We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Pleasant.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I've stayed here on a number of occassions over th elast 4 years, the most recent visit was in April 2014. I have very mixed feelings about this hotel. On the face of it the hotel is lovely, the decor of the public areas is very nice and the staff were very friendly and informative.

But I find the rooms to be small and dated. Everytime I have stayed I have been to a different room and they all have the feel of being a little "old". Granted the hotel is well established and is located in the middle of the town but between all the narrow corridors, steps up and down etc. it is very easy to get lost while trying to find your room.

My last room was at the back of the hotel and it was long and narrow. It was spotlessly clean which is always my first requirement. The bathroom was nice and I have no complaints.

I can't comment about food because, although I have always paid the B&B rate (there is no room only rate - which is a shame), I always have to leave before the breakfast is served.

A few things I don't like include the fact that the car park is to the rear of the hotel and getting from there to the reception incolves 2 flights of stairs and no lift. I imagine wheel chair users must have another way in. Also, there is a strong smell of chlorine in some part fo the hotel, from the pool area.

All in all, it is a nice hotel. I have stayed before and will again. Maybe the hotel could look at their pricing model and add a room only option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atomise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for continually choosing to stay at The 4 Star Castle Hotel. We really do appreciate your loyal custom. And thank you very much for sharing your views with us and others as we thrive on feedback from our guests. We are always looking at methods of improving our hotel and all our products and services. We are more than happy to help with luggage assistance to your bedroom, so please do ask and we will be there! On selected dates we offer a room only rate on our website of www.castlehotel.ie, so you are more than welcome to avail of this great rate. We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Castle Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    112
    30
    12
    2
See reviews for
191
255
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at The Castle Hotel for just one night on the 30th April 2014. After a long day of flying into Dublin, all day meetings and a fair drive down to the hotel for a next day meeting with two colleagues it was a very welcome and needed place to stay. Immediately welcomed by the reception staff with a smile and good humour with a room that was very comfortable and clean, the bed and pillows are worthy of particular praise as hotel beds can so often be very uncomfortable. The hotel is very nicely furnished and worthy of its awards.

We didn't dine in the hotel that night but had a very good breakfast the next morning and left feeling relaxed and ready for the long day ahead.

I've gone on about how nice it was to my wife and daughter so much that we're planing a week of touring Ireland next year and the Castle Hotel (and Macroom) is already on the list of places we're going to be visiting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 645CTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay and meeting in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. In addition we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we really look forward to welcoming you and your family to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We went as a group of 12, i.e. 6 couples for the May Day weekend. Our booking was perfect and preparations had been made for our arrival with some special surprises. We were amazed at the warm and genuine welcome from all the staff. The food was great, tasty & plentiful rather than works of art. Breakfast brought freshly cooked to the table rather than from a self serve cabinet where it had been festering for hours. What a refreshing change.
All in all a terrific, comfortable hotel with extraordinary staff. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Castle Hotel. Many thanks.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fidgetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you! What a beautiful review of The Castle Hotel!

On behalf of the Buckley Family and our entire team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments about The Castle Hotel Experience. And thank you so much for selecting to stay with us for your group's get together!

We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay so much.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned this evening from a long weekend with a group of friends. We are enjoying a cup of tea and a few slices of wheaten bread, given to us as we left. It was a delightful experience from start to finish. We travelled with sports cars and spaces in the car park were reserved for us each day. The rooms were warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There was an endless supply of piping hot water and tea, coffee, biscuits and water in the room. The food was delicious and the service was friendly and very efficient. We had a great time with our waiter on the Sunday evening - he was so friendly but very courteous and professional. Breakfast was cooked to order and worth waiting for. We has no complaints whatsoever. It was a perfect base for our tour of West Cork and we would recommend it to anyone. The only downside was the weather!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maysiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom! It was our pleasure to host your Car Group for the weekend. And thank you most sincerely for your very kind words, which I have shared with our team of staff. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your brown bread gift and we really will have to work harder on arranging some more Lee Valley sunshine for next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We are just back from a night at the castle hotel. We were delighted with our rooms which were adjoining. We have three children and it is not you get such good rates for adjoining rooms. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and most importantly, quiet. The pool was perfect for the children. We were part of a group which included 6 children. Every effort was made to make it a great stay. We will definitely be recommending this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and of course we are naturally delighted to learn that your family enjoyed your stay with us so much. We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

2nd time at this hotel and getting better each visit .. the staff are so friendly .. food fab and atmosphere makes it impossible not to relax .... better for couples than families I feel but totally recommended it for that hard earned child free break ..... plus 15 mins from wilton for thoses little shopping moments

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliecup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, General Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of The 4 Star Castle Hotel. We are honoured that we are your weekend break of choice and we very much look forward to looking after you for years to come. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I have passed on your kind remarks to all staff and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed there again this weekend. As always, the care and attention to detail made our visit another cherished memory. Being Easter, we were treated to complimentary sweets and little Easter eggs, just another homely touch which is why we love staying there so much. From the moment we arrived at reception, the owners, management, bar staff, waiters, waitresses, wanted to ensure we had another visit to remember, The whole staff are so social and happy, and this creates a marvellous atmosphere throughout the hotel. Food as usual is of the highest calibre and A.J. and his team ensure every need is catered for. We love everything about the Castle Hotel, especially the brown bread. Staff also ensured we had some to take home by leaving a loaf in our bedroom for us. Where else would you get such efficiency and consideration. We can`t wait for our next trip down South to the Castle. Thanks again to Gerard and Don. You have a staff to be proud of, who are a credit to the hotel, the tourist industry and Macroom Thanks again

Room Tip: Fantastic food, great atmosphere and a staff to remember
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmett1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Castle Hotel Experience! We are thrilled to learn that once again you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do value your opinions and I know others find reviews so useful to plan their own breaks. I have let our staff know of your lovely remarks and we all look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
205 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,136 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing