We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best friendly farmhouse B&B with incredible breakfasts”
Review of Findus House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Findus House
Ranked #4 of 8 Macroom B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

An amazing Irish welcome at Findus house B&B run by Mary & Michael O'Sullivan for the last 35 years. The views are stunning of the Irish countryside but the breakfasts are phenomenal such variety & beautifully cooked. When you arrive you are welcomed with homemade scones & jam. A must to visit in west of Ireland

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie-smith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our group of cyclists and hikers were welcomed and charmed by our hosts Mary & Michael. We were greeted with coffee/tea and nice little scones which was much appreciated after our day of exercise. Michael even gave us a serenade! The breakfast was wonderful, and we also had our own personal dog, Bono, to accompany us down the hill to the local pub. Speaking of the local pub, Dermot the owner was hilarious and so accomodating of our group. The pizza, beer, and company was great and we wished that we could stay another night for the grand opening of his pub.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nursetommey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a wonderful, cozy guest house high above Macroom, offering beautiful vistas into the valley, clean and comfortable accommodation, and delicious breakfast menus at more than reasonable rates. Mary and Michael are some of the most sincerely welcoming hosts I have encountered on my travels, ever intent on ensuring the wellbeing of their guests - beginning with tea and scones upon arrival, detailed advice on attractions to visit, an entertaining evening with ballads and stories by Michael and not least that extra bowl of strawberries in the morning. An especially lovable member of the family is Bono, the amply vested Golden Retriever, who has occasionally been appropriately confused with a sheep. This, combined with its location in one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland with numerous points of interest close by, makes Findus House a treasure among the many accommodations in Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

You need to keep going to get to 'Findus' because this is a great B&B. It is in the countryside and is in both a serene and picturesque location. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with advice about the local area and also with genealogy. Although I was the only guest, I had fresh scones made for supper and also fresh bread to go with a traditional Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kgreenparrots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Findus House in Macroom was a delightful end to a long day of travel. Proprieters Mary and Michael O'Sullivan are the warmest of hosts welcoming us with tea and scones, providing advice about the area and offering a great breakfast. Michael even taught me some Irish phrases, the most important being céad míle fáilte (a hundred thousand welcomes) which is exactly how we felt. Rooms are not large but are very comfortable and gave us all we needed. Macroom is on the way between Cork and Kerry sights and was a great stopping place. Quiet, in the countryside, a perfect place to spend the night when touring that region in the south of Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the end of the hall. Great view over the meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PharmaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was my second stay after staying previously in May 2011. After such a wonderful stay then, we planned a 2nd trip for this year. It was a 2 week trip and we stayed 5 of those nights at Findus House and it was just as wonderful as we remembered. Michael and Mary are great hosts and Mary's baking is divine. An evening at Findus House isn't complete without Michael singing for you. I can't say enough wonderful things about Findus House and would highly recommend them to anyone. Michael and Mary are such special people and I feel so lucky that we were able to spend 5 of our 14 nights with them. Neither of us wanted to leave. Findus House is a magical place and I can't wait to visit again :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _iluv2travelineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is my 3rd time staying at Findus House. On my arrival I was greeted by Michael and Mary as a long lost relative. The rooms are older but clean and very adequate. The house has a nice lounge for guests with coffee and tea facilities. Michael is quite a singer and gave us a song and story. The breakfast is delicious and the scones are the "best in Ireland".. The house is off the beaten track but very well sign posted and not difficult to find. Macroom is a short drive from the house--and has several restaurants to dine. The house is situated for touring the area--Blarney, Lee Valley, Bantry, Killarney and others. For a real Irish experience don't miss Findus House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fennels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macroom hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverside Park Hotel
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
0.0 mi away
Cannaway House B&B
Cannaway House B&B
#1 of 8 in Macroom
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fountain House B&B
Fountain House B&B
#3 of 8 in Macroom
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coolcower House
Coolcower House
#6 of 8 in Macroom
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mills Inn
Mills Inn
#2 of 8 in Macroom
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Findus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Findus House

Address: Findus House Findus House Findus House Ballyvoige, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Macroom
Price Range: £61 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Findus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing