We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and Great views for good prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and Great views for good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I came to this hotel for lunch one day and I thought it was great. At first I thought it was expensive as you had to go up and order like a buffet. I thought that was quite weird but the food was great with great food and alot of room for the kids to run around.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    528
    231
    97
    52
See reviews for
303
519
32
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We booked for one night after dropping our grandson off at the airport. It was a lovely hotel, lovely room but no free internet access and I paid for 3 hours access used it for 10 minutes the went to sleep, next morning, no access, you pay for 3 hours consecutively! When we went to breakfast we were put in a huge dining room which seemed to be the 'family' dining room, full of noisy children running around all over the place, really ruined what had been a lovely relaxing break in nice surroundings!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Antrim
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our family had booked a two night stay as a present for our 49th Wedding Anniversary. One of our daughters had tipped off the hotel and to our surprise and delight we were upgraded to a lovely room in the Executive Wing. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and other staff were pleasant and greeted one in the corridors. Our room was very comfortable and we slept well. Being at the front of the hotel we had pleasant views of the estuary. The wifi in the room (half an hour free per day) was satisfactory and enabled us to Facetime our family. The limited free wifi did not detract in any way from our stay as one does not wish to spend excessive time on the internet during a leisure break. The breakfast was excellent and though the hotel appeared to be fully booked the breakfast service was smooth much to the credit of the staff. The Hotel is within ten minutes walking time from Malahide railway station from where there is a frequent service to Dublin. From Connolly Station Dublin we went by tram to Heuston Station from where we took the train to Kildare. There is a free shuttle bus service from Kildare Station to Kildare Village Shopping Outlet. Malahide dep 11.15, Dublin Heuston dep 12.15. The total journey time is approximately two hours .Malahide Castle is worth a visit. Do not stop at the Pay and Display Car Park just outside Malahide as the main entrance to the castle is at least a mile further on. We really enjoyed our short visit to Malahide and would highly recommend the Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: Front rooms have views of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traintraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Just home from a lovely 3 night family break in the Grand Hotel Malahide which we used as a base for a trip to the Dublin horse show & Dublin zoo.

We were greeted by friendly reception staff, checked into a family room over reception. They had a travel cot set up for our toddler. The room was clean & quiet, however did not have any air conditioning as it was quite warm so we had to keep the windows open all the time to try to cool down.

Breakfast was typical buffet but very good and waiting staff very friendly and heated warm milk every morning for our sons cereal.

We ate in the hotel bar on the first night, service was a little slow but the food was lovely. We didn't get a chance to use the pool or spa facilities as the weather was so good and didn't get back till late each night.

There is wifi but only first 30 minutes free after that you have it pay ?? Maybe they should review this policy for paying guests.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the dart rail station and there is a lovely village & Malahide Castle & playground minutes away. There is ample free parking at the hotel.

Will definitely return again some time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lisak1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in the grand for three nights with a 12year old,the room was very stuffy and smelt of smoke as we opened the door even though they are supposed to be none smoking rooms. The grand is a very boring hotel with absolutely no life about it,no entertainment not even backround music in the bar, the atmosphere is awful, we sat in the bar for a drink after being out for a meal it seemed the manager was walking around keeping an eye and had seen my 12yr old a few times but took him until after 10 o'clock after we had purchased another drink to tell us that kids were not allowed in after 10 but why wait when he had already seen her and let us pay for more drinks! Completely unimpressed! The leisure side of the hotel was very good although again when my daughter went to get in the jacuzzi a member of staff pointed out in front of everyone that she wasn't old enough,this was very embarrassing for her, oy definitely could have been said in a more subtle manner. Breakfast was quite nice but the variety was poor also when we went up for some more food we returned to finf our table had been completely cleared and our belongings gone!In general we did not like the hotel, boring and lifeless rude staff, and very bad customer service!! Not grand at all!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

A great choice for a mini break in beautiful Malahide, this hotel is something of an institution and is clearly well loved and rightly so. It attracts wide ranging clientele, equally suited to younger as well as more mature guests. Our room was large, clean and well appointed, with a beautiful sea view which we had asked for but didn't think we'd get. Great night's sleep followed by a good breakfast in the lovely restaurant as well as a brilliant leisure centre made for a fantastic break. Staff were lovely too. Happy to return anytime!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Coz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely 3-night stay in this 'Grand' hotel ... made all the more special having a room with a view out over the sea. First time there and will hopefully be back sometime. Food was excellent ... plenty to choose from for breakfast and had a meal in Matt Ryan's bar which was lovely. Room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Staff most helpful and pleasant ... nothing too much bother. Malahide itself is just a beautiful place to visit - lots of places to eat out, shops to browse and great for walking around the marina and beaches. Only a short distance by DART then into Dublin city centre which worked well and Portmarnock and Howth are only a short drive away ... also nice places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing