We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wonderful hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a wonderful hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

my fiance and i have just returned from a 2 night stay, we had a wonderful relaxing time and have even taught about having our wedding in the castle hotel even dough we live a 2 and a half hr drive away, it was well worth the drive!! the staff were wonderful, so welcoming and made us feel at home from the second we arrived!! the leisure centre, the restaurant, the bar, our room were all 5star not 4star!! the staff in the castle could teach other hotels a thing or 4 about how to treat their quests!! they are a credit to mr don buckley!! we will be returning again soon with our familys and are very much looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
I would like to thank you firstly for choosing to stay with us and indeed for choosing to share your experience of The Castle Hotel by posting your comments.

We are all passionate in providing an enjoyable experience to our guests and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent visit so much.

On behalf of us all at the Castle Hotel, I would like to extend our very best wishes for your future together and best of luck with your wedding plans!

We really do look forward to welcoming you to the Castle Hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    104
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
181
247
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cahir, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the castle hotel, from the really friendly staff to the fantastic food. The leisure facilities were really brilliant. And the voucher we got when leaving ensures a return visit. Thank you Mr. Buckley and staff for a most relaxing weekend-just what the doctor ordered!

Room Tip: room 130 was spacious, clean and so comfortable, i would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words , delighted to hear that ye all enjoyed the couple of days in Macroom & that ye had a safe trip back to Cahir.............I might call in for a cup of tea on my way to Clonmel next week !!! Don Buckley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Having looked for a hotel to celebrate a late Christmas break, as it had been a busy Christmas at work, we stumbled upon this Dog Friendly Hotel.We didn't know what to expect and were a bit nervous when we arrived but it turned out to be one our best hotel experiences.
The staff were fantastic, from having our breakfast delivered to our Room at exactly the time we ordered it, to the fabulous, Trish, at reception, who looked after everything we needed with a big smile!! The swimming pool was lovely and the massage was fabulous and our dog Rocco loved his little treats when he arrived.
In a time of recession, it is great to know that there is still somewhere here in Ireland that strives to achieve exceptional standards and quality with ease!!! Thank you so much-we will be back again for sure!!

Room Tip: There is a great deal of 200euro all in(2 nights B&B, 1 night 4 course meal and breakfast served...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macker35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Firstly, let me thank you for posting such a positive comment about our hotel. We were delighted to have you and Rocco stay with us recently. I have passed on your very kind remarks to Trish and all the team.

It is great to hear you enjoyed the various aspects and amenities of the hotel! We would love to welcome you to the hotel again in the future so do not leave it for too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

After spending a long day of sightseeing in the rain we pulled into Macroom and saw the hotel. Even though I looked a mess the receptionist was warm, friendly and welcoming - just as nice as if I arrived in a business suit. Our room was large and comfy with all the amenities we needed. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast and wished we had another night to spend at the Castle Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoulsboScotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Firstly, let me thank you for posting such a positive comment about our hotel. We were delighted to have you stay with us recently.

It is great to hear you enjoyed the various aspects and amenities of the hotel! We would love to welcome you to the hotel again in the future so do not leave it for too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed in the Castle for a few weeks, was still not tired of the hotel or its facilities when I left! Fantastic friendly service, the reception staff are excellent and are probably the main selling point of this hotel! Always genuinely pleased to serve you and a pleasure to deal with. Parking in the hotel car park is free. The rooms are well equipped with comfortable beds, new TVs, and large bathrooms. The rooms are cleaned every day by an efficient friendly team of housekeepers. The selection at breakfast is good from fruit, yoghurt and cereal to porridge (highly recommended) and full Irish breakfast. The hotel boasts a bar, restaurant, cafe, swimming pool and gym - much more than you would normally expect from a hotel in a small town.
On the negative side, the town itself isn't the most exciting, with little to do in the immediate vicinity. A half hour drive is needed to visit the beautiful town of Tralee in one direction or the City of Cork in the other.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennycyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Firstly may I thank you for posting such a great comment about our hotel. We are delighted to hear your extended stay with us was a successful one!

I have passed on your kind remarks to all our staff.

Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

this is our 3rd visit to the castle hotel and had promised to write a review on this hotel... finally got around to do it.......It is just fantastic from the girls in reception who are so welcoming, to the staff in the bar who offered superb friendly service. we ate at the bar and the food was superb.........Jack McCarthy's black pudding is divine......the rooms were well sized and spacious and comfortable beds. they offer complimentary water and toileteries....
even the nice lady at breakfast was lovely and friendly..... all in all........it was the most pleasent stay and we will be back for the 4th time next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatsupdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
On behalf of all the staff and the Buckley family, I would like to thank you for firstly choosing our hotel again to spend your holiday in and secondly for praising us so highly.
All of us here at the Castle Hotel strive to make every guest's stay an enjoyable and positive experience.
We hope to see you again soon and we promise to continually improve our standards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I stayed for one night and after a long drive from Belfast was warmly welcomed. My room (124) was extremely well furnished and very comfortable. I was tired so ordered food to my room which was promptly delivered and, again, was of excellent quality.
The quality of the bed and mattress was first class and made for a good night's sleep.
I couldn't fault breakfast - I had grilled bacon, smoked salmon and porridge - all of which was first rate.
At a very reasonable price I would say that this is about as good as you could hope to find.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing