We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Province of Leinster, Ireland
1 review
“Great Hotel..”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights mid July 2014 and its a place I would certainly go back to. The location is great for travelling in Cork and Kerry. Its no. 1 asset is its staff!!! They are great. Facilities are top notch...food is excellent and we even dropped in on lovely Irish Music in the bar one of the nights. All in all a great hotel, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortbreak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you! What a really lovely review of The Castle Hotel!

We are so pleased to learn that everything about your stay with us was such a success. We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion here with others. And we very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    112
    30
    12
    2
See reviews for
189
255
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Boyfriend and u stayed here a few months back, spare of the moment decision and went in on the off chance they'd have a room available ... They did! We were not disappointed!! Staff couldn't have been friendlier and food was top notch! A fantastic well run hotel, can't wait to return!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fiddleydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. And thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are naturally thrilled to read your glowing report and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed here last nt with my daughter and some friends for the wedding fare today everything was wonderful............ lovely staff great food .comfortable beds lovely leisure centre....... a lovely relaxed air about the place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterfordPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, General Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us for our Wedding Show. It was our pleasure to meet you and your daughter. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your visit and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to The Castle Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stay in a lot of hotels all over Ireland. This is the nicest and most luxurious hotel I have stayed in for the price. The staff are amazing - all over the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for you. The choice of food is superb (I am a veggie and had plenty of choice). My room was amazing, jacuzzi bath, air con, spacious, massive bed. Ok, the view was pretty limited (back of a shopping centre) but the inside more than made up for it and I was there for business so I didn't mind. I can highly recommend this hotel, I will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: Its on a main street - the rooms at the back may be slightly quieter although there was some noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleeper3601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. In addition we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Mayo, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here on weekend mini-break with my family in July 2014. A great little family hotel (I think around 60 bedrooms). We had a spacious family room with generous proportioned family bathroom. The breakfasts were well-cooked with a great choice of hot & cold items. The hotel had a well equipped leisure centre when we looked around, but we had no time to fully use it. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The only negative was a group of drunken louts outside the hotel down a side pathway next to the adjacent Supervalu on the Saturday evening. Our room was on the second floor, but they were below our window. However we raised this problem with reception, and they were quick to send some staff around to tell them to clear away. The rest of the night was then quite. All in all a very enjoyable family weekend away!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the left-hand side (west facing) hotel side away from the alleyway shared w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you! What a beautiful review of The Castle Hotel!

On behalf of the Buckley Family and our entire team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments about The Castle Hotel Experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here lots of times. Great staff, good food, clean and well kept. When I'm in this part of the country I always come back. At least 25 times at this stage, which says it all! Only small issue is the rooms out to the front street are very noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid low level room on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wicklow8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much for continuing to choose The 4 Star Castle Hotel. We are honoured to hear that you have stayed as many as 25 times! And thank you most sincerely for taking the time to share your Castle Hotel experience with others. We know our guests find these reviews so helpful when planning their holidays. We really do hope that we see you soon again in Macroom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We visited here twice to eat over the last few days and found the food first class, great variety and even though the hotel was really busy the service was very fast.... I must mention one member of staff a waitress(I have a terrible memory and cannot remember her name, small girl with blond hair was working on Friday and Saturday 11th and 12th July) she is a credit to the hotel, efficient, pleasant and a great personality..... well definitely return.

Room Tip: we were not staying at the hotel just dined here twice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twoscompany2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for eating at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We are really pleased to know that you enjoyed your food so much! We have passed on your very kind remarks to all our staff and indeed Noreen who is the girl you described! We really appreciate you taking the time to post about your visit and we would of course be delighted to welcome you back should you be visiting The Macroom area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
205 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing