We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice for Close to Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beechwood Country House
Ranked #3 of 10 Malahide B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We actually spent a night at Beechwood Country House last November, but I wanted to share with everyone that (after one small glitch) we had a really good stay there and it's a good place for your last night in Ireland.
Beechwood is a beautiful, upscale home on the outskirts of the village of Malahide . Bedrooms were large and quiet, comfortable beds, clean & modern bathrooms. We found out that Beechwood is sometimes used by the Grand Hotel in Malahide (four star) to house their overflow guests which gives you an idea of the quality. At 95 pounds per night, it's cheaper than the Grand too, but cash only.

The "glitch" - I had booked with Joe quite early on and had not reconfirmed a few weeks before (always a good idea for any hotel or B&B, of course). I had also originally told him we wouldn't be there until at least 6 or 7 p.m. We actually got there earlier than planned - at 4:30 and no one was there and they didn't answer their phone. It also didn't help that Beechwood is on the edge of a very upscale housing development and didn't have the normal B&B sign. We were reassured by the photos from their web site that I had brought with me and went in to explore Malahide and check out other possible places to stay in case I had really goofed. When we returned at 6 p.m. though, Joe's son was pulling up to greet us (on schedule). Joe was out of town and his son took really good care of us including cooking a delicious breakfast!
We went back into Malahide for a good meal at Vinny Vannuchis - really nice atmosphere too on left going into Malahide on Church Rd. After a good night's sleep and delicious breakfast, we made it to the airport very quickly and easily.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VirginiaLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Beechwood Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2007

Large newer B&B just outside of Malahide town. We stayed for 2 days in room #3 on the second floor at the front of the house. It was a very large red room - one twin sized bed and one Queen sized bed, with a large wardrobe with a nice bathroom. There was a small tv in the room with RTE 1 & 2, BBC, etc. Tea making facilities in the room. There is plenty of parking infront of the B&B. They have a menu for you to select your breakfast from. The breakfast room is beautiful. Joe made us toasted Chedder melts which were so rich - just delicious! He also made some great scrambled eggs!

Joe is very chatty - had great suggestions about driving to Powerscourt and the history of the place. He also suggested getting the brown bread at the Avoca Weavers (just wonderful). He provided us with an alarm clock as we had to get up before breakfast to make our flight. It is a 10-15 minute ride to the Dublin Airport. I would definately stay here again.

Malahide is a great town - highly recommend the crab claws at Vinny Vanucchi's.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JRoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

Beachwood House is a lovely home just outside of Dublin in Malahide. Malahide is a peaceful town filled with overflowing flower boxes, a castle and shops. We took the bus into Dublin for the day and the ride was about 40 minutes. It was a relief to return to Beachwood House at night after all the traffic in Dublin. It felt like we were visiting family.
Joe and his wife were very kind and generous. The breakfasts were made to order. We really enjoyed our experience there! The accomodations were wonderful!

It took about 20 minutes to drive to the airport from Malahide.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank NorthCarolinaNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2006

Our 1-night stay at the very comfortable and convenient Beechwood Country house near Dublin was the perfect ending to a magnificent trip. We got a quiet night's rest less than 15 minutes from the Dublin airport, and were warmly welcomed by Joe O'Reilly.

Beechwood Country house is also only 20 minutes to Dublin city centre. It's on Blackwood Lane in Malahide, a cute little village in County Dublin. Malahide is fun and lively on a Sturday night.

Even though we arrived very late at 10:30 pm, Joe O'Reilly was wonderfully welcoming. He greeted us cheerfully despite the late hour and had a friendly chat with us. (We had called from the road to alert him we were running way behind.)

Beechwood is a lovely big house, beautifully decorated, built 6 years ago on the foundations of the original building.

My husband and I had room 3, a good sized room, attractive and clean, with a comfortable queen bed. Gorgeous hallways. From room 3 light traffic could be heard faintly, but it wasn't a problem. Even though I am a very light sleeper, I slept soundly with my earplugs which I wear every night on vacation. Nice shower in our ensuite bathroom.

Our daughters liked their twin room.

Amenities in room include: hair dryer, towels, 1 small face cloth, mini bar of soap.

Joe is friendly and good-natured, with an Irish sense of humor. He knows a lot about the area. We wanted to stay longer in this friendly house and enjoy country-style elegance.

Joe even bent the rules and let us have a hot breakfast even though we were leaving early for the airport. Normally, hot breakfast is available after 8:00 am and cold breakfast before 8:00. We paid 45 euro per person for the room in July (high season) and this includes breakfast.

On our next trip we will spend 3 nights at Beechwood house and take public transportation into Dublin city. I learned about Beechwood from Michele Erdvig, author of Best Little Guide To Ireland. She has a good web-site, IrelandYes. I was searching for a quiet and friendly place to stay near the Dublin airport, and Beechwood Country House was just right. It is an easy drive from Beechwood to the airport, and you don't have to tangle with Dublin traffic.

9  Thank Melissa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Joaquin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mario353535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Me parece que todas dan al campo y son tranquilas.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,593 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
86 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
5.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Country House

Address: Blackwood Lane, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Malahide
Price Range: £87 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, the O'Reilly Family, welcome you to Beechwood Country House, one of Dublin's most luxurious and most upmarket family country houses! Though of recent origin, this house has been lovingly designed as a replica of a typical 18th century Dublin City Georgian mansion.Complete with commodious hall, high ceilings and flooring of recycled church pine, Beechwood Country House follows the Georgian architectural and design pattern in all areas except the realm of soft furnishings that have been tastefully finished blending the traditional with the contempory.When you stay at Beechwood Country House, take a leisurely repose and capture the magnitude and unique ambience of the place. Take an imaginary journey back through time and visit the opulence and splendour of Georgian Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beechwood Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing