We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest Staff - Most Pleasant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Northboro, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendliest Staff - Most Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2005

My wife and I stayed 7 nights and were pampered by the most helpful and accomodating staff we have ever met. They consistently went far beyond what we would expect in order to make sure we were satisfied with everything.

The room was clean and pleasantly decorated. The leisure centre was very well kept, equipped with very good exercise equipment and staffed with helpful and knowledgable staff.

The restaurant and bar were very relaxing and enjoyable with excellent food at very reasonable prices.

We enjoyed the town of Macroom and were able to easily go by bus or car to Cork or Killarney.

And, in the evening when we returned to the hotel, it was like returning home to family. The staff always took genuine interest in what we had seen and what we might want to do the following day.

All in all - we highly recommend The Castle.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJH-DVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    104
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
181
247
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2005

This is a real gem of a hotel, stayed there in October for the long weekend and we had our seven month old son with us. Staff could simply not do enough for us. Beautiful spacious room. Food was simply delicious. Had a fantastic Indian Head Massage in the treatment room and it was the best ever, this lady really knows her business.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2005

Just returned from a fantastic weekend break at the Castle Hotel in Macroom Co Cork Ireland. One of the best hotels ever stayed in Ireland. Rooms very clean and spacious, food excellent and staff wonderful and friendly, they couldn't do enough to help!!
Would definately recommend a stay in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2004

There is nothing bad to say about The Castle Hotel. The outside give no clues to the renovated, and now beautiful interior. We have visited the area a lot and eaten there frequently but only recently had the chance to stay. We had a very spacious room, beutifully decorated with all mod cons, even down to a remote control airconditioner. We opted for breakfast in our room and for the first time in any hotel we've stayed at, I can say that everything was piping hot. The Castle is a credit to Irish hotels with very friendly staff who are more than happy to assist with any questions you have and an unbelievable interior.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2003

In agreement with the previous review , most everything was perfect, including the reasonably-price bar food and the ultra-friendly staff.
I've stayed there four times, and each stay has been up to this standard.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing