We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmospheric bar”

Gilbert & Wright Malahide
Ranked #8 of 12 things to do in Malahide
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gilbert & Wright has taken this vibrant town by storm. Attracting a broad mix of people, it has quickly established a name for its relaxed, informal yet intimate atmosphere with a '70s retro vibe. It's the place to be to enjoy a drink with friends or casual bistro-style food, with the iconic music of the Seventies in the background and surrounded by funky decor that includes comfy couches and shag pile carpets. Together, they make Gilbert & Wright experience a truly memorable one Opening Times Monday - Thursday from 1pm Friday from 1pm - 12.30am Saturday from 1pm - 12.30am Sunday from 12.30pm - 11pm
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
705 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Excellent atmospheric bar”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I visited this bar on a Thursday evening when staying in Malahide recently on business. It is a lovely bar. Lively, live music, great atmosphere, busy, excellent quick service at the bar and a very good selection of beers and drinks. Easily the best bar I have found in Malahide. Very enjoyable. Can't wait to return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Gilbert & Wright Malahide, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to review us, so glad you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed what we have to offer. We hope to see you gain very soon.

Kind regards
Gilbert & Wright Malahide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    7
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best bar in Malahide”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This has become a regular for me over the last couple of months. Great service, the only place I know anywhere that have floor staff. However one girl in particular stands out as far better than the others. She never misses an empty glass and always keep drinks coming! Great service to have. Bar way better since they changed the layout. Style is comfy and has a great mix of ages and dress. They have managed to have the bar with TVs for sport but not have a sports bar atmosphere. Great music in the evenings at week ends, DJ knows his custom. Can say enough positive things, worth a visit . . . . . .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Newfy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Gilbert & Wright Malahide, responded to this review, 17 November 2015
Thanks you for taking the time to review us, so glad you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed what we have to offer. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenpoint
Level Contributor
416 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Great craic and atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Went in to this bar on a Friday evening. It was very busy. We stayed for a few drinks, the craic was brilliant and there was a good atmosphere. The music was really good and we enjoyed ourselves.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great decor and ambience”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The locals call this place 'Cougartown' but we saw little evidence of that. The 70 's decor is great and the whole place feels good, service is excellent but unfortunately the Guinness I was drinking tasted as if it were a similar vintage to the decor. There was a very good selection of premium lagers such as Peroni and Blue Moon but avoid the Guinness if you go there which is not a good endorsement for any Irish pub.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mattlanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilbert & Wright Malahide also viewed

Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Gilbert & Wright Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing