We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at the mills inn macroom”
Review of Mills Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mills Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Macroom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stay at the mills inn macroom”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

second visit to this hotel.
waitress forgot to put salt pepper sugar milk seviettes etc.
we had to ask for everthing
but food was great
will visit again.
bar is lovely with good atmosphere.friendly bar staff
customers very jolly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    44
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
69
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clogheen, Ireland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Quality accommodation, a pleasant bar, nice food, ultra clean toilets and spacious off road parking briefly describe this complex that dates back to the mid 18th century. Located approx half way between Cork and Killarney this is an ideal stop off point for relaxation, good food and a drink in a lovely bar. Ballyvourney is a Gaeltacht - an officially designated Irish speaking area and is also the birthplace of poet Sean O Riordan and was a location for Ken Loans film " The wind that shapes the barley". So drop in here for a real Cead Mile Failte and enjoy some genuine Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCHPORTVENDRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Called in her by chance after a long day driving the Ring of Kerry.
The menu was extensive and I chose the belly pork with my wife choosing the fish & chips - both were very good & extremely substantial.
I followed up with a slice of banoffi pie - again good & large - which my wife helped me with.
2 pints of the black stuff for me & a large wine for the wife & it came to 46 euros - good value & probably never in the area again, coming from Wales, but would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6nationschampsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

On visiting in Ballyvourney this place was very busy and had a good reputation for the food.
On arrival it was extremely busy and we were eventually seated at the back in a dining room at the back. When seated the staff were very efficient at taking orders and getting us our food, however I had chosen the Pasta stuffed with riccotta & spinach with spanish vegetables as described on the menu! but when it came there were no vegetables, My husband asked about the vegetables as I would have expected peppers at least! The waitress then said "oh is there no olives in it? I said no and she then offered to bring some olives but this was not exactly what was on the menu so I refused.
The meal was okay but nothing special, a bit like your usual heat it up and serve. The staff were clearly busy and did not really have time to spend on the individual.
Such a shame as we expected better, perhaps we will try again they maybe just had an off day...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Got a great two night deal on the mills inn website. Two nights b&b one evening meal and a bottle of prosecco for €150.00 for two of us. Fantastic value, very welcoming and friendly staff. Food was fantastic, we were given a set menu but fancied the bar food instead and had no problem in changing to that. And as for the beer well what can I say I am a stalwart Guinness drinker but they converted me to Murphy's for the two nights! It is a good spin to Macroom truer to say it is in the heart of ballyvourney but you are not far from anywhere in Cork. Well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremiah_Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked in with a stag of 25 for dinner. The team at the Mills were very helpful in arranging a set menu which turned out to be great value on the day. The team were patient and flexible in terms of the changes in arrival time and numbers. The menu on the day was a selection of 3 mains(Cod/Pork/Beef), 3 desserts(Brownie, Cheesecake, Apple Pie) and tea/coffee. The waitress took the order quickly which was great as the group was hungry after completing an activity. When the food arrived there was a good portion and a decent serving of sides. Likewise the desserts were good sized portions. The turnaround in getting the food to table was impressive considering the bar was busy when we arrived.
I only heard positive feedback from the group and my experience matched that
I would recommend the Mills for a spontaneous stop on a journey or for a pre-arranged booking. I must comment the team for the service that they provided along with the very good food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

stayed in mills on 3rd march got a warm welcome on arrival .The bedroom was cosy warm and so comfy had the best night sleep breakfast was frestly cooked and plenty choise .As we had attended a party we were late for breakfast but that wasent a problem the girl said no hurray It was so relaxing cant wait to return .

Room Tip: ask for family room its fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelleher17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballyvourney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
Fountain House B&B
#2 of 8 in Macroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mills Inn

Property: Mills Inn
Address: Ballyvourney, Macroom, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mills Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mills Inn is a traditional Inn in every sense of the word. When we talk about putting hospitality back into the growing Irish ‘Hospitality Industry’ the Mills Inn lies at its heart.The Mills has changed hands a few times over the years, and the present owners have brought the traditional Inn to an even higher level. A new shopping experience has been added with food, crafts, wines and special items for the house and garden. The Mills Inn knows that it is a country Inn – they focus on the food, the bar ambiance and the comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing