We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We use this school each year for our annual trip to Macroom. I can't fault the hotel or indeed it's staff who work incredibly hard around the clock to ensure that your stay is the very best that it can be. My children loved the swimming pool facilities and the evening meals in the bar/restaurant are excellent with a wide range of choice to suit all tastes. Look forward to our return next year!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeds11gd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It is very important for us to know what our guests think but also so important for other guests to have an opinion of others to read and consider.

We are really delighted to hear you and your school group enjoyed your recent visit so much and of course your time in our swimming pool!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    104
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
181
248
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Friendly staff... cosy atmosphere. mid week specials a great deal.... couldnt have asked for more...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank korko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

we as a family had the pleasure of staying at the castle hotel recently. what can i say a most fantastic experience from check in to departure. we used the pool, had an excellent meal in dan buckleys bar (if visiting try the local tapas plate or pudding, sausage, local cheese & ham and real homemade Brown bread), a great comfortable room & a breakfast to die for. well done to all the team. it wont be our last visit!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mufcadare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
On behalf of all the staff and the Buckley family, I would like to thank you for firstly choosing our hotel for your family break away and secondly for praising us so highly.
All of us here at the Castle Hotel strive to make every guest's stay an enjoyable and positive experience. Glad you enjoyed our Tapas!
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we really hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed here last weekend for the fifth time. It is one of very few places I have come accross that is consistently good. The rooms are clean, spacious and beautifully decorated and you even have a choice of pillows! The food is delicious both in the main dining room and the bar but what makes it stand out is the staff. Without exception they are unfailingly friendly, helpful and interested and do everything to make your stay feel a home away from home.
We left as relaxed as if we'd been away for a week, can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishbelle30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you most sincerely for both taking the time to let us and others know about your stay at The Castle Hotel and also for making such positive remarks following your visit. It is wonderful for us to know that our standards are high enough to encourage you back time and time again! Feedback of course always encourages us to keep on course!
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Macroom again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed here for two nights. It was great. The whole package was great. It was clean, warm, staff were great and so was the food. The only thing I could complain about is that the wi-fi isnt free. Apart from that its great!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puddle7soup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you most sincerely for both taking the time to let us and others know about your stay at The Castle Hotel and also for making such positive remarks following your visit.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. And the good news is we're working on the wifi!
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Macroom very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I was very impressed by the high level of cleanliness evident throughout the hotel. I have stayed in many hotels in Europe and Asia and this one ranks among the best. Friendly, efficient and helpful staff made my short stay a very pleasant one. Did not get a chance to check out the leisure center but will do so on my next visit. Do not wish to repeat Alan Mulcahy's comments other than to endorse everything he said. Keep up the good work. People notice good quality and keep coming back.
Frank Mulveen, Galway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdullabinfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you most sincerely for both taking the time to let us and others know about your stay at The Castle Hotel and also for making such positive remarks following your visit. It is wonderful for us to know that our standards are good enough to compete with Europe and the rest of the world! Feedback always encourages us to keep on course!
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Macroom very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

If ever passing through Macroom I would thoroughly recommend The Castle Hotel and Lesiure Centre in Macroom Co Cork. The service and welcome from the staff here are second to none in Ireland. From the lovely friendly reception you get when you enter the hotel, to the Leisure Centre and its great gym and swimming pool, to the excellent food served in its bar and restaurant and finally the excellent bar staff and a great pint and a great welcome always. Hats off to all the staff for a great welcome. Well done to Catherine, Trish, Kay and Lynn at reception, John, Kevin, Mackie, Miriam, David and Denise in the Leisure Centre, Brid in the cafe and last but not least to Eileen, Majella, Vicky, Jeremiah in the Bar and especially Billy the Head Barman who gave 110% attention to our son Jerry recently.The staff here are especially good with kids and adults with Special Needs. Apologies if I ommited to mention one of your helpful staff members. For a Four Star Hotel you give Five Star service. Well Done All!


The Mulcahy Family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanMulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent visit to us at The Castle Hotel in Macroom. We are all absolutely delighted to hear you and the kids enjoyed your stay so much. To read such positive comments gives all our staff such motivation and encourages to consistently improve our overall standards of service.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing