We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2008

My wife and I had originally stayed in the Castle Hotel for a weekend in 2007. The service we received by the staff was second to none. There is a fantastic homely feel to this Hotel which would make anybody feel relaxed once they enter the premises. The bar appears to be very lively and any time we went into it there was always live music playing during the night. The food in both the cafe, bar and restaurant is of an extremely high standard and the rooms are very spacious and relaxing. With the service and special touches that this Hotel possess my wife and I decided to have our wedding reception there on the 12th July 2008. I must thank the Hotels Manger John Paul for all the assistance he gave us on our wedding day. He is a credit to the hotel and we will be definitely coming back on numerous occassions in the future. Looking forward to seeing you all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Niall_Jacinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2008

Booked 2 rooms via the hotels own website under their July Sunday specials of EUR59 per room - as one of the rooms was for my elderly parents I decided to opt for the option to upgrade their room to an Executive for an extra EUR10. The hotels website states that check-in is from 3pm, we arrived at this time and had to wait an hour until our rooms were ready. When we got to the rooms (long corridor walk - no assistance with baggage) I noticed that my parents 'Executive room' was exactly the same as ours. At that point we were all so shattered from travelling we decided to just leave it as we did not want to wait another hour for the room to be ready. The rooms themselves were quite dated and are in bad need of modernisation. The breakfast is actually quite good with a very good selection on offer. At checkout the lady at reception said 'that will be EUR293 for both rooms' even though she had a print out in her hand showing that I had booked both rooms for EUR128 inn total. Once I pointed this out she muttered something about our booking having been for 3 persons not 4 - I clarified that this error was due to a limitation on their own website which defualts to 1 person for double rooms. She did the usual tip/tap on a claculator before pronouncing grumpily 'that will be EUR128 so'
Overall not a very pleasant stay - would not pay more than the EUR60 we paid for B&B

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RovingRaphoeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

I stayed one night in this hotel on the 9th July. It is a nice hotel right on the main street in Macroom Co. Cork. Reception was very helpful when we arrived early for check in and sorted us out in 10 minutes. The room was very spacious with a large comfortable bed. The bathroom was very clean and had all the usual soaps etc. They could replace the bath mat though. The breakfast was nice with buffet and a separate menu of hot food. We had a drink in the bar which has a nice quiet ambiance. It also has a cafe in the reception serving home made delicious cakes and buns. I would definitely stay again. I got a good discounted rate on eurobookings.com

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Theresehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

We stayed here for a three day break...there were six couples and all thouroughly enjoyed our stay, The rooms were very spacious,leisure centre very good but most of all the food was excellent (restaurant is lovely),,,,,,,,,,,and the staff (all of them )were extremely friendly and courteous(especially Micky,the night porter!)..All in all a fantastic weekend had by all and would highly recommend this hotel..............we shall return!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kennythedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

have stayed in the castle twice and i have to say that it was excellent on both occasions. as a member of the hotel community i am highly criticial ... no need to be critical here . bailyes coffee serevd at 2.00am with fresh cream ... piping hot breakfast .... irish staff who are friendly and willing ..... beautiful rooms . thank you for a wondreful stay

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank USIT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

Just go to experince the friendly charm of the staff and atmosphere


You wont be dissapointed well done

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank berlinaffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Castle hotel for three great days in August. Staff were so friendly right from the start especially Thish on reception. We had a large room with a very comfortable bed at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park so we had no noise. Food in the bar was excellent and reasonably priced as was that of the coffee shop, but the selection in the restaurant was limited and expensive. The only area of disappointment was the leisure centre. It was poorly decorated and the tiles in the pool looked stained. However this area of the hotel is due for an overhaul at the end of August so perhaps things will improve. Macroom is in a very central location and is just right as a base from which to tour Cork and east Kerry. Nice Golf course in town and lovely river walk. Not much night life but the hotel has music one or two nights per week. We would love to return to this hotel next year.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank doglover004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macroom, Owner / Partner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2007

Thank you for your kind words. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your compliments to all of the staff & especially Trish !

Ps Refurbishment of Leisure Centre Changing Rooms Etc due for completion by Monday next 10th September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
225 reviews
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,281 reviews
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Address: Castle Hotel And Leisure Centre Main Street, Macroom P12 X293, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range: £74 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing