We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal”

Coast Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #25 of 53 Restaurants in Malahide
Cuisines: Irish, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newtownards
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a meal in Coast as part of my hotel package,excellent meal enjoyed by my wife and I. Starters of Chicken liver pate followed by Rib eye steak and a Hake fish dish,Chocolate brownie and a fresh fruit salad in a chocolate cup for dessert and really enjoyed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ards63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Regan Christening- Service and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I held my daughter's Christening at the Grand Hotel on the 16 of November

All the way from the organization of the event to the service on the day was exceptional,

The Grand Hotel offers so many different function rooms and a vast variety of menu's,

during your planning one of the Grand Hotels managing staff sit down and go through everything down to the smallest detail ,catering for all parties that might attend,

In my personal opinion for the quality of the service that my guest and ourselves received the price they gave us was to little.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we received hospitality far beyond what I had expected

On arrival the room was well presented
we arranged for balloons and cup cakes to be set up , the staff looked after every request we had and was more than accommodating.

Tea and coffee waiting on arrival, just what was needed on a cold November day

,food came in served by polite staff at the perfect time, all foods very well presented , portions were very generous,

Even when our function had ended we went into the Matt Ryan Bar relax after all our guest had left, and we were shown the same hospitality as before managers stopping to ask how are day was going and if we needed anything else.

A Huge Thanks to the Grand Hotel and it's exceptional staff

Our day wouldn't of been the same without you,

The Regan Family.










  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
327 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Poor service and incorrect pricing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a family Sunday lunch in the hotel restaurant and the best you can say for this place is that the views are lovely. A most strange menu that doesn't offer any starters which we just failed to understand. The choices of various roasts was ok but then you have to go to the carvery area to be served. Perhaps you are made aware of this at the time of making a reservation but as this was done by someone else I can't comment. Although I found the food to be very poor and the dining room devoid of any atmosphere my real gripe is that our bill quoted wine at a higher price than shown on the wine list. When we drew this to the attention of our waiter he told us that this was actually correct as the price of wine had increased but there hadn't been time to change the wine list to reflect the new price. Unacceptable in our view to attempt to charge a different price, we asked to see the restaurant manager. The waiter returned to tell us that the bill was correct but seeing as we were complaining they would deduct the amount in question (€2 per bottle) at the cash desk! I should think so too! If I had attempted to underpay the amount on my bill I suspect there might have been a different view taken. And when we went to the cash desk to settle our bill and once again had to explain the situation we found ourselves being told that the bill was correct as the prices had just changed but they hadn't had time to amend the wine list. By now we were starting to get extremely irritated not by the amount of money involved but by the incredibly poor customer service attitude that appeared to be from the top down. Even if we had enjoyed great food we would not be returning as thankfully there are many other hotels and restaurants where they value their customers. That is where we will vote with our feet. Such a shame that a venue with a good location gets it so very wrong.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SerenidadDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Coast Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Coast Restaurant.
We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience on this occasion.
We are committed to continually maintain and monitor our service levels throughout the hotel and in fact we have just been awarded the Fingal Dublin - Customer service excellence award 2013 which is testimony to this. Your experience is isolated and we will investigate further to ensure there is no repeat of this activity at the Coast restaurant.

Thank you once again and if you get the chance, please do return to the hotel and permit us the opportunity to change your first impression.

Kind Regards
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best places to eat in malahide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I stayed over the weekend the 23rd to 25th aug at the grand hotel .we had the early bird on the sat night. The food was top notch we had pate and soup starters .rib eye steaks with pepper sauce and champ and veg .with lemon tarte and apple / pie / cream a glass of wine and a few pint all for 75 euros. The floor manager and his staff were more than helpful .the surroundings were fab and plenty of room .plus a nice bar to drink in afterwards.will diffo go back again .Cameron and Diane from N.Ireland

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plumboy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at The Grand Malahide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at The Grand for a few days last week as we have family in the area. The hotel and its staff are excellent. Beautifully appointed bedroom and en suite. Very efficient shower. Very hot water. Lovely fluffy towels. Comfy bed and pillows. The hotel is well situated being only a few minutes walk away from Malahide. Great views of the sea from the public areas, especially the dining room. All very grand indeed! We like it so much that we've booked to come back in September.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazyannieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Malahide also viewed

 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Coast Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing