We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here the other night. Dined in bar and quality of food was excellent. There was a Christmas party there as well, but they left to move to their own room. They were a lovely crowd and not rowdy or loud.

Rooms are definitely 4 star quality. One cannot fault the rooms. They are very well decorated and kitted out. Air conditioning is a plus. A separate shower rather than one over the bath would be a bonus. Still, the water pressure was fantastic. It certainly wakes one up and the management must be complimented for the water pressure. Many hotels of a more recent vintage have poor pressure.

Leisure centre has a pool, steam room jaccuzi and gym. The gym is well equipped and staff are very helpful. The pool is not huge, but it is not advertised as huge either. The only thing that would prevent me giving the place a 4 star rating is the lack of a sauna. There is a steam room, but personally, I prefer the sauna. herself is a steam room fan though.

We overheard the party crowd the following morning, who were very satisfied with the food as well as the quality of the rooms.

There is secure parking provided. Its a bit hard to find it, but it is signposted. Macroom is a motorists nightmare for traffic jams, so if you miss the turn, you could be half an hour turning back to find it! As a guide, find the Post Office on Main Street, if coming from Cork, turn Right just at PO and if coming from Killarney, it's just before it.

As a half way house between Cork and Killarney, I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saravima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We were so pleased to read your recent review of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and of course for giving us such high praise. I have let all our staff members know of your kind words and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Macroom again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Myself and 5 friends had a wonderful relaxing girlie night away recently with evening meal, breakfast and spa treatment.This hotel offered good value and is situated in the center of Macroom town.Our rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped.The staff friendly and very helpful. There was a great menu selection for both evening meal and breakfast. All 5 of us had a range of spa treatments from the masseuse Majella,which were excellent and we were all very pleased with.
Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay break away with the girls!

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I used to stay here on business regularly, but had not done so for sometime. The hotel was as friendly as before and tis I think is the charm of the place; old style high quality Irish hotel at the heart of the town and the community. The food was good, both at the bar and the breakfast in the morning. Recommended if staying in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burrenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you! What a beautiful review of The Castle Hotel!

On behalf of the Buckley Family and our entire team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments and of course for choosing The Castle Hotel for your gathering.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a family gathering in this lovely hotel recently and found it excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. The meal on the night for 100 people was excellent. Some of my family stayed overnight and found the rooms excellent. I have sence stopped there for food and the choice is excellent. There is a daily carvery in the bar area with a great choice. It is great value and the food is great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat1955021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you very much for choosing The 4 Star Castle Hotel for your recent gathering. It was our honour to host your event and it is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your stay and visit so much. Thank you for posting your review here on Trip Advisor and we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Castle Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for a week wih our grandchildren, and had a lovely time.
The hotel is quite pricy, but it does include a pool, which is great.
We did find Breakfast too expensive, so only had that twice. The bar/restaurant was very nice, and the service wonderful.
The room was lovely, very clean, nice and warm, great comfortable beds.
Great that we had WIFI, though would have been even better if we didn't have to get a new code every day at reception, bu if there was 1 code for the duration of your stay, or per week.
The staff were all wonderful, and very friendly and accommodating.
We had a lovely stay here, and so had our grandchildren, as this is a real child-friendly establishment.
Will def stay here again when in Macroom !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay with your grandchildren.

Thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night and it's a really nice hotel; staff are very friendly and the breakfast next morning was excellent (cooked fresh !...).. The rooms are very nice/modern with a really good multi-jet shower which is a nice treat (didn't get to use the leisure center I'm afraid so can't comment). Just one tip though, if you think you are going to get the "munchies" after 9pm, you should be aware that you will need to order the food before then as the kitchen closes at 9pm, but if you pre-order, the night porter will stick you on a toastie !.
Town was very quiet (perhaps November is just a quiet month), but would certainly recommend the hotel if you happen to be in Macroom for a night or two..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestOpinionIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, General Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. In addition we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve!

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.


Dear Guest,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Have often stopped at this hotel to eat but never stayed there until recently. Highly recommended. Food is great and rooms lovely. Staff are really friendly and welcoming and extremely helpful. I had been involved in an accident and was in a wheelchair when I stayed here. Everyone involved was really considerate and went to a lot of trouble to make sure I was comfortable and looked after.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

On behalf of the Buckley Family and our team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments about your Castle Hotel Experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we do hope you are making a speedy recovery.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
212 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range: £82 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing