We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed in Castle Hotel on Wednesday night on our way to a wedding on Thursday.
It was late when we got there but reception was most welcoming.It was very quiet in the bar but bar staff were very friendly & chatty.
Had a great nights sleep in a lovely cosy & comfortable bedroom.
Great chice for breakfast served by staff who knew what they were doing and really looked after us.
Ideal overnight hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for choosing Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. In addition we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff. we really do hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Ireland and overseas. This was by far the best experiance i have ever had. The rooms were spotless and food is excellent. The staff on the other hand are just special. From the very first step in the hotel they made the most of my two girls and my wife and i. Everyone stopped to say hello. On numerious occasions they gave my daughters treats. The resturant staff and reception staff as well as the gym staff. We will be back. Chris O'Connor Roscommon Ireland

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisoc156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We are really delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and others and our staff love hearing about a guest's visit. I have passed on your very kind remarks to all our team of staff here and we all look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed two nights (me, my partner and two kids) and all agreed it was a brilliant weekend.
The food is absoutely gorgeous had the best steak dinner of my life in the restaurant.The portions were generous and the waiters were lovely. Overall the staff are all very friendly and helpful. I would have loved to bring the bed and shower home with me. Bed so comfortable and the shower complete with jets was amazing. Our room also had air con which was fantastic. The leisure centre could do with a bit of a make over but ive been in a lot worse. Would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone and we will definetly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraWilliam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We are really delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and others and our staff love hearing about a guest's visit. I have passed on your very kind remarks to all our team of staff here and we all look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed in the Castle hotel last week for 3 nights. From the time we arrived until we left we experienced total professionalism combined with personal service. All the staff here are wonderful and would bend over backwards to please you. The food in the restaurant and the bar was second to none and our waiter in the restaurant was determined we were not going to leave hungry!!!!! A lovely lovely guy. Breakfast was the usual buffet but with a wide choice of hot breakfasts and not just the usual full Irish. Pancakes with bacon and maple syrup were fab. So all in all I would recommend the Castle Hotel to everyone looking for a place to stay in Cork. Thanks to all for making it such a good break.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topazeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We are really delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and others and our staff love hearing about a guest's visit. I have passed on your very kind remarks to all our team of staff here and we all look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day soon for more pancakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Our car club arrived at The Castle Hotel, Macroom on Friday 17 th August 2012. As promised spaces had been reserved for our 20 cars in the hotel car park. All the staff were aware of our arrival and could not have been more accommodating. The meals were first class and not one complaint was received from any of our group.
So if your club or group is planning a weekend away look no further than the Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, Macroom, Co. Cork.
For top service look no further.
MG Enthusiasts Club.
See photo's on our website: www.mgireland.com

Room Tip: Reports were that all rooms were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGCars C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us and other possible customers about your experience at The 4 Star Castle Hotel. We are thrilled you all enjoyed your weekend stay with us so much. We equally enjoyed looking after you all! Thank you for your very kind comments, which I have shared with all the team here. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day to Macroom. Happy Driving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

An excellent hotel.The staff was brilliant with great service.The rooms were brilliant with a flat screen TV with Sky.The bathrooms were very good with a brilliant shower.The food was very nice as well.A must if you are considering staying in Macroom.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy300589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We are really delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and others and our staff love hearing about a guest's visit. I have passed on your very kind remarks to all our team of staff here and we all look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I stayed two nights here and it was better than I had expected. The room was huge, there was a fantastic multi functional shower and the food was delicious. The staff were exceptionally helpful and I would definitely go back. I did however have a small issue with the cleanliness of the bathroom. It's not something I would complain to the reception about but just a minor thing. There were hairs in the bathtub, the bin in the bathtub was broken and the drinking glasses in the room and in the restaurant were grubby. There was also a dog barking somewhere, incessantly until late. But only a small blip on an otherwise excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlawgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you very much for posting a review of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We have noted the areas you feel need attention and I can ensure these will be amended today. We are really delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and our staff love hearing about a guest's visit. I have passed on your very kind remarks to all our team of staff here and we all look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
221 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,244 reviews
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Address: Castle Hotel And Leisure Centre Main Street, Macroom P12 X293, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range: £69 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing