We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had one of our best experiences ever at the Castle Hotel because of the extremely nice and serviceminded staff plus the fact that the food was lovely and the atmosphere great. Kevin O'Sullivan behind the bar was super nice, and we will never forget the little blond girl with glasses who served our food (whose name we have forgotten, but we think it starts with an M), she was just great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretaTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Castle Hotel Macroom. And thank you for taking the time to post your review here. We are all absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed everything about your visit so much. Yes, Kevin and Majella are wonderful and I have let all our staff know of your very kind remarks. We all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel for three wonderful nights. The staff are outstanding in their helpfulness and general friendliness and went beyond the call of duty when promptly posting two items I left behind me, free of charge. Nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast buffet is world class and the evening dining options are also great./ This is a top class genuine family run hotel and deserves every accolade it gets!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilisquinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, General Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you! What a beautiful review of The Castle Hotel! On behalf of the Buckley Family and our entire team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments in about The Castle Hotel Experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We equally enjoyed looking after you!

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Castle for 3 nights.

It is about 30 miles from Cork, and had a rural feel. The town is small, with not much to see, do or visit. Okay for travellers with a car.

Rooms are traditionally decorated and were relatively clean. The room was Just a little too small for a three night stay.

The staff were all just so welcoming, helpful and friendly - there is a lovely homely feel. We ate at the bar ever night and the food was really tasty. It was all home made.

Breakfast is a treat too, with plenty of choice, and replenished all the time.

A lovely hotel in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SuchiterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Castle Hotel. Macroom is a great base for touring the South West. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and we are most grateful to you for taking the time to share your opinion with us and others here. I have let our Chef and his wonderful team know that you really enjoyed their food! We really hope that you will choose The Castle Hotel again, should you be back in The Lee Valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went back to the Castle for a short summer break.Just got back home after a thoroughly enjoyable break.From the momebt we checked in they just couldn't do enough for us.
All the staff reception,waiting,bar,housekeeping were absolutely brilliant.
We went for the 2 B & B 1Dinner package and we were so well looked after that we could have stayed forever.
Again thank you to the Castle.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you so much for selecting to stay once again at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We were delighted to welcome you back and so very pleased to know that your second visit was so enjoyable. We really do appreciate your feedback and I have shared your very kind remarks with all our staff. We would very much welcome the opportunity to once again look after you, should you choose Macroom as your next break away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

You feel at home the moment you set foot in this hotel.

All of the smiling staff are incredibly friendly and helpful.The food is fantastic, with several delicious vegetarian options.

Rooms are really comfortable, spotlessly clean and well appointed.You feel totally relaxed. Clearly there is a culture of providing great customer care hard at work in this hotel. Its warm without being formal, a nice balance.

Without doubt I will be staying at this hotel given the next opportunity.

To all of the staff - thanks for looking after me so well and keep up your great standards:)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words and review. We were so pleased to know that your recent stay with us was such a good experience. We really appreciate this feedback as of course we are keen to learn what our customers think. And it also helps other holiday makers or business guests plan their visits. We would all welcome the opportunity to welcome you back to The 4 Star Castle Hotel the next time you are in the Macroom area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We came to macroom for the long weekend and had a great time. The hotel is so nice and clean with a great pool and the friendliest staff.. The room was perfect and spacious. It's a great location if you want to use as a base between Cork and Killarney. We spent a morning in gougane barra, was fab. Defiantly a stay to remember.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Robbhurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you really made the most of our wonderful Lee Valley area and it was great you manged to see Gougane Barra, as we think it's one of the world's hidden gems!

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The food and accommodation have improved immensely. The service and the staff are still excellent. Well worth a visit. Catherine at reception was a pleasure dot deal with. Eileen was also excellent. A pint of Guinness was only €4.05!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank vinnyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlehotelm, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff, especially Catherine and Eileen. We hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom and maybe have another pint!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
218 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
729 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Address: Castle Hotel And Leisure Centre Main Street, Macroom P12 X293, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range: £82 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing