We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
WEXFORD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent family run hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Super hotel, we visit a few times every year , probably the best family run hotel in the country. Superb staff . Great bar food ,lovely bedrooms in a very nice village .......an all-round fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BROWNSWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

What a lovely review! Thank you very much for not only choosing to stay once again at The Castle Hotel but for taking the time to also share your Castle Hotel Experience with others. We are truly delighted that your stay was so satisfactory and we very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Macroom again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    109
    29
    12
    2
See reviews for
186
254
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just back from a truly wonderful holiday with our little 16 month old- four nights of pure enjoyment. We felt very much at home with a welcome that made us feel very relaxed and appreciated. All the staff are super nice all the time to everyone which felt like it was very genuine- we look forward to returning in the near future as there's so much to do in the vicinity. The food was gorgeous too. We totally recommend the Castle experience - I'm smiling to myself -its lovely to have such an enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us and others know about your stay at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. You are most kind to share such lovely remarks, which I have passed them onto all our staff, who will be 'smiling' just like you!
We would of course be thrilled to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Macroom again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed here one night with my wife and son. The hotel is in the centre of the town with a carpark at the rear. Our room, a triple with a double and a single bed was clean and comfortable, but only provided two cups. The staff were helpful at all times. Breakfast was good. The muffins are outstanding.
We'd intended to use the swimming pool but discovered that it was obligatory to wear a swimming cap, which could be purchased. This seems really odd to me. We didn't use the pool as a result.
We took a meal in the bar which was good, and the staff particularly helpful and attentive.
Overall it was a pleasant one-night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Rev007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you to you and your family for staying at The Castle Hotel in Macroom. And thank you for sharing your opinions on Trip Advisor. We really value our guests feedback as it helps us to continue to improve our hotel and our facilities. We are delighted to hear that your stay was so pleasant and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Castle Hote in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

There are aspects of the hotel's location that immediately awaken you to the hard times these fine folk are enduring in the economy just now. A number of shops shuttered and a sense that the town has seen better days. However, with the vigor, kindness and sheer force of nature that the fine folk that run Castle are, Macroom will no doubt see better days and very soon. This hotel is an example of how to treat guests like kings. They bent over backwards whenever and however possible. I had inadvertantly been assigned a room next to some noisy vents - and they immediately switched it. However, I'd asked for a bathtub and they switched it again - with nothing but cordial compliance and kind smiles. The massage therapist was very good indeed and they have a room right on site for her to work her wonders. Eileen Lynch the first night i was there swept into my room like an Irish tour de force and regaled me with all manner of suggestions and observations and she was far from alone in being sociable, considerate, intriguing, entertaining and simply joyful about being alive. She passed me in the hall once, briskly going about her business and at the hall's end - out of view, I caught her singing a bit to herself and this - this in and of itself is a metaphor for the kind of spirit that infuses one and all I came into contact there with, including the wonderful Catherine. Eileen mentioned to me that there was a trad music session on the Tuesday night I began my stay. Lucky she did. I went to Doolin and to Dingle and despite their reputations for trad music centers, it was here at the Castle Hotel in Macroom that I had the best musical night of my entire trip. The room was spacious - it was incredibly comfortable from bed to luxurious lounge chair. The tub was perfect, as was the water pressure and the air conditioner was perfect for the warmer nights. Lastly, although I encourage no one to repeat my awkward actions, I flounced into my aforenoted luxurious chair and the lamp titled and the lampshade was crushed beneath my descending bottom. True it was not an particularly expensive lampshade but I dutifully reported it to the front desk and not one but eventually two fine Castlers poo-pooed my remunerating them for the lampshade. That in a time of great hunger in the land - one hotel I also stayed at had an architect working the front desk because times are so hard - impressed me greatly and please - do not test the theory by sitting on your own lampshade at your stay but be very aware of how kind and solicitous these people are. Even the little cafe connected to the hotel was great fun to pick up my coffees for my intriguing drives through the underbrush and driveways that make up the Irish country road system! Great experience indeed and do select them - perfect center to strike at the Ring and even as far north as Moher. I forgot to add how delicious and fortifying the breakfast was every morning.

Room Tip: Whatever your room, if you have a legitimate concern and are not simply picky to be picky, do bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikeSavoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

What a beautiful review of The Castle Hotel and our staff in Macroom! You are most kind to share your Castle Hotel Experience with us and other readers on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit so much. I have passed on your remarks to all our team here, who I know will be delighted to read such positive comments. We really hope you will consider staying with us again should you be back in County Cork.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night last January and found it to be very good. Our family room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a large selection of good quality food. Service was excellent. We also had food in the bar which was very nice with a good kids menu. Staff were very friendly and helpful when booking . Other members of the family were also staying at the hotel as we were attending a funeral. Staff were aware of this when we arrived and were very welcoming. The hotel has a lovely lobby which was ideal for relaxing and chatting in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom.

I have passed on your very kind remarks to our team here.

We are very sorry that your visit was not for happier reasons but we really do hope we might see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

First, the staff at the Castle are wonderful. From check in to the dining room, everyone was friendly and efficient. The rooms are comfortable and large. The public areas are cosy and inviting. Free wi-fi available in rooms by a limited number of passwords, which by the end of the month become limited. But, there is plenty of space and chairs in the lobby to make use of the free wi-fi there. Plenty of free parking behind the hotel. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I really have nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fossettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review following your visit to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. I have shared your kind comments and remarks with our staff and we all really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Macroom should you be in the Lee Valley area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girard, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I arrived for the family gathering and were welcomed, by name! Such a pleasant surprise! We were treated with the utmost courtesy and consideration! The staff was helpful in every possible way.
The hotel is charming, quaint and everything we could have hoped for.
Their dining facilities are wonderful.
Kay McCarthy facilitated everything with grace and care.

We could not be more pleased to have attended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laney870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you so much for choosing The 4 Star Castle Hotel for your recent family gathering. It was our pleasure to host such an important ocassion for you all and we really enjoyed being a part of it.
Thank you most sincerely for your lovely review and very kind comments, which I have shared with our team of staff here.
We hope to have the pleasure of one day welcoming you back again to Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing