We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth a stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

The only thing wrong with our stay at the Castle Hotel was that it wasn't long enough, we only booked one night.
Lovely hotel, staff from the reception to the restaurant to the bar were very friendly, polite & mannerly.
Food was amazing and breakfast was plentiful, we will definitely be going back to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minx1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    110
    30
    12
    2
See reviews for
189
254
13
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Our room was a little bit "well worn" as were the long meandering corridors. Room was spacious but with a very small window letting in very little fresh air. Bathroom was fine with everything you would need. Lovely big fresh towels provided.

The food is fabulous! We had dinner on the night we arrived and I was surprised by the lovely menu choices. I thoroughly enjoyed what I had and the tase of everything from starter to dessert was truly delicious! The service was fast, friendly and efficient too.

The breakfast is to die for! There are the usual juices, cereals, fruit salads, nuts, etc. but the choice of hot food is unbelievable. I just had to have the pancakes with cripy bacon and maple syrup!

I found the service from start to finish friendly, helpful and efficient. They obviously have a fantastic chef. The hotel has a lovely little coffee shop to the front which is open to the public but could be useful to pass an hour or two with your favourite book if the weather wasnt great.

Forgot to mention the leisure centre. We used this for a gym and swim session. The pooll is small and there were a lot of children in it. There is also a steam room. Very enjoyable.

This hotel is big on service and food and I would give it 5* for those two very important aspects of any stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Macroom is a nondescript town with heavy traffic constantly moving through it. It is not listed in any of the guide books to Ireland. However a stay in the Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre in the town centre turned our short break in the locality into a memorable experience.

The staff in the hotel made us feel valued; they gave us the feeling that they wanted us to have an enjoyable time there. The room we were in was large but dated in décor – yet this did not matter. The food in the restaurant and bar was first-class – though you could choose a course unwisely. It would be impossible to be dissatisfied with the range, quality and size of the breakfasts. The staff in Reception went to pains to tell us about the attractions in the vicinity. Nothing was brash; an air of quiet and dignified enjoyment pervaded the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This hotel has done things right, the service is great, the rooms are large and clean, and the location is right next to a grocery store and down the block from the best restaraunt in town. I would highly suggest this hotel for business travelers, the breakfast is great and the bar is perfect for a pint. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citygirl0299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Stayed here for new yeats, the food is the wonderful , i would go here again and again for the food.
The room was lovely the decor a bit dated but suited the hotel well, high standard of Housekeeping, reception staff brilliant , all staff are good at their job.
Small bit of noise from nightclub but it wouldnt bother you really.
I will be back as soon as I can.
Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

It's a nice 4 star,a typical country town four star with a very good leisure center and pool out the back.
Check in was quick and pleasant.
This was my second stay here.I was in a fairly nice largish "Executive" room.
It had tea and coffee facilities and an ironing board.
The bathroom reminded me of one you'd see in the westin Dublin so someone did a bit of homework - quite nice with their own brand toiletries which were adequate.
This room type does not have a separate shower.
The "contemporary" room does.
Thats pretty much the only major difference between the two for 40 euro more.
The Tv is an old 20 inch with just 8 or 10 channels so if you are down on a business meeting ,you'd better have a good book to read,go for a long swim or use the fitness facilities.
Breakfast served in the restaurant downstairs was wholesome,tasty and there was plenty of it.
I'd say the same of the bar food the previous evening,it hit the spot when hungry and was served quickly.
The kitchen closes at 930pm though so be aware of that.

As for outside noise...yes there is a night club that you will hear on a friday but more especially a saturday night.It's more obvious with the window open but does stop at around 1am.

All in all good value south of €80 a night.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Stayed in The Castle for a weekend with extended family. All agreed the hotel is superb. Room facilities were excellent. Location is great as well and Macroom is a nice spot with plenty of amenities. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Very clean. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
202 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing