We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Malahide

Coast Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #27 of 52 Restaurants in Malahide
Cuisines: Irish, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had 3 meals in this restaurant during our stay at the hotel, and found them all to be superb , The staff were excellent and very professional, a special mention to Aine and Rafeal who were more than helpful and friendly,.
The food was excellent and very good value for money, the carvery on Sunday afternoons well worth a visit, the views from the restaurant across the estuary are fantastic, the wine list is good without breaking the bank.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OSUWASHMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co Meath
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A big let-down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My sister had made a reservation for 7pm on the day of her daughter's first holy communion. We were seated at a lovely table, with a full view of the shore. All augured well; the communion girl had a special menu with her name on the top. However, our waiter was painfully slow; a mature man, he seemed to have difficulty hearing the orders. We opted for the Early Bird - two courses for €21. However, one of our party had a poor appetite, and felt she could only manage a small main course. We had huge difficulty trying to explain this to him. The order was eventually taken, and the starters arrived after about 10 minutes.
We waited. And waited. After 45 minutes, we called our waiter..he smiled and said "it's very busy; it will be here soon."
A full hour after the order was taken, main courses arrived. The two children were tired and bored; and there was a further delay for the communion girl..her cheeseburger was apparently "taking a long time". The food is nice, but nothing special. A member of our group had ordered steak, very well done. It arrived charred on the surface, and red raw inside. It was inedible. Attempts to catch the eye of the maitre'd - a lady - were in vain. The other dishes were ok; just. Horseradish mash was cold. We were not advised that vegetables had to be ordered separately from the main course, (at extra cost), and so our main courses arrived looking pretty bare. In the meantime, other family members had arrived at the hotel, thinking that dinner would be almost finished, and hoping to join us for coffees.

When the maitre'd finally arrived, she did offer to replace the steak dinner. However, at that stage, there was really no point in it. The steak dinner was taken off the final bill, as was the delayed cheeseburger. A terrible waste of time and money. It was our first visit to Coast; and it will certainly be the last. All the fine linen and gorgeous views did not make up for the terrible service and mediocre food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nannymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a lovely Day out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Recently renewed my love affair with the Grand Hotel in Malahide when i went down for midday lunch.
A beautiful meal in fab surroundings and great value. Service is excellent and eat in Ryan Bar rather than the eating area, just found it a nicer atmosphere.
I had the Turkey and all the trimming also desert and coffee served with a pot, not a cup, for both of us it cam to €37 which i felt was reasonable enough.
Staff could nt do enought for ue and its well staffed, which i like.
If your in Malahide give it a try, such a relaxing place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpainDunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Special atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We decided to celebrate St. Patrick's night by having dinner with a friend at the Coast. This was our second visit and it was even more enjoyable than the first. Apart from the unobtrusive service and the great food, it's hard to pin point what works here. The restaurant was busy enough, and we were having the early bird, but with just the right amount of time being left between courses, at no stage did we feel rushed. In the end, we were having such a nice time, we were the last to leave!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Light and airy. Just nice liked it very much. My colleagues who travelled from the UK, were very impressed

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Malahide also viewed

 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Coast Restaurant at the Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing