We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beechwood Country House
Ranked #3 of 10 Malahide B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Joe O'reilly's B&B in the quaint and charming town of Malahide. A beautiful home and garden situated in an upscale neighbourhood with a golf course next door. Breakfasts are basically made to order and they are delicious and substantial. Joe obviously loves people and is a delight with his stories and enthusiasm. Rooms are fine although our bathroom was a little tight. Joe recommended we leave the car at the B&B and take the bus into downtown Dublin...a wise recommendation as the roads are narrow and busy. His restaurant recommedations in Malahide were excellent. Don't forget a visit to Malahide Castle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arthur7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

I finished my 2-week vacation in Ireland with a 3-night stay at the gorgeous Georgian Beechwood Country House in Malahide. I chose it for its proximity to the airport, but it turned out to be an excellent choice for other reasons as well. The room was lovely and spacious, overlooking the garden in the back. Joe went out of his way to make sure I was comfortable and enjoyed my stay. He was so helpful with bus schedules and restaurant suggestions as well. A chance remark led him to pursue another path in my family history search that resulted in a totally unexpected and serendipitous meeting. The charming village of Malahide is situated on the coast of the Irish Sea and is a short 1-mile drive (or walk) from the B&B. The enchanting Malahide Castle is only minutes away. All in all, my stay at Beechwood Country House was the perfect ending to a wonderful vacation and completely exceeded my expectations. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melirish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Beechwood is located just south of the lovely little town of Malahide. It's a perfect location no matter which direction your trip will be taking. Just a short 20 minute drive from the airport and minutes from Malahide and its excellent restaurants. There's even Malahide Castle 10 minutes away. The rooms are spacious with a nice shower and wonderful bed and pillows. The owner, Joe O'Reily is a gregarious Irishman that is a treat to engage in conversation. He cooks a great breakfast to order to start your day out right. There's a bus stop a few hundred feet away if you want to take a bus into Dublin but be sure you get the correct bus on the return trip to avoid a long walk. Don't be afraid to drive your car into Dublin but you will want a GPS or you may be wandering the winding streets for a while. The National Museums are free and worth the trip into Dublin if you do nothing else. We've stayed with Joe 4 times now and we will ALWAYS require our trips to Ireland start and end at Beechwood.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dyoung8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had stayed in Beechwood in 2005 and revisited Ireland this June. The place has been kept extremely well and continues to run beautifully. Joe is an excellent host who takes GREAT care of his guests. He helped us with every tiny details, gave us tips, offered to drive us to the train station, received our lost luggage for us, offered us his laundry.... we really felt at home; last but not least, he made wonderful breakfast! Malahide is a beautiful village close to the airport and has some wonderful restaurants. Although possibly not the best choice for travelers without a car, this wonderful B&B is unquestionably my top choice for a visit in the Dublin area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dudegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My stay here was short, but wonderful. Joe, the owner, was incredibly helpful! I had car trouble before I arrived there and he gave me some good advice and made sure I had assistance on the way before going back to what he was doing. Later that day, when I was ready to go find something to eat, he offered me a ride to town, which was greatly appreciated! Offered to help me take care of my toll on the M-50 as well. The grounds are very pretty, gardens, etc out back. My room was super comfortable and very, very clean. Lots of hot water. Towels and toiletries were provided as well as bottled water in my room upon arrival. Minutes from the center of town, Dublin, the sea/beach, and the airport. Breakfast was delicious and nicely presented. Very, very nice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0813Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I greatly enjoyed my stay of three nights at this beautiful house. The host, Joe, was very friendly and helpful. I am especially greatful that he talked me into renting a car for my independent tour of Ireland. It made the trip much more enjoyable than taking the bus. He even drove us to the airport to rent the car! The home and grounds are very beautiful and he made us right at home. I enjoyed talking to him and the other guests. I don't think we could have possibly had a better start and end to our trip than to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband, sister, brother-in-law and myself traveled to Ireland for a family Christening. After researching hotels and B&B's in the Malahide area we decided upon Beechwood Country House and what a good decision that was. From beginning to end we were taken in and made to feel like family. Joe and his son Terry could not have been more accommodating. Joe allowed us to come in early the morning we arrived from the US and even offered us breakfast and tea before we went up for a nap. The house and grounds were gorgeous-so luxurious. Only wished we had gotten to see the thousands of rose buds bloom. It was just too early. Joe even gave us a ride into town one day when my husband and I didn't have the car. Our rooms were quite comfortable after Joe showed us how to use the heat. It was chilly to us but not to the Irish. I guess they're pretty used to the dampness. Just wished the fire had been blazing. After three nights we really felt like family and miss Joe & Terry.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was quite comfortable for my husband and myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 34sueb238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,610 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
88 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
5.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Country House

Address: Blackwood Lane, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Malahide
Price Range: £88 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, the O'Reilly Family, welcome you to Beechwood Country House, one of Dublin's most luxurious and most upmarket family country houses! Though of recent origin, this house has been lovingly designed as a replica of a typical 18th century Dublin City Georgian mansion.Complete with commodious hall, high ceilings and flooring of recycled church pine, Beechwood Country House follows the Georgian architectural and design pattern in all areas except the realm of soft furnishings that have been tastefully finished blending the traditional with the contempory.When you stay at Beechwood Country House, take a leisurely repose and capture the magnitude and unique ambience of the place. Take an imaginary journey back through time and visit the opulence and splendour of Georgian Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beechwood Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing