We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot for quick walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gearagh

The Gearagh
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Macroom
Attraction details
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good spot for quick walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

A regular spot for a quick walk with great view of the Gearagh (fossilized forest). Great for spotting different types of birds. Our kids (between 1-8 yr) love it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisMeule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Mystical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Lovely place for a walk.... Peaceful and beautiful. Recommended by locals as a "must do" when spending time in Macroom.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJSmith0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Stumps, swans, foxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I have been here a few times and always enjoy it. The water level rises and falls so much that it can look completely different at different times of the year. Old tree trunks sticking out of the water serve as a reminder that this was at one time not flooded by a dam and provides a somewhat surreal atmosphere. There are always swans to be seen here, quite often in large numbers together with other water birds. There is a great walk that can provide a good looped walk though I would warn you that sparkling white trainers are inadvisable as it can get rather muddy. Parking is somewhat limited. Overall I have rated it very good, but I would underline that if you are looking for anything spectacular you may be disappointed. In words I would say Good for a pleasant, largely flat, walk and for that it is excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JGrant44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"hidden gem"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have lived in the region for 10 years and drive by The gearagh frequently - finally got around to walking through it! It's a delight for nature-lovers, photographers and atruly unique landscape

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank veronica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork/london/dublin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Peaceful and tranquil walking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

A fabulous walk in good weather but very soggy in places otherwise.Situated just 2-3 minsoutside Macroom and a haven besides ever present lakes for nature and wildlife lovers.The walk is a natural progression from the small car park beside the road and meanders amidst wonderfullake views (a reservoir) with the very old emains of ancient forest stumps.Great picknicking spot in dry warm weather and a great walk all year round if you have good footwear and waterproofs. Take a packed lunch and drinks , stroll and just enjoy this lovely peaceful place

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank odysseus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gearagh also viewed

 

Been to The Gearagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing