We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beechwood Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Hotel(Portmarnock)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
80
16
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
16
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhouse is beautifulyogurtvery nice place to staydublin airportdouble and single bedbed and breakfastirish musicstayed longerfull irish breakfaststay there againroom was spaciousirelandonsitecraichowthaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This B and B was to be our last before going home. Nights 10-11-12. Walked into a wonderful home, hosted/owned by JOE !! Joe made us feel at home immediately, and he was more of a "friend" than an owner. Made sure we had what we wanted, gave us great suggestions for Dublin and surrounding areas. We wanted to take the bus into town ( don't drive INTO Dublin) and we didn't have change. He gave us change to get into and out of town. Breakfasts were made to order, and the room was very large and comfortable. ( ask for (double) room #6 )
We ended up going to two locations that we would have missed if it wasn't for Joe and his suggestions.
The location: We picked the location because it was a) close to the airport - 10 minutes, and b) all of our b and b's were not IN any town, but out of town. Get a better value for your money.
The house is large, with a huge back yard/garden area. Room #6 had nice size bathroom, large room, hair dryer, tea/coffee in room, and individual room controlled heat.
We read a review which said only one hand towel, and a small bar of soap. That's what we got, and we asked for another, and received it...don't know what the other person's issue was.
Only rated # 3 in Malahide area..........hhhmmmm??? it was number one of all our stays in ALL of Ireland, and we used Trip Advisor to choose rooms for the entire trip.
DON'T PASS THIS UP..............and Joe, if you are reading this..........We love ya and miss ya
-harvey and sharon (Sept 23-24-25, 2011)

Room Tip: Room # 6 is a large room ( compared to a couple others that we saw there) , but all would be great.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harveysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Joe, the owner, was as nice and friendly an Irishman as your could meet. What a host! I asked him directions to the airport and he drove me in the car as he said it was easier that way...and it was! Just a perfect place...a luxury B&B in a great little town that is well worth the price. Breakfast was also a treat -- what a place! Would return in a heart-beat!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barkley1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Joe was the perfect host, so friendly and helpful. The home and grounds are beautiful and so close to an upscale area with shops and restaurants. We had a huge fruitbasket set up for us with yogurt and bisquits because we had to leave at 6am for the airport. He also has a nice breakfast menu. Made you feel so comfortable. I would love to stay there again. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank 01sashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My god-daughter and I were there in mid-Sept. We had driven all day and got to Malahide after dark. We had trouble seeing our landmarks, so Joe came and got us! He then put my god-daughter into his car and drove her to the airport so she could see how to get there in the morning! Joe was a blast to talk too and very kind. The house is stunning and the village looked fun. Because we were headed to the airport in the morning before breakfast, he left a tray with fruit and yogurt outside our room, so we would have something to eat before we left. Next time, I am staying for a couple of days to take advantage of the wonderful hospitality. Would highly recommend this B&B! Thanks, Joe!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmoyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I have had enjoyable stays at The Beechwood House on many occasions over the years. Joe O'Reilly is an amiable host , a former taxi driver , he can give you tips on seeing Dublin and the surrounds.The rooms vary in size but are well appointed,comfortable and quiet. A family can request the family suite over the garage,next to the garden for added privacy. Breakfasts are more than adequate.Malahide is an upscale town about 20-30 minutes by taxi from Nassau Street in Dublin. Bus or train service is also available to Dublin from Malahide towncenter.Malahide has many quality restaurants,pubs(Smyth's and Gibney's) if you want to avoid the bustle of Dublin.
The Beechwood House is convenient to many golf courses-Portmarnock,Portmarnock Hotel Links, The Island, Royal Dublin,St Anne's etc.
I was surprised to see a negative review by several New Yorkers, but on my 5-6 stays with golf buddies in groups of 3 to 14, I have only been treated very well.

Cash only policy was always clearly stated when booking was made. It is a nuisance especially with a large group but it was not a surprise

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docrugby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews