We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“school group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“school group”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Last weekend we had a school group of 18 students and 2 tadults staying in the Riverside Park hotel for a drama festival in the town.
Firstly the hotel gave us a very good rate.
I can honestly say that in my 20+ years of teaching, having organised many trips, I have never come across a more welcoming, accomodating hotel.
Our girls had a late night on Friday night and the hotel organised a late breakfast for them on Saturday morning. I expected them to give the girls a very basic breakfast but insted they provided a full breakfast menu with many choices.
They also provided us with a room to store our bags for the rest of the day.
The rooms were excellent, Staff friendly and helpful.
I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. Thank you so much
Seamas Co.Mayo

Room Tip: all rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seamas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Seamas1,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to review your groups recent stay with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

It was our absolute pleasure to look after your group and we are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us. The girls, each and everyone of them, are a credit to the School and it is refreshing to meet such a group of pleasant and well mannered students.

It is our aim to always work to facilitate guests with providing services around their schedule and trying to make each and every guests stay with us a memorable one.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Riverside Park Hotel as your Hotel of choice during your stay and we hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    64
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
65
80
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oughterard, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just back from a lovely weekend in the Riverside Park Hotel. Stayed Friday & Saturday night. had bar food on Friday night, beautifully fresh gougons of fish with chips and salad as I ordered it. It was piping hot and a great size portion, my friend had a steak sandwich, cooked perfectly. The rooms are nothing fancy, beds are comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent, lovely to get a freshly cooked to order breakfast not like those horrible greasy buffets you get in more expensive hotels. From Liam at reception to Ellen in the bar and all the other staff in the Riverside Park Well Done! I will be back

Room Tip: Rooms with an even number overlooked the river at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oughterard64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Oughterard64,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a positive experience.

Each and every member of the team here take great pride in providing our guests with a high level of Guest Care and it is great that this was evident to you during your stay.
Our Aim here at the Hotel is to provide Freshly produced food in clean comfortable surrounding served a in friendly, efficient and guest focused manner and your feedback shows us we are going in the right direction.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not to distant future.

Mise le meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Great stay in the riverside park hotel. Rooms are huge and spotless all the staff could not be more polite or helpful and the breakfast is among the best full Irish breakfasts I have ever had really Top quality produce. Really enjoyed our stay just on the edge of macroom €5 taxi to the heart of macroom where you'll get a nice pint in Golden's bar. Will comeback again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank session2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Session2011,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of your stay with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

All the team here are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the honour of awarding our full irish breakfast as one of the best you have ever had.
We do put alot of effort onto providing a quality Hot Breakfast and your kind comments show us that we are on the right track to meeting our guests needs.

I am delighted that you received the warm welcome and high level of standard of service that we aim to give to all our valued guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your time in the quirky and welcoming Goldens Bar which is a bit of a local institution.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Riverside Park Hotel in the future and thank you for choosing the Riverside Park Hotel for your short stay in Macroom.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great place to stay. Was over in Ireland with my wife and a children visiting family. Due to the severe weather we decided to stay at the Riverside for one night on our way over to Balliferriter on the West coast. We didn't arrive until after 7.30 pm but thankfully the bar was still serving food. We all had a lovely meal and then sat in front of the lovely big log fire relaxing with a drink. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in a family room for 4 with brilliant views of the river. The room was clean and spacious. We had breakfast the following morning with plenty to choose from. Personally I can recommend the Full Irish!!!! The hotel is in a great location,and exceptional value for money. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff. Would definitely recommend and will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyfromLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Billyfromliverpool,

Let me begin by thanking you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at the Riverside Park Hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our food, bar and staff.
We all take great pride in providing our guests with a high standard of both service and food.

We hope you and your family enjoyed your stay in Ireland despite the extreme weather you encountered.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The Riverside Park Hotel in the not to distant future.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midleton, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Great place rang on the friday to arrange some sandwiches and soup for a stag party for the saturday and their was no problem at all! Food was 5* top class quality. sandwiches were proper sliced loaf bread soup was only Devine every bowl was nearly licked clean! Enough food to feed an army, staff were very welcoming and extremely pleasant, went over and beyond to help. Thank you Liam and your staff they are a credit to the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulmidleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Paulmiddleton,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

It was our pleasure to look after your group and we thank you sincerely for choosing the Hotel as your stop off point on your journey.

I will pass your very kind comments to the staff of both the kitchen and the Bar.

Again Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us and we hope all of the group enjoyed your weekend in Killarney.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Excellent stopping point on the way down from Dublin to West Cork / Kerry. The road is excellent for almost the entirety. The staff are very friendly and although the bar was busy, the service was swift, the prices good and the food excellent.The river views were really beautiful. The bathroom was slightly dated but the pressure on the power shower was optimal. Breakfast was great too - the girl who was looking after us in the morning was really friendly and helpful. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asmodeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Asmodeus,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

I am pleased to see that your experience with us was one that met your expectations and I am delighted to hear you experienced the warm welcome and hospitality that the Team here are known for.

It is always rewarding for us here at the hotel to see that the standards of food and service exceed our guests expectations.
All of the team here have great pride in the hotel and I will pass your kind comments to them.

We hope to see you again on your next journey and thank you for choosing the hotel as your Hotel of choice on your route.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just back from the Riverside park hotel in Macroom ,I was there for a wedding for 4 days and I have to say what a beautiful hotel ,staff were lovely and very helpful no matter what you asked forr especially Liam the general manager what a lovely man made us feel as if we knew him years and helped us so much .we had a family room which was so big even the bathroom was huge and everything was spotless ,breakfast was gorgeous and so much on the plate .we ate in the restaurant for dinner and the food was not a bad price and was absolutely gorgeous .the room for the wedding was so nice never seen a room looking so beautiful .we really had a great time and would totally recommend this hotel you won't be disappointed .

Room Tip: We had a family room which was so big overlooking the river at the back ,but I was there with lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRSP, Front Office Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear JackieM,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

I am delighted, as are all the team, that you enjoyed your stay with us on the Occasion of Sheila and Darren's wedding.

It was our absolute pleasure to look after you and your family and we appreciate your very kind comments.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming your family back to the Hotel in the near future and we all wish you the best of luck for your future travels.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
110.6 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
25.3 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
21.8 mi away
Cork International Hotel
26.3 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Park Hotel

Property: Riverside Park Hotel
Address: Killarney Road, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Lee Valley on the outskirts of Macroom and nestled on the banks of the River Sullane you can not help but be charmed by our location. Whether you are here to play golf, to fish, touring or just want to soak up the natural old time charm of Macroom, we are your ideal base. The hotels elegant decor and location give it that distinctive charm that will draw you back time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing