We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beechwood Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Hotel(Portmarnock)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
81
16
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
16
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshouse is beautifulyogurtvery nice place to staydublin airportdouble and single bedbed and breakfastirish musicstayed longerfull irish breakfaststay there againroom was spaciousirelandonsitecraichowthaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2010

When I see the previous few reviews, I'm surprised anyone would have much negative to say about the place. We found the owners to be very warm and friendly. The house is beautiful and the rooms neat and clean (we stayed on two different occasions in two different rooms). We were made to feel welcome (perhaps it was easier because we're non-smokers?) and the owners were willing and able to answer questions about services (bus, laundry, etc.) and to chat when they had time. The location was convenient to the airport and to the city by bus. It was a very pleasant and positive experience for us.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hgb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

The owners were rude and inhospitable.
- After insulting my boyfriend for being a smoker (already discussed this prior to booking, that he could go outside whenever he needed to have a quick cigarette) he asked me if I was with my boyfriend "for his money." (We're both Manhattanites in our early 30's- and both have fabulous careers.)
- The owner gave us a cold room with two small separate beds (We were the only guests and specified that we were a couple on a romantic getaway prior to travel).
- The owner frowned upon us asking for glasses for a bottle of champagne.
- The owner INSISTED on securing a cab to the airport the next morning with their "friend's company" over the hired car we had befriended over the day's touring.
- We had an early flight and asked for breakfast at 6am and HE LAUGHED and asked if we were kidding! I'm sorry--- but for $120US+ for a short night's stay we expected the breakfast that was advertised. How hard would it have been to make a little breakfast for your ONLY guests of the night?

They SAID they were in a superb location in Malahide village... but THE LOCATION IS $15-20 TAXI EACH WAY TO THE VILLAGE FOR DINNER! Beware!

It truly felt like we were being watched ... it was super creepy! It seriously ruined our preference for B&B for life.

Not for young couples, surely. Maybe if you're a senior citizen couple who just wants to talk to the owners about the 1930's and get to sleep by 8pm.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhoebeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Did not enjoy our stay here at all. Impressive house on first sight but unfortunately the B&B seems to be run to suit the owners - the guests' comfort is secondary. No nice touches in bedrooms - one titchy tiny piece of soap which was not replenished for the whole of our stay; one flannel and hand towel between two people; cheap sachets of body wash and no other pleasant touches (eg tissues, biscuits).
Breakfast was probably the worse in terms of choice we have ever had in a B&B: scrambled eggs (with bacon and tomato) or boiled egg - not much else on offer. Barely any choice of cereal or bread either. The entire breakfast had to be chosen the day before.
According to the B&B's website, there should have been a billiard room and lounge made available to guests. However, we were not invited to use either and the doors were firmly shut!
Other annoyances: credit cards not accepted - only cash - again, this was not mentioned on the website or at the time of booking, very inconvenient to discover this fact once we arrived. Very early checking out time: 10.30 am. However, on our last day, the maid very rudely barged into our room at 10.00 am - we were still packing and began stripping the beds (she did not even knock) - unbelievable!
On a positive note, the house is in a relatively nice position (20 minutes walk to centre of Malahide) and Malahide is a nice town. Joe was friendly (afraid we can't say the same for his wife). Overall, we found this establishment very poor value for money. Everything was done 'on the cheap' yet they charged good money for the privilege.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We actually spent a night at Beechwood Country House last November, but I wanted to share with everyone that (after one small glitch) we had a really good stay there and it's a good place for your last night in Ireland.
Beechwood is a beautiful, upscale home on the outskirts of the village of Malahide . Bedrooms were large and quiet, comfortable beds, clean & modern bathrooms. We found out that Beechwood is sometimes used by the Grand Hotel in Malahide (four star) to house their overflow guests which gives you an idea of the quality. At 95 pounds per night, it's cheaper than the Grand too, but cash only.

The "glitch" - I had booked with Joe quite early on and had not reconfirmed a few weeks before (always a good idea for any hotel or B&B, of course). I had also originally told him we wouldn't be there until at least 6 or 7 p.m. We actually got there earlier than planned - at 4:30 and no one was there and they didn't answer their phone. It also didn't help that Beechwood is on the edge of a very upscale housing development and didn't have the normal B&B sign. We were reassured by the photos from their web site that I had brought with me and went in to explore Malahide and check out other possible places to stay in case I had really goofed. When we returned at 6 p.m. though, Joe's son was pulling up to greet us (on schedule). Joe was out of town and his son took really good care of us including cooking a delicious breakfast!
We went back into Malahide for a good meal at Vinny Vannuchis - really nice atmosphere too on left going into Malahide on Church Rd. After a good night's sleep and delicious breakfast, we made it to the airport very quickly and easily.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VirginiaLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

Large newer B&B just outside of Malahide town. We stayed for 2 days in room #3 on the second floor at the front of the house. It was a very large red room - one twin sized bed and one Queen sized bed, with a large wardrobe with a nice bathroom. There was a small tv in the room with RTE 1 & 2, BBC, etc. Tea making facilities in the room. There is plenty of parking infront of the B&B. They have a menu for you to select your breakfast from. The breakfast room is beautiful. Joe made us toasted Chedder melts which were so rich - just delicious! He also made some great scrambled eggs!

Joe is very chatty - had great suggestions about driving to Powerscourt and the history of the place. He also suggested getting the brown bread at the Avoca Weavers (just wonderful). He provided us with an alarm clock as we had to get up before breakfast to make our flight. It is a 10-15 minute ride to the Dublin Airport. I would definately stay here again.

Malahide is a great town - highly recommend the crab claws at Vinny Vanucchi's.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JRoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews