We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dublin Airport stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Georgetown
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Dublin Airport stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just had a two night stay at this hotel and I was impressed. Our package included breakfast both days and dinner one evening. Room was a recent new addition to the hotel and it was well appointed with an unusually large bathroom for this class of hotel. Breakfasts were reasonable as was the dinner, but the method of adding supplements to the menu prices was a bit confusing. The most annoying issue was the cost of WiFi for guests. Not many hotels I've stayed in recently charge for WiFi. The hotel does offer guests 30 minutes of free WiFi but that is pretty much useless on a two night stay.
I would use this hotel again (the hotel is 20 mins from Dublin Airport) but travelers beware of the added prices on the dinner menu especially if one purchases the dinner package and the cost of WiFi which honestly is frustrating.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the second floor with numbers in the 250's. This block apparently are the newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    528
    231
    97
    52
See reviews for
303
519
32
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

First of all I choose the hotel for the location and for that it was perfect. Room was ok but expected to pay for wifi. The breakfast room looks as if it hadn't been decorated since the 70's. Would I go back. NO

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vjmcdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Recently on a 15 day bus tour in Ireland and this was the hotel for the start of the tour.
We were there for 2 nights paid for by us and one by the tour. My first surprise was how far out we were from Dublin - 11 miles I believe we were told. The taxi driver took advantage and it cost us 30 euros - found out it should have only cost 22!
Nice location - beautiful ocean side walkway steps from the back door. It wanders down to the village of Malahide. The hotel has several options for dining - only one was a great deal and that was The Carvery, That room should be open for more than few hours a day - food was phenomenal and reasonably priced - probably the most reasonable of all places we stayed!
The buffet breakfast was good and all seats in the dining room offer a great view!

Our room was off a small corridor so it was very quiet. We did go down with our tour voucher on day three and were told we would need to move - which is silly for one night. The front desk clerk was very kind and did manage to shuffle things so we could stay where we were.

We were going to attempt to head in to Dublin to see some sights not on our tour but in the end we decided to go see Malahide Castle and Gardens.
Stunning gardens and the castle and tour were ok - but the most fun we had all day was riding the little train called Toots around town. Michael was a hoot and he made several interesting stops - nice day for sure!

Room Tip: Sea view would be awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights to take part in a family wedding being held in the hotel .cannot fault anything relating to the wedding everything was perfect .my only complaint would be the WiFi only 30 mins free in 24 hours.I would have expected in a hotel of this size to give more free wiifi..we were also charged 2 Euros for a swimming cap which is compulsory . It lacked facility for children could have had a board games area.

Room Tip: All rooms are very clean ,we were in room 168 on the first floor,it faced onto the car park but was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vodkabluue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Dear Grand, I have stayed with you loads of times and you you will always be my first choice when going to Dublin, but I really think you should consider some TLC for the rooms by now. Charging for W-LAN these days is out-of-touch. Also the food in the bar is not as good as it used to be. But that said you make me feel like coming home every time I stay.

Room Tip: You could end up in a massive two double-bed or in a broom-room size one with views to a wall. Be cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiamP5195WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent stay the staff were extremely friendly and experienced the lady cecelia I think her name was, was extremely helpful and polite we were extremely happy going up to our room with her help, however I did go down to reception when the night receptionist was on and I wasn't sure of his name but I asked was the rooms smoking rooms by any chance to save me the walk down to the front door and he said 'all the rooms in the hotel are none smoking rooms" and if there is a smell of smoke in your room in the morning there will be a 75 euro charge.. As a guest asking a question I felt like your hotel will be checking up on us in the morning.. I didn't ask the hotel clerk was there a charge and I very annoyed about the situation I was put in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishpaul90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we were flying in for a railtour and Dublin Hotels were fully booked due to a concert. The Grand Hotel was a short distance from the airport and a beautiful hotel right on the coast. You can walk on the beach or walk to the town of Malehide which is quaint with many good restaurants and pubs; After the long flight over this was a relaxing choice before we started our railtour to Galway. We took advantage of the pool and spa during our stay which was wonderful. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYvirg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing