We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Movie Star Treatment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow ireland
1 review
“Movie Star Treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at the Castle View Hotel in Macroom in Co.Cork for a pamper weekend, and what a place indeed.Fully functional Hotel with access to Health Center excellent on site restaurant, coffee bar that just about served every type of dessert possible all baked at the Hotel scrumptious.We stayed in one of the Contemporary Suites giant bed, Jacuzzi bath modern decor.Turn down service at night with petals and sweets, so many little touches unbelievable. Coundn't fault it for anything and the staff deserve the most praise especially reception which is rare for a Hotel these days. Macroom has a few things to do nearby and as a stop point for touring around Cork and into Kerry excellent. Thank you to The Castle View Hotel for a wonderful weekend see you all again next year.

Room Tip: For an extra bit of comfort its worth an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in Macroom.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your weekend break so much and your 'Movie Star Treatment' as you so nicely said!

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. In addition we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    104
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
181
249
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I found this hotel to be quite disappointing. Many years ago when I moved into the area first with my new-found wife we stayed here a couple of times and we had nothing but happy and fond memories of the place.

However, how things have changed. This now is basically the only hotel in town and has proved to very popular with the locals as a dining venue. This is where their core business is and usually they do it very well. The place was packed for lunch and dinner while I was staying there recently which says a lot in these recessionary times.

My dining experience on this occasion was quite mixed. I had an early evening snack with some friends recently, two of whom ordered the fish chowder. When the meal arrived the chowder was quite cold and when the waitress's attention was drawn to this fact she cheerily offered to have it reheated. This is a real "no no" in the food business and it is not good or safe practice to reheat dishes containing shellfish. On the other hand my breakfast the following morning was really very good with lots of good fresh baking in evidence. Really first-class pancakes with bacon was a delight and the coffee was excellent and the pot was not overfilled which meant that I managed not to spill coffee on the table cloth. A lament here…. whenever I am going to get fresh orange juice again in an establishment of this nature? Is it THAT difficult to squeeze the juice out of an orange? A mechanical orange press can do the job in seconds!

The accommodation had its shortcomings also. The room was of adequate size but the decor was tired and uninspiring. And there was a large "picture" on the wall consisting of one dark colour and nothing else. How depressing! However the main problem here was that the room heating was turned off in the middle of the night when the temperature outside was just below freezing. I woke up shivering and that is not a good idea when I was just recovering from a dose of bronchitis. I did manage to discover an air conditioning unit which appeared to work after a fashion but since the control panel did not light up I could not see sufficiently well in the poor room light to find out how to get it working satisfactorily. Consequently I did not get a good night's sleep.

Overall I was not overly impressed by the establishment and will try to avoid having to stay in the area in the future. In my opinion the hotel does not deserve its four-star rating. Cork city is not too far away and there are a number of very good places to stay. In fact I checked out of the hotel after only one night and stayed for the two remaining nights in the city. No problems here AND I got my fresh orange juice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of The Castle Hotel on Tripadvisor , & I mean that most sincerely. We very much appreciate our customers views & use them to focus our efforts on how we can improve the standards in different areas of the Hotel.

The Buckley Family & their 'Fantastic Staff' have endeavoured to provide a professional & high quality service to their customers since 1952. As you point out in your review , this is usually done very well.Unfortunately on this occasion our efforts were not up to standard & we whole heartedly apologise for that. We have noted your comments with regards to the Chowder , Fresh Orange Juice & Bedroom Heating Controls & have discussed them with our management team to see how we can rectify them.

Hopefully your 'Happy & Fond Memories' will outweigh your recent disappointing experience of The Castle Hotel & that you will allow us the opportunity to make amends for our flaws.

Don Buckley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Very personal service in a small market town where people still know each other.
Nothing is too much trouble, food is imaginative and informal, rooms quiet and not overheated.
The leisure centre is also worth a swim, etc.

Room Tip: Most rooms are at the back but not all quiet due to supermarket next door - ask on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemarkets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for your recent posting about The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macorom. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and in particular our service, food, and swimming pool! It is always great to receive feedback, as it not only provides us with necessary information, but also aids other customers to make an informed holiday choice.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in Castle Hotel in Macroom on 15-17feb and we had best time ever. Rooms are standard but nice and very clean and staff is absolutely brilliant, sooo friendly and we really felt important. Food was something else, really yummy! Can't say enough how happy we are we chose this hotel for our relaxing weekend:-) defo going back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izabela_babelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to receive such a lovely posting following your stay at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. So thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and the much wider Trip Advisor audience.
Our team are thrilled to learn that your visit was such a success and you found your break so relaxing!
We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in August and everything about the stay was perfect. The check in staff were jovial, friendly and chatty without being overbearing. A very nice way to star our stay. The rooms were spacious, exceptionally clean, and beds comfortable.

The hotel's breakfast had an excellent variety to choose from, the waitresses charming and the dining room nicely laid out.

Overall the staff is what won us over due to their warmth and professionalism

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom, following your stay for a wedding last August. As a member of the team here, I can honestly say we all love a wedding day here in The Castle and relish looking after each and every wedding guest to make the day as special as possible!

I have shared your lovely remarks with our team and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Macroom in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Absolutely fabulous hotel.

We stayed for 1 week, the staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble and we were made you feel very welcome.. The food in the bar and restaurant was excellent and the menu also incorporates local produce there is also a full Gluten free menu. We dined in the bar and restaurant most nights because it was so good. The hotel is quiet at night even though it is in the heart of Macroom and is located between cork and killarney. There is also a large car park at the rear. The hotel interior was lovely and our room was spacious and comfortable. We used the pool and steam room which is within the hotel and there is a gym also. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Castle and we will be staying here on our next visit to Cork.

Room Tip: I cannot comment our room was located at the rear of the hotel and was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anneoregan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you! What a beautiful review of The Castle Hotel! I have shared your lovely remarks with all our staff.

On behalf of the Buckley Family and our entire team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments in such elegant words about The Castle Hotel Experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your week's stay so much.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

stayed at the castle hotel for 2 nights ,what a great experiance.friendly staff superb accommodation,terrific food.it was great to see the hotel uses mostly local produces ,which was excellent.i would have no hesitation in recommending the Castle hotel in Macroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradpittDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you! What a beautiful review of The Castle Hotel!

On behalf of the Buckley Family and our entire team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments in such elegant words about The Castle Hotel Experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and in particular our use of local produce on our menus.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing