We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing - cannot fault this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing - cannot fault this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

Ok – I am very late in writing this so apologies to the hotel. I attended my sisters wedding in the Castle at the beginning of the year. We stayed the night of the wedding & two nights after to unwind and relax after the big day.

I won’t bore you with the details of the wedding planning, but needless to say that was professional, straight forward and nothing was too much trouble for John-Paul and his team. On arrival from the church we were greeted by champagne, a log fire, and a warm and cosy hotel. Lovely on a winter’s day! Staff were professional & courteous and all the guests felt at home.

Check in was a breeze – despite large numbers congregating at the same time. Luggage was looked after & keys given out quickly so no-one missed any of the action downstairs. The rooms were a mix of old and new, and one guest couldn’t believe how big her bed was – they were thinking that they would not be able to find their partner!

The wedding breakfast was amazing. Choice of Steak, cooked medium or well, and fish. Sorbets & desserts were gorgeous. The food was of restaurant standard rather that the usual mass produced ‘hotel function’ food. We danced the night away until the early hours & there was no sign of the bar ever closing!

Breakfast the morning after was served until 11am – greatly appreciated by all our guests. We were the only people in the hotel so suggested that the staff get a lie in and not start breakfast until 9.30! We stayed on a 3 night B&B and 1 dinner deal and chose to have the dinner that night as some family were also staying on. To our surprise, the group of 20 (after the bride & grooms agreement) were offered the left over wedding wine! Not many hotels would do that as it was doing them out of wine sales! Dinner was lovely, and not a bit of wedding left-overs in sight (I have experienced this in other hotels). Again, the bar showed no signs of closing for residents that night! We retired up to the library in the early hours and John-Paul brought up some chocolate biscuits & crisps should we feel hungry. At this point we started to think that he never went home!

The third day was a much quieter affair. We all relaxed in front of the fire & took things very easy. All in all, a lovely wedding & and great weekend. I cannot wait to go back. One thing worth noting, all wedding guests staying were offered a discounted weekend or 3 night stay, not the usual inflated prices some hotels charges, and the bride & groom were under no pressure to sell a certain number of rooms to guests. John-Paul and his staff are truly exceptional.

  • Liked — Great staff - nothing too much trouble
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShauntheSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    106
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
183
251
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

Had a two night stay over bank holiday weekend, accompanied by parents who are in late seventies and two cuildren age 11 and 12, Everyone enjoyed their stay. We had a family room and connecting double at the back of the hotel on what I assume is the new wing. My father is a retired travel agent so would be used to staying in the best hotels around the world, I work in the service industry, so we look at things in a slightly different light. Despite the varied ages we found all our needs were met. The rooms were large and very clean. We found excellent service from all departments. The reception arranged golf for my husband and father and recommended some lovely drives for us to take. The surrounding area is beautiful for drives or walks.The children enjoyed the pool which was clean and well supervised by friendly staff. Dinner and breakfast were lovely. We liked the fact that bar food was available throughout the day allowing for us to do different things at different times. The location is good as you can nip to Cork easily for some retail therapy then return to relax at the hotel. Overall a very enjoyable weekend and we all would recommend it to all ages.

  • Liked — Staff mst have been hand picked
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarniaTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

Second visit to the Castle and just as good as remembered.
Staff most friendly. Food excellent. Accomodation excellent.
Location excellent. Will definitely be a regular visitor.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Cleaning sometimes spotty
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Sales & Marketing Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 9 September 2008
Thank you for taking the time to review The Castle Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit to Macroom and I have passed on your very kind comments to all our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Castle in the future.

Kind regards,

Rachael Kohler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

My wife and I had originally stayed in the Castle Hotel for a weekend in 2007. The service we received by the staff was second to none. There is a fantastic homely feel to this Hotel which would make anybody feel relaxed once they enter the premises. The bar appears to be very lively and any time we went into it there was always live music playing during the night. The food in both the cafe, bar and restaurant is of an extremely high standard and the rooms are very spacious and relaxing. With the service and special touches that this Hotel possess my wife and I decided to have our wedding reception there on the 12th July 2008. I must thank the Hotels Manger John Paul for all the assistance he gave us on our wedding day. He is a credit to the hotel and we will be definitely coming back on numerous occassions in the future. Looking forward to seeing you all.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Niall_Jacinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

Booked 2 rooms via the hotels own website under their July Sunday specials of EUR59 per room - as one of the rooms was for my elderly parents I decided to opt for the option to upgrade their room to an Executive for an extra EUR10. The hotels website states that check-in is from 3pm, we arrived at this time and had to wait an hour until our rooms were ready. When we got to the rooms (long corridor walk - no assistance with baggage) I noticed that my parents 'Executive room' was exactly the same as ours. At that point we were all so shattered from travelling we decided to just leave it as we did not want to wait another hour for the room to be ready. The rooms themselves were quite dated and are in bad need of modernisation. The breakfast is actually quite good with a very good selection on offer. At checkout the lady at reception said 'that will be EUR293 for both rooms' even though she had a print out in her hand showing that I had booked both rooms for EUR128 inn total. Once I pointed this out she muttered something about our booking having been for 3 persons not 4 - I clarified that this error was due to a limitation on their own website which defualts to 1 person for double rooms. She did the usual tip/tap on a claculator before pronouncing grumpily 'that will be EUR128 so'
Overall not a very pleasant stay - would not pay more than the EUR60 we paid for B&B

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Service at reception desk / Rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RovingRaphoeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

I stayed one night in this hotel on the 9th July. It is a nice hotel right on the main street in Macroom Co. Cork. Reception was very helpful when we arrived early for check in and sorted us out in 10 minutes. The room was very spacious with a large comfortable bed. The bathroom was very clean and had all the usual soaps etc. They could replace the bath mat though. The breakfast was nice with buffet and a separate menu of hot food. We had a drink in the bar which has a nice quiet ambiance. It also has a cafe in the reception serving home made delicious cakes and buns. I would definitely stay again. I got a good discounted rate on eurobookings.com

  • Liked — Its central position
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Theresehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

We stayed here for a three day break...there were six couples and all thouroughly enjoyed our stay, The rooms were very spacious,leisure centre very good but most of all the food was excellent (restaurant is lovely),,,,,,,,,,,and the staff (all of them )were extremely friendly and courteous(especially Micky,the night porter!)..All in all a fantastic weekend had by all and would highly recommend this hotel..............we shall return!!

  • Liked — Staff and Food were exceptional
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennythedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing