet which had a decent choice of cold and cooked foods and was not crowded. Dinner at the hotel on one night was very tasty and well presented.

A couple of negatives, for breakfast delivery to your room in the morning was E6 per person, most Irish hotels I have stayed in charge E5 per tray, so I think this charging is excessive. Also the wifi is free for one half hour and then is chargeable, again in many hotels now wifi is complementary, lastly the seat cushions in the restaurant are badly stained and quite grotty and I changed a seat on two occasions because of this. Not very nice when going to eat.

But on balance these matters did not distract from an enjoyable stay.

Tip, for travel into Dublin, take the Dart train into the city, but check the times as there can be hour or so between services.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smartknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to see you had an enjoyable stay with us.
It gives us great pleasure to see our guests return time and time again.
We have taken on board your feedback and view it constructively. We constantly strive to improve our product and services. Refurbishments happen throughout the hotel on an ongoing basis and we are committed to offering a value added service to all our guests. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to look after you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
353 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
81 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
3.0 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing