We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Golfing Hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

this hotel is situated in the centre of charming Malahide with its excellent restaurants,lively bars and great shopping. The staffare friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean comfortable bed and good bathroom. Breakfast is buffet style and is excellent.Bars are large with good service. For golfers the hotel is well located.Ireland's number one club Portmarnock is a short drive away and Portmarnock links,The Island,Royal Dublin, Donabate etc are all within a sort driving distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rory80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    556
    242
    99
    58
See reviews for
317
541
34
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the Grand for a business trip. Great location, near the center of Malahide and walking distance to just about everrything. The hotel is historic and the management work hared to keep it current and functioning. Carpets are a bit worn in the hallways but the rooms are clean with modern electronics. The wifi is weak, however. The Coast resturant serves a wonder full Irish breakfast. There are several sitting rooms off the lobby where you can order a bite to eat or just sit and read in quiet. The woodwork on the ground floor is beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Executive Wing face the estuary (and the road) however, the noise is minimal and the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county down
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just returned from this hotel to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We booked an executive room, and as requested were given room 203, which had a fabulous view of the bay, although the room itself, was of a similar standard to a standard room in other hotels.


Breakfast was excellent and the evening meal good. The restaurant manager deserves a special welcome as he was very welcoming, and pleasant. I was extremely surprised to find that only 30 minutes free wifi was available throughout the entire 2 night stay - yet free wifi is available on the Dart to Dublin and in the various bars and restaurants in the town, so feel this is definitely something that management need to take a look at. My husband and I have visited many hotels, many of them to celebrate special birthdays or anniversaries, and this is the first hotel that, despite being aware that it was a special occasion, didn't acknowledge this fact at all.

The hotel is in a great location, with lots of lovely bars and restaurants in Malahide- I especially recommend McGoverns for food. Just fabulous. The Dart into Dublin is only a few minutes walk from the hotel, and Malahide Castle only a short walk as well.

We do hope to return to this hotel in the future, although I'm not sure if I would pay the extra for an executive room next time. For a hotel close to Dublin, with plenty of amenities on its doorstep and fabulous views, this can't be beaten,

Room Tip: Room 203 has an excellent view of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie97au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Had a fleeting stay at the hotel which was very enjoyable.

Paul checked my family in and was very friendly and courteous but he could speak louder my mother in law couldn't hear him at all; he was very softly spoken.

We grabbed a drink in the busy bar before heading out for the day.

Upon our return we collected our keys and our room was warm, clean and very comfortable but the view was of the enclosed walkway we used to reach our room but no matter it didn't affect our stay.

Breakfast the next morning was very good situated with a lovely view of the bay. The food was delicious and the coffee first class even though the breakfast service was in full swing.

We literally only were in the hotel for a short time however all the staff were very friendly so no doubt we will stay again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is the only hotel in Malahide village so location wise it's excellent. However, the rooms were very dated and drab. The staff were a bit stiff not as friendly as other hotels I have stayed in, although that seems unfair, they did help when asked but didn't get the feeling that they were happy in their jobs. The breakfast wasn't very good, hot food was served from the hot plate with only one chef plating up which lead to a long wait. I would stay here again for the location but have now found a hotel a mile or two up the road which is half the price and of higher quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeves2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this hotel a couple of months before our trip. It was to be our last evening in Ireland - we wished we had known how lovely the hotel would be as we would have stayed there longer. The rooms were quite large which was a big plus since we had to repack for our flight the next morning. We had dinner in the bar-area and the food was delicious. Breakfast the next morning was also quite good. Our last night in Ireland did not disappoint us - everything was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted you had such a nice finale to your trip in Ireland. Thank you for your very kind review. It is always good to hear our guests experience in the hotel and indeed Malahide.

We hope you have the good fortune to return to Malahide at some stage in the future for a longer visit.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waringstown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was probably our 4/5th break at the Grand and once again we had no real complaints except for the view from our room. We had booked an Executive Room but on arrival we had the most marvellous view of the hotel's air conditioning system - not a sea wave in sight.

However the level of service in the reception, dining room and bar areas was first class and in fact we had two evening meals during our weekend break.

There is plenty of car parking and the location is very central to the beautiful village of Malahide.
Despite the room problem we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Make you arrive early to avoid our problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coarmaghayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear your stay overall was enjoyable but sorry your view was not what you anticipated. Over 60% of our rooms enjoy sea views but unfortunately we were unable to offer you a room with a view on this occasion.
Please do request again on your return and we will do our very best to accommodate you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Malahide very soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
354 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
81 reviews
3.0 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
246 reviews
4.5 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing