We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”
Review of Mills Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mills Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Macroom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bonnyrigg
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

On visiting in Ballyvourney this place was very busy and had a good reputation for the food.
On arrival it was extremely busy and we were eventually seated at the back in a dining room at the back. When seated the staff were very efficient at taking orders and getting us our food, however I had chosen the Pasta stuffed with riccotta & spinach with spanish vegetables as described on the menu! but when it came there were no vegetables, My husband asked about the vegetables as I would have expected peppers at least! The waitress then said "oh is there no olives in it? I said no and she then offered to bring some olives but this was not exactly what was on the menu so I refused.
The meal was okay but nothing special, a bit like your usual heat it up and serve. The staff were clearly busy and did not really have time to spend on the individual.
Such a shame as we expected better, perhaps we will try again they maybe just had an off day...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    47
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
73
70
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Got a great two night deal on the mills inn website. Two nights b&b one evening meal and a bottle of prosecco for €150.00 for two of us. Fantastic value, very welcoming and friendly staff. Food was fantastic, we were given a set menu but fancied the bar food instead and had no problem in changing to that. And as for the beer well what can I say I am a stalwart Guinness drinker but they converted me to Murphy's for the two nights! It is a good spin to Macroom truer to say it is in the heart of ballyvourney but you are not far from anywhere in Cork. Well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremiah_Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked in with a stag of 25 for dinner. The team at the Mills were very helpful in arranging a set menu which turned out to be great value on the day. The team were patient and flexible in terms of the changes in arrival time and numbers. The menu on the day was a selection of 3 mains(Cod/Pork/Beef), 3 desserts(Brownie, Cheesecake, Apple Pie) and tea/coffee. The waitress took the order quickly which was great as the group was hungry after completing an activity. When the food arrived there was a good portion and a decent serving of sides. Likewise the desserts were good sized portions. The turnaround in getting the food to table was impressive considering the bar was busy when we arrived.
I only heard positive feedback from the group and my experience matched that
I would recommend the Mills for a spontaneous stop on a journey or for a pre-arranged booking. I must comment the team for the service that they provided along with the very good food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

stayed in mills on 3rd march got a warm welcome on arrival .The bedroom was cosy warm and so comfy had the best night sleep breakfast was frestly cooked and plenty choise .As we had attended a party we were late for breakfast but that wasent a problem the girl said no hurray It was so relaxing cant wait to return .

Room Tip: ask for family room its fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelleher17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped in the mills yesterday travelling home from kenmare. The car park was busy, when we walked in the staff were very accommodating and arranged a table for us. Even though the bar and restaurant was busy the mills still kept up the usual very high standard, we didn't have to wait long and when our food arrived we could not fault it in any way. I also must highly recommend the shop next door, the brown bread is fab. Well done to all at the mills the service you deliver is a credit to you all

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N-kelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

On the 22 nd of February I held a children's party at the Mills for the group who had taken part in our annual Christmas pageant. What a wonderful night we had. When we arrived the manager was there to meet us and he could not have done more to make our night so enjoyable. The venue was warm and the food excellent Special thanks to Gobnait, Adam and Katie Well done.We will be back again next year

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Myself and my husband went to Killarney for the day last Tuesday and on the way home we were feeling peckish so we said we'd stop for a bit of grub as we have been there plenty of times before and its always great! My husband had the chicken stirfry which looked delicious and I had the curry (they now have Meal Deals for a tenner Monday to Friday which include a beer or a glass of wine , brilliant value!!) The curry was so nice , not to spicy ! There was a lovely atmosphere there for a Tuesday evening aswell.The staff are also very good , cant fault The Mills ,will defo stop next time were passing!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
8.2 mi away
Riverside Park Hotel
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
205 reviews
9.5 mi away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
0.0 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballyvourney
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Gougane Barra Hotel
Gougane Barra Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gougane Barra
369 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fountain House B&B
Fountain House B&B
#3 of 8 in Macroom
106 reviews
13.6 mi away
Cannaway House B&B
Cannaway House B&B
#2 of 8 in Macroom
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mills Inn

Property: Mills Inn
Address: Ballyvourney, Macroom, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mills Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mills Inn is a traditional Inn in every sense of the word. When we talk about putting hospitality back into the growing Irish ‘Hospitality Industry’ the Mills Inn lies at its heart.The Mills has changed hands a few times over the years, and the present owners have brought the traditional Inn to an even higher level. A new shopping experience has been added with food, crafts, wines and special items for the house and garden. The Mills Inn knows that it is a country Inn – they focus on the food, the bar ambiance and the comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing