We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab short break with girls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab short break with girls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Myself and 5 friends had a wonderful relaxing girlie night away recently with evening meal, breakfast and spa treatment.This hotel offered good value and is situated in the center of Macroom town.Our rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped.The staff friendly and very helpful. There was a great menu selection for both evening meal and breakfast. All 5 of us had a range of spa treatments from the masseuse Majella,which were excellent and we were all very pleased with.
Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay break away with the girls!

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    107
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
183
252
13
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenpoint, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I used to stay here on business regularly, but had not done so for sometime. The hotel was as friendly as before and tis I think is the charm of the place; old style high quality Irish hotel at the heart of the town and the community. The food was good, both at the bar and the breakfast in the morning. Recommended if staying in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burrenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you! What a beautiful review of The Castle Hotel!

On behalf of the Buckley Family and our entire team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments and of course for choosing The Castle Hotel for your gathering.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a family gathering in this lovely hotel recently and found it excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. The meal on the night for 100 people was excellent. Some of my family stayed overnight and found the rooms excellent. I have sence stopped there for food and the choice is excellent. There is a daily carvery in the bar area with a great choice. It is great value and the food is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat1955021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you very much for choosing The 4 Star Castle Hotel for your recent gathering. It was our honour to host your event and it is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your stay and visit so much. Thank you for posting your review here on Trip Advisor and we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Castle Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for a week wih our grandchildren, and had a lovely time.
The hotel is quite pricy, but it does include a pool, which is great.
We did find Breakfast too expensive, so only had that twice. The bar/restaurant was very nice, and the service wonderful.
The room was lovely, very clean, nice and warm, great comfortable beds.
Great that we had WIFI, though would have been even better if we didn't have to get a new code every day at reception, bu if there was 1 code for the duration of your stay, or per week.
The staff were all wonderful, and very friendly and accommodating.
We had a lovely stay here, and so had our grandchildren, as this is a real child-friendly establishment.
Will def stay here again when in Macroom !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay with your grandchildren.

Thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night and it's a really nice hotel; staff are very friendly and the breakfast next morning was excellent (cooked fresh !...).. The rooms are very nice/modern with a really good multi-jet shower which is a nice treat (didn't get to use the leisure center I'm afraid so can't comment). Just one tip though, if you think you are going to get the "munchies" after 9pm, you should be aware that you will need to order the food before then as the kitchen closes at 9pm, but if you pre-order, the night porter will stick you on a toastie !.
Town was very quiet (perhaps November is just a quiet month), but would certainly recommend the hotel if you happen to be in Macroom for a night or two..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestOpinionIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, General Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. In addition we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve!

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.


Dear Guest,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Have often stopped at this hotel to eat but never stayed there until recently. Highly recommended. Food is great and rooms lovely. Staff are really friendly and welcoming and extremely helpful. I had been involved in an accident and was in a wheelchair when I stayed here. Everyone involved was really considerate and went to a lot of trouble to make sure I was comfortable and looked after.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
On behalf of the Buckley Family and our team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments about your Castle Hotel Experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we do hope you are making a speedy recovery.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

the hotel is very nice but i think the staff make it they are all so nice the bar food is nice and the price is not bad macroom itself there is not much in it i think it is more of stop off on way to cork city or kerry there is a chip shop down from the hotel the food is awful better off eating in hotel













the hotel is nice but i think the staff make it the staff make they are all so nice






the hotel is nice but i think the staff make it they are all so nice i had BB and they did my eggs the way i like them


the hotel is nice but i think the staff make it they are all so nice bar food is good and not a bad price the music on sat night was very good a very good singer mancroom itself there is not much in it i think it is more of a stop off if going to kerry or cork there is a chip shop down from the hotel the food is not nice it better to eat in hotel

Room Tip: a corner room would be good nice quiet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The 4 star Castle Hotel Macroom and thank you so much for reviewing us here on Trip Advisor. I have let our staff know of your kind remarks and how much you enjoyed your visit. We would be thrilled to have the opportunity to welcome you back again and we will certainly provide you with lots of information on things to do in Macroom and the wonderful Lee Valley area of our South West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing