We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best week of our lives.... By far!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The best week of our lives.... By far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

My new husband and I have just returned from 7 days in Macroom in the lead up to our Wedding Day at Gougane Barra. From the moment we made an enquiry for holding our wedding reception at the Castle Hotel until we left to return home, Vicki, Eileen and the team made every effort to ensure our special day was a perfect day to remember. Their hospitality and attention to detail is faultless. We do not know what we would have done without their care and support. The food and service they provided us and our guest was of the highest standards. All of our guests bar none had nothing but positive words to say on the service they received and the care the staff had put into our day. We have made many new friends amongst the team and will undoubtably be returning on our 1st anniversary next year - for which we cannot wait. I would recommend the Castle in a heart beat, whether for a weekend away or a special occasion. Every moment we have spent at this hotel has been an absolute pleasure. We are eternally grateful for all their hard work. Thank you so much. Ben and Sarah Jane Smith x

Room Tip: Every room is a treat... We have seen them all...!!! Chose this hotel and you will get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJSmith0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Sarah Jane & Ben,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Wedding Story at The 4 Star Castle Hotel with us and all those on Trip Advisor.
It genuinely warms our hearts to read your very kind remarks and to learn that your wedding dreams came through in Macroom!
We just love wedding days at The Castle and we were so lucky that your event lasted a couple of days.
It was our honour to share such a special occasion in your lives and we look forward to keeping in touch with all your exciting news ahead!
Best wishes from all the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    104
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
181
247
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madona, Latvia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

unbelievable relaxing atmosphere -
staff at very high standard -
good choice on food and beverages -
pool is great, water quality is checked regularly several times a day -
strategically positioned on irish southwest -
lovely fields and landscapes

Room Tip: room 131 is pretty big and its bathroom stays above room level, with few steps to a relaxing bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bad4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We were thrilled to receive your recent posting and so pleased to hear your visit to The 4 Star Castle Hotel was so enjoyable. I have passed on your remarks to all the team here and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We are a Mens retirement club in Dublin 24.
Just before easter three of our members traveled down from Dublin to The Castle Hotel in Macroom Co. Cork.
They spent two nights there and they told us that they thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it from the time they arrived they were made to feel welcome by Kay McCarthy and staff they said the food was delicous well and presented.
The rooms were clean well laid out and very comfortable all three of our members said they will definitly return during the summer.
The only complaint they had was that they couldn't stay longer.
Dominic's Active Men's Social gives this hotel a BIG thumbs up!
Liam K

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for telling us and others about your group's visit to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We love hearing about our guest's experiences! I have shared your very kind comments with all our staff and we only hope that next time you really do get to 'stay longer'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connemara
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I have stayed at The Castle Hotel on a number of occasions. For me this hotel is one of the best run hotels in the Country. I had the pleasure of meeting the owner on my last visit and I can now see where the staff good natured attitude comes from. Congratulations on a jib well done - its not often I get a chance to say this

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerys411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following one of your recent stay's at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom.
We are thrilled to hear you found your stay so satisfactory and I will share your very kind comments with all the team here.
From The Buckley Family and staff, a sincere thank you for staying with us, and we all hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Every year I travel to Macroom with a group of children from a primary school in the uk. I really can't speak highly enough of the castle hotel. The staff go out hire way to make myself and the children feel welcome. Bedrooms are spotless and well equipped with anything that you might need. The added bonus of the leisure facilities are great and would recommend visit. Thank you once again to ALL the staff at the Castle. Hope to see you all again soon :).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds11gd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Buckley Family and our entire team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments about your Castle Hotel Experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and indeed the group of children.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you all back again to Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

I'm am on the road a lot with work and over the past year have travelled the 4 corners of the island. I stayed in the Castle Hotel for 2 nights and had a great experience. The room was very clean and spacious, the food was excellent and what I found to be the best experience of my stay was the customer service. Every employee I past as I walked through the hotel lifted their head and acknowledged me. Very pleasant and friendly staff. Excellent service in the restaurant and bar. Very well run hotel and bar.
Next time I am in Cork with work I will travel that bit further to stay in the Castle Hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AisMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, General Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. In addition we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co meath ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

I was very fortunate on St Patricks weekend to gather with 84 of my friends and relations in the Castle Hotel for a fantastic occasion this been my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary, from the moment we arrived in the door till the time we all left we were all treated to the highest of standards, I have never been looked after by any staff of any Hotel in the World the way the Staff of The Castle Hotel did, whether it was fetching boiling water for a babies bottle or taking wet coats to our rooms or having emergency last minute meetings to insure my parents Anniversary Party went of without a hitch, which it did, but it could never have happened without the dedication of all the staff, there was nothing else that could possibly have been done to insure that every member of our party was comfortable and had every comfort away from home, On behalf of my family and myself I would like to thank Kay (the groups organiser) for all her hard work and every other staff member that we came into connection with. The kitchen cannot be forgotten as the food was excellent and it is not always easy pleasing all of the people all of the time but in this case they did, so once again thank you, and anyone on a visit to cork needs to stay in The Castle Hotel and enjoy there hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly may I thank you and your family for choosing The Castle Hotel for your very important Family Occasion. We were delighted to be part of something so special and very much enjoyed be a part of your event.
Many thanks for taking the time to share your opinion with others here on Trip Advisor. I have also shared your very kind comments with our team here at the hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing