We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tired hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Island View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“tired hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were on our 6th night having toured all southern Ireland, We were cold and tired and called at the tourist info in Malahide, they found us this room - oh what a dissapointment. We were in room 5 and the thing that hit us first was the smell. The room smelt of old vomit and the bathroom stank of cigarettes. However we we tired and were going home next day so got changed and took the train into dublin. On a positive, the bed was very comfy and bedding clean. not much else to say , would not recommend and never go back, shame as Malahide is a lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welsh-she
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    20
    22
    10
    16
See reviews for
18
33
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here recently whilst visiting Malahide, to watch the England vs Ireland Cricket. It is in a beautiful location, the staff were very friendly. The room was basic but there was tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, a tv and a fridge. En suite facilities were a shower and toilet. There was plenty of toiletries and nice clean towels. The bed was huge and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and the meals were excellent. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Well located, 10 mins walk into the village.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Unfortunately we got 2 rooms beside each other on the corridor of rooms 8_11 . Family of 2 adults & 2 children an rd we couldn't get a family room for 4. Rooms very warm and as above air con unit and kitchens so very noisy.
No fridge yet dusty tea cups and kettle, thank goodness for staff in dining room to provide us with clean cups and milk.
Wouldn't stay again or recommend.

Room Tip: Pick rooms on left hand side of hotel when facing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malahide hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We got ourselves a deal for this hotel (bar with some rooms upstairs) back in July. We weren't expecting much as it was only about £25 per head. We didn't have much contact with staff other than a quick hello/goodbye & the key being handed over but they were pleasant.

The bedroom was basic and could do with a bit of a refurb. There was a jug of milk in the fridge for us which we appreciated as we'd had a long drive down from Northern Ireland. The shower worked but went between hot and cold a lot. The bed was comfortable and clean, although we did find a dead insect in the bed which freaked me out a bit.

It's in a good location, probably less than a ten minute stroll from the town itself and just across the road from what seems to be the main beach carpark. The hotel has its own car parking which seems to be first come, first served. We had to wait for about 20 minutes until a space became free upon arrival.

Overall, it was fine but we would try somewhere else next time.

TIP: Book on booking.com as the hotels website charges you a booking fee online!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank designlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Recently spent one night having stayed here many years ago. What a lovely surprise to see the same staff still working here. The greeting received was so welcoming....it was like coming home. Location is amazing - just a short stroll into the centre of Malahide. The bar area is so cozy and the staff really can't do enough to make you feel at home. Rooms are basic but clean, lovely crisp white bedding and plenty of towels and toiletries. We will definitely return soon. Special mention to Tony and Rose.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhr93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Really nice small hotel with a good view. My room was small, but enough for me. The bed was really comfortable and I slept like a baby. Really good breakfast also. All staff members were really nice. The hotel is well within walking distance from the Malahide center.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Tyrone
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Arrived early for the Lion King matinee theatre break in Dublin. Our room was readily available early with no fuss, it was very clean with no shortage of hot water and heat. The breakfast was one of the best yet - on a parr with the K Club even. The bar was warm and friendly with a great pint of Guinness. Location is great with the sea, beach and walks just across the road. It is a short pleasant stroll into town and the dart then into the city centre. This is not 5 star but I would thoroughly recommend it at the price. Great location for restaurants, golf and safe parking for shopping in the city. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hav1onme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
4.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Hotel

Property: Island View Hotel
Address: Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Island View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Island View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing