We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was lovely rooms were very spacious friendly staff only thing was after 30 minutes free wifi they want you to pay 3 euros for every hour which most hotels usually offer free wifi , you think with wot you are paying for your accomdation it would have been free.

Room Tip: we had a disabled room as my husbands in a wheelchair it was a massive big room nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joetoddBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in the Grand Hotel Malahide in Dublin for 3 nights 23rd,24th & 25th May 2014
We had an executive room with sea views as we were late booking & only executive rooms were
available.The room was very spacious and airy and clean.room was very well decorated & the
double bed was very comfortable.The ensuite bathroom was excellent.The heating in the room
was reasonably low which suited us particularly.
We ate in the Coast resturant on the first night & found the menu excellent & very well priced
for Dublin area.The local resturants in the village area were generally the same price range
as the hotel..Breakfasts in the hotel were fantastic !! Great range of cereals and fruit & breads and full Irish breakfast as well..
The Arena leisure centre was free to guests and was very well equipped and well maintained.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly,which made our stay very enjoyable.
All in all I would rate the Grand Hotel as one of the best in Ireland..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephGoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, we have just got back from staying at The grand 23rd May for 2 nights bed and breakfast and evening meal, i would highly recommend staying at The Grand Hotel. It is a stunning hotel with beautiful views, staff were amazing and very helpful, rooms were very clean and modern and the evening meal in the coast restaurant was stunning, We are definitly going to return to the grand. Roll on next year. cant wait. Louise and Keith Rm268

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Once again have had a brilliant experience at this hotel.We stayed for 5 nights and had an executive room with gorgeous views of the estuary.Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was excellent

Room Tip: room 403 always good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

this hotel is situated in the centre of charming Malahide with its excellent restaurants,lively bars and great shopping. The staffare friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean comfortable bed and good bathroom. Breakfast is buffet style and is excellent.Bars are large with good service. For golfers the hotel is well located.Ireland's number one club Portmarnock is a short drive away and Portmarnock links,The Island,Royal Dublin, Donabate etc are all within a sort driving distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rory80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the Grand for a business trip. Great location, near the center of Malahide and walking distance to just about everrything. The hotel is historic and the management work hared to keep it current and functioning. Carpets are a bit worn in the hallways but the rooms are clean with modern electronics. The wifi is weak, however. The Coast resturant serves a wonder full Irish breakfast. There are several sitting rooms off the lobby where you can order a bite to eat or just sit and read in quiet. The woodwork on the ground floor is beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Executive Wing face the estuary (and the road) however, the noise is minimal and the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just returned from this hotel to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We booked an executive room, and as requested were given room 203, which had a fabulous view of the bay, although the room itself, was of a similar standard to a standard room in other hotels.


Breakfast was excellent and the evening meal good. The restaurant manager deserves a special welcome as he was very welcoming, and pleasant. I was extremely surprised to find that only 30 minutes free wifi was available throughout the entire 2 night stay - yet free wifi is available on the Dart to Dublin and in the various bars and restaurants in the town, so feel this is definitely something that management need to take a look at. My husband and I have visited many hotels, many of them to celebrate special birthdays or anniversaries, and this is the first hotel that, despite being aware that it was a special occasion, didn't acknowledge this fact at all.

The hotel is in a great location, with lots of lovely bars and restaurants in Malahide- I especially recommend McGoverns for food. Just fabulous. The Dart into Dublin is only a few minutes walk from the hotel, and Malahide Castle only a short walk as well.

We do hope to return to this hotel in the future, although I'm not sure if I would pay the extra for an executive room next time. For a hotel close to Dublin, with plenty of amenities on its doorstep and fabulous views, this can't be beaten,

Room Tip: Room 203 has an excellent view of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie97au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
368 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
94 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range: £88 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing