We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Went down to macroom after coming back from a week in Malta, it was our honeymoon part two with our little dog. I couldn't fault anything, the staff, food and hotel itself were all excellent! We ended up eating in the hotel every night the food was that good and breakfast was amazing also, cooked to order which really makes a difference. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, every member if the team we encountered were friendly and nothing was to much to ask them. Our room was a great size, very comfortable beds and lovely and clean. We will definitely be going back again... I'm already dreaming about the brown bread and the buttermilk pancakes!

Room Tip: If you have a dog make sure to bring them and stay in one of the pet friendly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaRuthDuane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you so much for selecting The 4 Star Castle Hotel as part of your honeymoon. We were honoured to share this very special occasion in your lives. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay so much. Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to share your experience with us and others on trip advisor. We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom, maybe for some more brown bread and pancakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

This Hotel was lovely and had a great atmosphere. All of the staff here were friendly, professional & go out of their way to make sure the customer enjoys their stay. we ate in the bar & loved the food so tasty and fresh. Truly a great place to stay. location is good for exploring the Ring of Kerry which is why we choose this hotel.We stayed in August and Hotel was full but the service was still excellent. Breakfast was lovely too and again staff were so cheerful and helpful . Would be more than happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxtipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing to take your mini break with us here at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. You are very kind to take the time to share your thoughts with us and others on Trip Advisor. We are really delighted to know you enjoyed your stay so much and I have passed on your comments to all our staff. Thanks again and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed for two nights on a tour around Eire. The approach to the hotel filled me with misgivings as you go down a side street and through a housing estate into the rear car park which was already nearly full by the time we arrived at 5.30. However the moment you open the door and walk through to reception everything changes. The hotel is beautifully appointed and very clean. All the staff, particularly Lorraine on reception, are incredibly helpful, in a genuine way.
Our room was clean, modern and spacious as was the ensuite. The restaurant was closed for the two nights we stayed but we were accommodated in the bar which was excellent and the food was really good.
The only negatives: there was one hell of a trek from the car park to our room and I am afraid that the cooked breakfasts were the worst we encountered on our holiday. The breakfast on the second day was shriveled and had obviously been sat around for quite some time before serving. There was however a very good alternative choice for those not wanting a ful Irish.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreedenceClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Castle Hotel Macroom and also for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We are always so keen to learn about a guest's stay, as it allows us to constantly work on areas that we can improve. I have noted your remarks and we will investigate your area of concern immediately. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Macroom, should you be in Ireland again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great Hotel , Great restaurant ... perfect location for exploring Cork and the Ring of Kerry ... would stay again , myself and my friend loved every minute of it , lovely setting in a bustling but not overally busy town ... :) :) :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. In addition we're always keen to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hello All while I made sure to say thanks and compliment the staff for making what’s a normal part of my weekly life seem like I had won a prize, as in a few days away with royal treatment.

From my reception visit phone conversation .. check ins and outs both days .. the bar staff .. the breakfast staff .. the chefs etc .. All their help and understanding of my dietary requirements etc.

Whatever ye are all on in there it works and its magic .. no money can buy common courtesy which includes good professional work ethics including chat and the bit of magic called laughter..

Well done to all and as mentioned above a hotel stay a night or so every week for me throughout the 32 counties is a normal way of life no novelty therefore it means a lot to be treated as a person and not a room number.

Sorry I have no mail address for the director or general manager therefore I would appreciate if it can be passed on and at least this way the people on the ground who make everything possible get to see it first hand .. we are all called to one side if we do wrong but sadly it does not work as well the other way if its good we do..

Thanks again.

What really means a lot is management replied with thanks for my compliments but more important let me know what it means to them to be able to pass same onto their great staff.. I am happy I stayed there and even more happy I took time out to mail them.
well done to all concerned big time !!!

Room Tip: my tip always is to mention what requirements we have when we book or arrive and not in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TipperaryMichael_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,

You are most kind to share your Castle Hotel Experience with Trip Adviser!
Thank you for both choosing to stay with us and also for letting others know about your visit. We are always eager to learn everything we can about a guest's stay and of course we were really delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself so much.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again should you be in the South West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel has to be one of the best in Ireland. We have stayed many times and never been disappointed. The bar has changed its menu - which I wasnt too keen on, but surprisingly the food was excellent. The hotel is run by the owners and they are not afraid to work - it shows by the attention to detail on everything. Thanks again and we will be back again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are very quiet but any room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathydarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre again for your recent stay in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. In addition we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre again the next time you're in Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff made us feel welcome . We had our dog with us and they supplied him with biscuits and a toy. Room was big and roomy with nice decor. We had use of leisure centre and I used the pool and steam room which was cool. we had room service which was great food was fine not to expensive. Nice area had nice walk along river. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. Would love to return .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thanks very much for your recent review of The 4 Star Castle Hotel. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Macroom. I have shared your very kind comments with our staff and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your dog of course back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
224 reviews
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
735 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,689 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Address: Castle Hotel And Leisure Centre Main Street, Macroom P12 X293, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range: £70 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing