We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel We've Ever Stayed In”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel We've Ever Stayed In”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I were married in Macroom on 1st June and we chose the Castle Hotel to host the reception and evening party. The hotel had been recommended to us as one of the best places in Ireland to have a small wedding and their reputation is well earned. This is quite simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in. There were 25 of us in total, staying for 3-4 nights each, and every one of our guests commented on the fantastic staff and wonderful service that was provided from start to finish. Our only concern is that they will insist on returning with us for our 1st year anniversary!!! Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review following your recent wedding at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom.
Thank you once again for allowing us to celebrate such a special occasion with you. We all really do love weddings at The Castle Hotel and it was our honour to be part of your big day.
We look forward to your 1st anniversary all ready!
Best wishes from all the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    109
    29
    12
    2
See reviews for
186
254
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

stayed one night , we were attending a rory Gallagher tribute gig in a pub next door.this hotel is perfect,staff,rooms food and bar.as the heading says it is what an irish hotel should be,welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mocork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you very much for staying at The Castle Hotel for your recent visit to Macroom.
We are so pleased you found our hotel so satisfactory. I have shared your lovely remarks with all our staff. Do please consider a return visit again soon, you'll have to look out for another gig!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gtr Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Castle Hotel is in the middle of Macroom on the main road Its a busy and bustly place but we had a lovely quiet room and there are more of those than you would think at first as the hotel is bigger than it looks!It also has a big car park at the back and lovely pool and leisure facility

Maybe best of all The Castle has a brilliant lively bar for food and drink,an excellent restaurant and coffee shop
One night we went to the bar to eat and it was full Not a problem to us as we were happy to wait for a table to eat however every waiter who saw us waiting wanted to help us find the perfect table as soon as one was avaialble
As everyone says The Hotel is near to lots of beautiful places .Gougane Barra is a revelation, but even in town, the old Castle park itself has lovely walks by the river and a golf course

All this for a bargain package -220 euro for two nights B&B with superior room, excellent evening meal for two on one night even including a bottle of wine !

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy Dont expect great views form the bedrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnightWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share in such detail your recent visit to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macorom.
We are really delighted to read how happy you were with our hotel, our food and our service but also our locality and the beautiful nearby Gougane Barra.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful weekend in the Castle Hotel. From the moment we walked through the door the staff were fantastic, they were so helpful and friendly. The room was fab, so comfortable. The food was fantastic, we had a meal there the first nice and the food was so good we ate there again the next night. Breakfast too was gorgeous. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, it's fantastic. We have never stayed a hotel where the staff were so friendly and helpful in the whole of Ireland or abroad. Thank you to all the Castle Hotel, you should be extremely proud of yourselves. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you very much for both choosing The 4 Castle Hotel and also reviewing us on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to have you to stay with us and you are most kind to share your experience with others online.
I passed on your wonderful remarks to all our staff who were thrilled to hear your stay was so enjoyable.
We would very much like to have the opportunity to look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Spent 3 nights in the Castle hotel mid-week. Found service to be exceptional and food was excellent. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, would highly recommend to anybody. Location is central to many wonderful places to visit eg. Gougane Barra, the Gearagh and KInsale. Also location to many famous landmarks such as Beal na Blath, Kilmichael and Michael Collins home place just outside Clonakilty.

Room Tip: Found higher floor rooms preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. It sounds like you really made the most of our local attractions and did lots of touring!
You are most kind to share your visit and opinions with others, for which we are very grateful.
The team here were all very pleased to hear your visit was so enjoyable and were delighted to know your stay was such a success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Excellent in so many, many ways. We stayed from UK in the hotel for four nights over a two week period. Great rooms - large, well furnished and spotlessly clean.
The additional magic touch was the staff. They were consistently and universally thoughtful, friendly and considerate. A large hotel that makes every guest feel special. Good food, great breakfasts. And every comfort.
Other hotel managers and owners would do well to spend a night at the Castle Hotel to see just what good service is really like.
Well done Castle Hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueshrew54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for selecting The Castle Hotel for your recent visit to Macroom. We are so pleased your visit was a success. Thank you for your very kind remarks regarding our staff in particular. They were all delighted to receive your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the Castle Hotel in Macroom for seven nights in late May. This was our first time to Ireland from the United States. I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and its staff. The Castle Hotel was exceptionally run and it is obvious that the Buckley family takes great pride in the place. The staff of the front desk was extremely thoughtful, helping us throughout the week - suggestions for day activities, ice for our cooler, and even a 4:15 AM breakfast before our early morning drive back to Dublin to catch our flight back home. Trish at the front desk was especially helpful giving us tips on how to drive on the left side of the road! Breakfast at the hotel was beyond words. The breakfast waitstaff was exceptional and I have never had better pancakes. We ate dinner at the hotel twice and were very pleased with both the selection and quality of the meals. The room itself was very quiet and enabled us to rest our entire vacation. We were able to park in the parking lot every night except for one which was very convenient.

Macroom is an excellent launching point for exploring Southwest Ireland. We drove 1100 miles in counties Cork and Kerry alone. We were able to explore the Ring of Kerry, Sheepshead peninsula, Killarney, Cork, Cobh, Gougane Barra (twice), as well as the south coast from Bantry to Kinsale. This was more than enough for one week's time. Each evening, we would head to the bar in the hotel or one of the nearby pubs in Macroom for a pint of Murphys or a Jameson. By the end of the week, some of the locals were even buying us rounds! Southwest Ireland is remarkable for the stunning landscapes and picturesque farms. Do not be surprised to see bowling in the streets on Sunday night or an occasional sheep or cow sitting on the centerline of the road. Our trip to Ireland was made complete by the Castle Hotel and I cannot wait to head there again. Many thanks to the Buckleys and the entire staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you most sincerely from all the staff and The Buckley Family for choosing The 4 Star Castle Hotel for your stay while in Ireland. It really sounds like you enjoyed your experience and we are very grateful that you shared your stay with others online. We really hope you can make a return visit to Ireland and Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing