We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Castle Hotel for 5 nights in July with a girls football team. The staff could not do enough for us. Everything ran so smooth. The food was delicious. The rooms were clean. The bar staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: some rooms are more modern than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMERICANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Thanks for posting a comment! We were delighted to have your group stay with us. Hopefully you will be returning to us for next year’s competition! I will pass your kind comments onto the staff of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had a fab time at the castle hotel recently. The staff were superb, rooms were lovely and comfortable and the food was spot on. We had such a great time that we decided to hold our wedding reception there. It was a good choice as it helped to make our day more special. Our families have planned to return as it was so good. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawny-D13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Thanks for taking the time to post a comment about our hotel. Firstly let me congratulate you on your recent nuptials! We really enjoyed having you here and were honoured to help you enjoy your big day. Ronan our wedding coordinator said you and your family were a joy to work with! I will pass your kind words onto the staff.. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We have stayed on a regular basis over the past six years at The Casle Hotel in West Cork. Based in the small market town of Macroom, the hotel is a great base for exploring the wonderful countryside of this part of Ireland. The food is always excellent and the staff deserve a special mention as they can never do enough for you - real genuine hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. It is great to hear you are a regular visitor to us here in Macroom. I have passed on your kind words to the staff who are very grateful! Come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I really don't know where to start describing the Castle Hotel.
We stayed for 2 nights for a family wedding. The room was lovely; spacious, clean, great shower. The staff were all so helpful and friendly. The food was first class. Many hotel bars have no atmosphere however the bar in the Castle Hotel is different; very comfortable & welcoming.
I've stayed at a couple of 5 star hotels that weren't as good as this one. We had a 4 hour drive to get there but we're hoping to visit again sometime next year when we would have more time to explore the area.
They also have a really nice cafe with a nice selection of cakes & pastries, I just had to have tea & a slice of cake before we left.
We're really looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogo22b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Firstly let me thank you for posting such a positive comment about our hotel. We were only delighted to have you stay with us for your family wedding.

It is great to hear you enjoyed the various aspects and amenities of the hotel including The Next Door Cafe! We would love to welcome you to the hotel again in the future so do not leave it for too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

the hotel was brill excellant food pool was good too

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrymcKeady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thanks for choosing to stay with us here at the Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

It was getting late and raining, so our decision had to be quick. It's a lovely place, but overpriced for just staying one night and not using the pool or other facilities. The girl was most kind at the front desk when we checked in but in the morning it was a different girl with a different attitude. The breakfast needs much improvement, but the room was clean but not warm especially on a rainy (hurricane) night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Hi thank you for posting a comment about our hotel. Thank you for your constructing comments, I have passed them onto other members of management. Thank you for choosing the Castle Hotel and we hope that you will choose to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Excellent hotel. Very central to the castle gardens, with access to the gym and pool.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you for the positive post! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future! :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
212 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range: £83 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing