We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was a wonderful find - will definitely be going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This was a last minute booking. We recently spent 3 nights at this hotel - couldn't speak highly enough about it. Small family-run hotel - great food, comfortable surroundings and such a friendly, hardworking and welcoming staff (so rare to find these days). Our stay was so cheap as we were availing of the supervalu breaks and, on checking out, we were given a "winter warmer voucher" which entitled us both to one free night accommodation. It was such a central locaton - accessed Kenmare, Killarney and lots more. What a bonus to have a lovely leisure centre attached - will definitely be returning!

Mary and Tom - very satisfied Tipp customers!
,

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valentinefourteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Thanks very much for your recent very kind remarks following your visit to Macroom and The Castle Hotel, We love to hear your feed back and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience and visiting our local areas. We really look forward to welcoming you back on your 'Winter Warmer'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

We had the pleasure of a two night stay this week and it was a lovely experience. From the minute we arrived the staff were friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay from start to finish. The food is outstanding with an extensive breakfast menu and fabulous evening dining. Pancakes for breakfast and tiger prawn skewers for dinner were to die for. Thank you. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schilacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Castle Hotel. Your very kind remarks are very much appreciated and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Macroom again soon. Best Regards from all at The Castle Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I, with my family, was leading a group, which stayed in the hotel over the weekend of 17th July. We required a conference room and we also had a dog with us. The staff were excellent at all times, were most obliging, and were very positive with suggestions on how best I could do things. We had an excellent room, very quiet during the night. The food was excellent, and service was great. The staff were at all times most helpful. I would certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantobre60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Macroom again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

The only thing wrong with our stay at the Castle Hotel was that it wasn't long enough, we only booked one night.
Lovely hotel, staff from the reception to the restaurant to the bar were very friendly, polite & mannerly.
Food was amazing and breakfast was plentiful, we will definitely be going back to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minx1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Our room was a little bit "well worn" as were the long meandering corridors. Room was spacious but with a very small window letting in very little fresh air. Bathroom was fine with everything you would need. Lovely big fresh towels provided.

The food is fabulous! We had dinner on the night we arrived and I was surprised by the lovely menu choices. I thoroughly enjoyed what I had and the tase of everything from starter to dessert was truly delicious! The service was fast, friendly and efficient too.

The breakfast is to die for! There are the usual juices, cereals, fruit salads, nuts, etc. but the choice of hot food is unbelievable. I just had to have the pancakes with cripy bacon and maple syrup!

I found the service from start to finish friendly, helpful and efficient. They obviously have a fantastic chef. The hotel has a lovely little coffee shop to the front which is open to the public but could be useful to pass an hour or two with your favourite book if the weather wasnt great.

Forgot to mention the leisure centre. We used this for a gym and swim session. The pooll is small and there were a lot of children in it. There is also a steam room. Very enjoyable.

This hotel is big on service and food and I would give it 5* for those two very important aspects of any stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Macroom is a nondescript town with heavy traffic constantly moving through it. It is not listed in any of the guide books to Ireland. However a stay in the Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre in the town centre turned our short break in the locality into a memorable experience.

The staff in the hotel made us feel valued; they gave us the feeling that they wanted us to have an enjoyable time there. The room we were in was large but dated in décor – yet this did not matter. The food in the restaurant and bar was first-class – though you could choose a course unwisely. It would be impossible to be dissatisfied with the range, quality and size of the breakfasts. The staff in Reception went to pains to tell us about the attractions in the vicinity. Nothing was brash; an air of quiet and dignified enjoyment pervaded the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This hotel has done things right, the service is great, the rooms are large and clean, and the location is right next to a grocery store and down the block from the best restaraunt in town. I would highly suggest this hotel for business travelers, the breakfast is great and the bar is perfect for a pint. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citygirl0299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
224 reviews
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
736 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,692 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Address: Castle Hotel And Leisure Centre Main Street, Macroom P12 X293, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range: £70 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing